⭐ Weekend Open Thread ⭐

by

Morning coffee is a great way to start the day and the weekend. My doctor denied me coffee for a while but I am back to being allowed my morning pick me up/wake me up.

I have spent many a morning sitting on my front porch waiting for and then watching the sun peak over the top of the trees in the park across the street while having my first cup of coffee.

I have had to learn that it’s best to drink coffee in moderation. Okay, I have come to accept if not relish the reality of moderation kicking and screaming all the way.

I used to drink cup after cup all day long. But, there comes a time in life where everything is allowed only in moderation. Except the number of things you are told to cut down, cut back and eliminate entirely. The list of no-nos is endless.

So far no one has put Weekends on the bad for you list so let’s have at it.

I’m retired so weekends wouldn’t mean much to me except for the fact that Mr. KenoshaMarge still works. I look forward to weekends so I can spend more time with him. Except when he’s grouchy and then I’d like to ship him off to work whether there is work to do or not. But that’s me being grouchy. Maybe I need more coffee.

Mr. KenoshaMarge is especially grouchy until he’s had his coffee. I even bought him a coffee mug to emphasize that:

America was once, before it was America, a Tea drinking country and people So what turned us into coffee drinkers?

The History of Coffee in America

The Boston Tea Party
Coffee came to America with the tastes of the British. In the middle 1700s, tea and coffee were equally favored and many taverns doubled as coffee houses. This all changed as a result of the famous Boston Tea Party of 1773. No tea was actually consumed at this “tea party” but a large shipment of tea was dumped into Boston harbor to protest the British tax on tea, proclaiming “no taxation without representation”. Thereafter it was unpatriotic to drink tea. Colonists soon found that they could import coffee grown in Central and South America and by the beginning of the 1900s, America was consuming 1/2 of all coffee produced in the world.

Cowboy Coffee
Early on, coffee was prepared in America in a similar manner to how it was prepared in Ethiopia. Green beans were roasted over a stove, ground in a mortar and pestle and then boiled on the stove until done. This didn’t have the same ceremony that Ethiopia had – it was just the common and simple method of brewing coffee. This method is called “Cowboy Coffee” today – used the longest by real cowboys on cattle drives and frontier camps of the early West, who had only a campfire, a hand grinder and a large pot to make coffee. Typical camp supplies were bags of pre-roasted coffee and a hand powered grinder. One coffee company, ‘Arbuckle’s Coffee’ put a peppermint stick in each bag of coffee. Camp cooks rarely had to grind the coffee, as the cowboys would volunteer to grind the coffee — as long as they got to keep the peppermint stick.

The Coffee Percolator
James Mason patented the first American coffee percolator in 1865. It still boils the coffee – over and over the boiling coffee is passed over coffee grounds in a basket until it gains enough strength. The electric percolators, which came out around 1910, were very popular with the day’s busy housewife because the coffee maker could now “watch itself” and be trusted not to boil over on the stove. Coffee percolators could also be scaled to very large sizes, making large pots of coffee all at one time.

Coffee and the Military
During World War I, American soldiers were accustomed to drinking coffee – whether by large mugs from the mess hall percolators or dehydrated packets of coffee in their military rations – and heating it with the matches also included in the ration pack. The term “Cuppa Joe” came from “G.I. Joe” – who always had his coffee.

The Lunch Counter
American soldiers were so used to drinking coffee several times a day when they were overseas also consumed great amounts of coffee when they returned to the United States. Coffee houses became the new place to socialize. Coffee was still brewed in huge electric percolators – the only large scale brewing method of the time. When people wanted something to eat with their coffee, lunch counters and soda fountains were born.

Drip Coffee Makers
Drip coffee makers came on to the scene in the 1960s. They used a method similar to a percolator, drawing hot water up a tube and spraying it over the coffee, but they didn’t re-circulate the coffee, the hot water dripped through ground coffee and into a waiting pot. The result was a much better tasting coffee than the percolator as well as an easier to clean appliance.

Travel Coffee Mug
The automobile sent people to the roads to explore the nation. All sorts of places to eat and drink, including coffee, sprang up to serve them. At that time drivers actually stopped to enjoy their coffee, which would soon change as drivers wanted to be able to take their coffee with them. Auto cup holders and Coffee Travel Mugs were a natural progression.

The Coffee Break
The British may have invented “Tea Time” but America invented the “Coffee Break”. The practice began in WW II era war effort factories to give workers a brief rest and a jolt of caffeine. Thanks to a clever advertising campaign in the mid 1950s by the Pan American Coffee Bureau, 70-80% of American workers were taking a coffee break – both factory and office workers. General Eisenhower used the coffee break idea for “Operation Coffee Cup” during his presidential campaign to meet with voters, which continued to spread the social trend of the coffee break.

So there you have it, most likely more about coffee than you ever wanted to know.

This is an open thread so have it at my friends. I’m gonna go get another cup of coffee.

18 Responses to “⭐ Weekend Open Thread ⭐”

  1. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I LOVE this post!! You may not know this, but I am a HUGE coffee person. Check that, I am a huge espresso person. For years now I have had my coffee beans shipped from CA (Peets) for my Super Automatic Espresso machine that grinds the beans for each shot of espresso (though the water amt can be adjusted for just a really good cup of coffee). I have 3 double cappuccinos in the morning, iced during our long summers since it is hot here. But yeah – I am a HUGE coffee fanatic, so this post is right down my alley!

    And Suzy is just like Lou. You may have seen mugs that have sayings like, “Instant human, just add coffee,” or things like that. That’s Suzy!

    Yum. Coffee. And you are right – it is happiness in a cup you can buy!

    My nieces routinely have cute coffee things like the mug you have for Lou since they are all big coffee people who prefer coffee first, speech later. Ahaha…

    Oh, I have one of those metal signs for the kitchen that says: “Unruly children will receive an espresso and a free puppy!” Ahahaha…

    Btw, I did not realize that coffee was something the British enjoyed so much since tea is so often associated with them. Then again, the man who started Peets, Peet himself, was British. He started his tea/coffee company after WWII and said that Americans had forgotten what decent coffee tasted like after giving up the real thing during the war.

    Anyway – love this post! 😀

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Glad you like it. It’s hard for me to be depressed and stay depressed while drinking my coffee and watching the critters cavort in the back yard even through the drizzle.

  2. piper Says:

    Thanks for the history lesson. Enjoying my second mug at this moment. Soon I’ll have to get off my patootie and clean the loos.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    As I am the early bird and as Lou works 2nd shift and doesn’t usually get up until 4 – 5 or even six hours after I do, I make coffee in the morning and put it in a thermos. That way when ever he gets up its ready.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Is this the cartoon image you were referencing Rev?

  5. piper Says:

    Reading comments in various websites, some people are happy that Cruz finally endorse while the majority are questioning his motives and spine – most will not change their votes based upon his endorsement so Don and his backers will not get the uptick they thought they would.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      That’s the take I got. I did battle at The Right Scoop last night and this morning long beyond what I would usually do. Mainly to vent my spleen and try to get over my disappointment.

      I listened to Steve Deace’s podcast this morning and his take was much the same as yours. He also, and his sidekicks, including Kim, agreed that Cruz killed his chance to ever be president.

      I hope he continues to serve in the Senate fights the good fight. But speaking only for myself I will never trust or support him again.

      Trust is really difficult for a politician to gain from me. Once lost, it can never be regained. I trusted him to stand up and fight. He caved. End of my trust.

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    I Learned This Lesson Over 20 Years Ago: Politicians Will Always Disappoint You

    When Marco Rubio said he would support Donald Trump, there were a lot of Cruz supporters who became very sanctimonious in their attitude towards Rubio and his supporters. When Cruz made his convention speech, the sanctimony got worse.

    I told them (warned, really), “It would be great if Cruz held out, but don’t be surprised if he winds up endorsing Trump.” There were howls of laughter, sneers and guffaws at the very notion that Cruz would do such a thing.

    And yet, here we are. Cruz endorsed Trump.

    http://www.redstate.com/jaycaruso/2016/09/24/politicians-will-always-disappoint-you/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I just saw that Trump hasn’t apologized to Cruz either, yet that didn’t stop Cruz from endorsing him. WHO DOES THAT??? I’m sorry, but is someone said the things Trump did abt my family, no way in HELL would I give him my endorsement. Never mind the despicable, bullying, misogynistic character, or the lying, cheating, and fraud Trump has perpetrated, or the serial adultery – he doesn’t hold anywhere CLOSE to the same positions as Cruz. Yet, NONE of those things kept Cruz from selling his soul. Hope it was worth it to him, but as far as I am concerned, he has ruined his reputation.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I am not as angry with Cruz as I am with myself for thinking he was different. Is he better than most politicians? I thought so. Now I’m not so sure.

        Sadly the Cruz Disciples over at the Right Scoop are busy excusing him just as the Trumpanzees and the Obots excuse their men with feet of clay.

        I hope Ted Cruz wins his re-election. He’s paid a heavy price for it – one I am convinced has ruined any chance he had at every getting to the White House.

        Would I vote for Ted Cruz over a Democrat in a general election? I sure would. Would I vote for him in a primary? Doubtful it there was another decent choice.

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Charlotte PD has released part of the video abt Keith Scott. He was armed with a loaded weapon (which was illegal for him to have as a convicted felon), an ankle holster, and marijuana. Oh, and he refused to follow the commands of the PD: http://thehill.com/blogs/blog-briefing-room/news/297622-charlotte-police-release-video-of-shooting

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      That means nothing to the cretins burning down their city. Although from several accounts most of them are not from Charlotte.

      Even so this is the end result of Obama and his racial insanity. His “legacy” that he spends so much time worrying about, when not on the golf course, will be a failed Health Care Fiasco and Ferguson, Baltimore, Milwaukee and Charlotte. And whatever other city burns while he fiddles about spending more time worrying about the perpetrators than the victims.

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    I think we need a feel good story to cleans the palate in our brains and hearts. This one touched my heart and reminded me of the good people we are lucky to share our country with.

    A Veterans Group in KC Is Building a Village of Tiny Homes for Homeless Vets

    A nonprofit group called 2×4’s for Hope has raised enough money to build a village of 50 tiny houses and a community outreach center for homeless veterans who don’t qualify for other programs within the city.

    Volunteers from the Veterans Community Project broke ground on the project earlier this week with hopes of having its first order of ten tiny houses standing next month. The shells of the ten homes are being built off site and will be shipped upon completion to their final location in south Kansas City.

    https://pjmedia.com/lifestyle/2016/09/23/a-veterans-group-in-kc-is-building-a-village-of-tiny-homes-for-homeless-vets/?singlepage=true

Leave a Reply

