Debate Day ⭐ Open Thread ⭐

by

Debate Day        ⭐ Open Thread ⭐

The first Trump/Hillary debate is tonight and while media does it’s best to drum up enthusiasm for these two disliked candidates most viewers will watch only to see some fireworks. Will she need a bathroom break? Will he toss out insults like an adolescent? Sad reasons to watch a presidential debate.

It’s been a long time since I actually trusted a politician. That’s not to say I don’t believe there aren’t a few good people in politics, because there are some. Not enough and certainly not enough who are willing to fight for the things they tell us they believe.

I thought Ted Cruz was more than just another politician. I was wrong. I still think he’s one of the better Senators I no longer see him standing above the crowd. He chose to join the crowd when he “encouraged” us to vote for Trump.

His sycophants say that he didn’t endorse the reprehensible Trump. Splitting hairs isn’t what honorable men and women do.

It is really amusing in a sad way to watch the Disciples of Cruz attack anyone that doesn’t still think he’s the bestest there ever was. The self-same people that would have drawn and quartered anyone else that offered the slightest support to Trump. The same people that scoffed at the “but, but Hillary” reasoning are now using that as the reason Cruz had to do what he did.

Ted’s apologists are now claiming that he had to keep his pledge. These are the same people that a short time ago had many reasons why he didn’t have to keep his pledge. This is what happens to people when they join a cult of personality. It is sad to see and sadder yet to see how people will change their own principles to excuse a lack of them in someone else.

A long time ago I learned something that has stuck with me. If you are making excuses for your guy/gal try putting the name of someone you don’t like in that excuse and see if you feel the same.  Your opinion should be based on facts and actions not on whether you “like” the person in question. We’ve seen the Trumpanzees do that. Now we are sadly seeing the Cruz fans do the same.

After I saw the Democrat Party for what it was back in 2008 I nearly joined the GOP. Instead I became an Independent.

I voted for McCain/Palin even thought I was not then nor am I now a fan of phony John McCain. I respect and admire his military service. His time in the Senate? Not so much.

Watching the GOP since then I haven’t been impressed. They are much the same as the Dems except they don’t seem as willing to fight for what they believe.

The Dems fight and mostly they win. The Republicans don’t usually fight and mostly they lose. Even when they win elections they lose. Even when the have a majority in the House and Senate they lose.

When they find a champion who says he espouses all the things they say they believe they lose. They lose because they choose over that champion a loud-mouthed buffoon who mouths arrogance, nonsense and ignorance.

The world and my world didn’t end when Ted Cruz “encouraged” us to vote for the disgusting Trump critter. It will go on and so will I.

Tonight we will be subjected to the first debate between Hillary and Trump. The so-called binary choice the two major parties have inflicted on us. Hillary or Trump as POTUS is a thought so repulsive it seems impossible to believe that Americans accept it. But many do.

The Trumpanzees and the gender voters are enthusiastic. Most Americans are not. Many will vote for one of the choices simply because they believe the other is so gosh awful. Sad reason to vote for someone isn’t it?

Political Cartoons by Nate Beeler

I won’t vote for either. The lesser of two evils is still evil. How the American conscience came to the point where that is all right is beyond me. Then much in the American conscience is beyond me.

Maybe the world has simply passed me by. Maybe words like principles and honor and decency no longer apply. We’ve known they don’t apply much to politicians for a very long time. Maybe they no longer apply to the rest of us either.

My guess is that the two politicians on that stage will be playing not to lose and so the fireworks that many are waiting for won’t happen. Unless of course Hillary collapses or Trump slips his leash.

I won’t be watching. I don’t have any interest in what two well-known liars have to say.  Why listen to someone you cannot believe?

Gary VarvelSo tonight I will have books to read, movies on my DVR list to watch and dust bunnies to seek out and destroy. I will do something, anything but participate in any way with the farcical reality show that has become our presidential elections.

I’ve gone from shocked to appalled to flabbergasted and finally to disgust during this presidential election.  I don’t even know what to feel anymore. I’m numb.

Maybe today will be a better day. Maybe a Republican will actually fight for what they say they believe in.

Maybe Congress will pass and the president will sign a bill that actually does some good for the people and not the donor class and other crooks and liars.

Maybe the media will actually do their damn job and report instead of agitate, advocate and bloviate.

Maybe, and maybe one of those Obot Unicorns will begin grazing in my backyard this afternoon.

Enjoy the debate those of you with stronger stomachs and more courage than I. I have some dust bunnies to seek and destroy.

36 Responses to “Debate Day ⭐ Open Thread ⭐”

  1. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I won’t be watching the debates(s) or voting for either one of these people, either.

    Can you believe that Trump is placing Gennifer Flowers front and center at the debate? The man who is a serial philanderer and has bragged abt how many married women he has bedded? THIS is the man Reps want us to get behind, including the (formerly respected) Cruz? Seriously?

    I suppose there are still a few good politicians left, but they are few and far between They cannot overcome the vast majority who are not, unfortunately. Truly disconcerting to see where we are now…

    You are so, so right abthow the Dems will fight harder to push their agenda and ideology. The Reps continue to roll ove rfor them, even when they have the majority. When the Dems have the minority, they STILL win. It truly defies explanation or logic except that they are massive enablers of the radical Dem. agenda.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Supposedly the Gennifer Flowers things is because Bill Clinton invited Mark Cuban who is feuding with Trump to sit in the front row. Either way, this is the kind of childish antics we have come to expect from people wanting to be POTUS.

      • piper Says:

        According to Pence, she won’t be there but her assistant said she would be. Kelly C. said she wouldn’t be there probably due to the twitter outrage.
        Accurate polling is a thing of the past with newsy media using polling as a way to garner money and ratings.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Yeah, I knew Cuban was a supporter of Clinton’s and was going to be front and center, but still – hardly a salacious relationship like that of Flowers and Clinton.

        It is just more evidence, IMO, of how childish, petulant, boorish, and assholic Trump is.

    • mcnorman Says:

      Flowers did not get an invite. If she shows up it will be courtesy of someone else. The commissioner for this debate is trying very hard to not have a three ring circus atmosphere. Cuban will be seated somewhere other than front and center.

      Ted Cruz rented out his email donor list to DT campaign over a month ago. He’s just not what he said he was.

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    Steve Deace: Debate preview: The worst of us right in front of us

    It’s time for your full frontal, America.

    Donald Trump is about to debate Hillary Clinton to determine who becomes president of the artist formerly known as these United States of America. For a country that would sink so low as to elevate such miscreants to this point is at least subconsciously looking to check out.

    As for the rest of us who’d prefer to choose between eating toe jam or ear wax, we remain in the lobby of the Hotel California. We can check in any time we like, but we can never leave.

    https://www.conservativereview.com/commentary/2016/09/debate-preview-the-worst-of-us-right-in-front-of-us#sthash.KFCxO5zI.dpuf

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Once again, Deace is right. I would rather be doing ANYTHING than watching those two go at it. Thank heavens I have a new “Signed, Sealed, Delivered” movie from last night to watch tonight, as well as a “Motive” (another excellent show that is going off). Yeah, I will be busy, busy, busy…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I wrote an email to Deace yesterday and said that I hoped he wasn’t going to be another apologist for what Cruz did.

        He actually wrote back to me and said: “Don’t worry, Marge, I gave up being an apologist for people when I learned the hard way it never pays off.”

        So I told him I was glad he had the courage of his convictions and that I was almost sorry my Packers beat his Lions. Almost.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          WOW – that is cool that he wrote you back, and made it clear he wasn’t going to be an apologist for Cruz.

          ROTFL abt your Packers beating his Lions – I am sure he appreciated the sentiment!

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    7 Things You Need To Know About Debate Moderator Lester Holt

    http://www.dailywire.com/news/9451/7-things-you-need-know-about-debate-moderator-michael-qazvini

  5. piper Says:

    After watching the political crimes and antics of the today’s uniparty, Nixon and his crimes are nothing burgers.

  6. piper Says:

    BTW, I have better things to do tonight like cleaning my fingernails or maybe I should box up all the donations for Goodwill. Maybe I will binge watch the last season of Person of Interest.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Person of Interest was one of my favorites. I did wish they hadn’t killed off Root though. And the ending was rather bizarre don’t you think? Or did I just miss something?

      • piper Says:

        Not sure what the writers were thinking when they killed off Root who added so much to the show being the voice of the machine. Haven’t seen the ending but heard John died.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I loved that show. Made me mad they killed off Root, too. I liked John’s first partner, too. But yeah – hated they took it off.

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    Conway: Trump ‘didn’t lie’ about debate moderator because he didn’t check to see if his claim was true

    http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/conway-trump-didnt-lie-about-debate-moderator-because-he-didnt-check-to-see-if-his-claim-was-true/article/2602816

    In other words it’s okay to just run your mouth so long as you don’t actually know the facts? Is she kidding?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I am just laughing and SMH at the idiocy with which people come up to excuse Trump’s constantly being wrong or flat out lying (did you see the study in Politico that claimed he lied every 3 minutes and 15 seconds? WAY more than Clinton, even, but when you are lying with that amt of frequency, it’d be hard to not be the biggest liar in the room. WOW.). It really is stunning.

      Someone earlier today at a friend’s post abt the aforementioned Politico article blamed a liberal media and “Hillary Lies MORE!” constant refrain. It never seems to DAWN on them that being a big huge liar is bad no matter WHO is doing it, and why the hell are they supporting someone like that?? Sheesh.

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    I had said I wasn’t going to listen to the Cruz interview on the Glenn Beck program but after reading comments from some people that did I felt I should listen. So I did.

    I never thought I would think of Ted Cruz as a weasel. And he admitted to “renting” the donor list but make the excuse that everyone does it. Weaselly politician speak.

    I am not 1/2 as disgusted with him as I am with myself for thinking he was anything but a politician. I still think he’s better than most, just not nearly as good or as much as he would have had us believe.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks for letting us know what you thought of the interview. I completely understand the disgust, and the disappointment of realizing that this man is less of a man than we thought he was, and more of a politician. That is a sad realization, but another lesson learned, I reckon…

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    Omarosa: Critics will have to ‘bow down’ to President Trump

    Former “Apprentice” star and supporter Omarosa Manigault predicts critics of the businessman will have to “bow down” to a President Trump.

    “Every critic, every detractor, will have to bow down to President Trump. It’s everyone who’s ever doubted Donald, who ever disagreed, who ever challenged him. It is the ultimate revenge to become the most powerful man in the universe.”

    http://thehill.com/blogs/blog-briefing-room/news/291660-trump-official-critics-will-have-to-bow-down-to-trump

    Creepy and scary.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, hell no I won’t, either. I don’t bow down to ANY man, especially not one the likes of Trump.

      You said it – “creepy and scary,” indeed…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I had heard the name Omarosa mentioned a few times but since I never watched the “Apprentice” I had no idea who she was and didn’t care enough to look her up. After hearing her creepy voice on the Beck show talking about “Bowing down” I did.

        What a disgusting critter!

        And creepy.

  10. piper Says:

    Watching part of the debate – Donald is a joke, rambling responses, bragging about his businesses and wealth, and sniffling. Didn’t his ‘doctor’ say that he was in wonderful shape for a man of his age. His facial contortions while she is speaking are off putting and jejune for a man of his ‘stature’ and ‘age.’

    Overall Lester Holt is doing a fine job of moderating.

  11. piper Says:

    When questioned about his previous business dealings, he gives rambling answers like on being fined for racial discrimination in his early years : “it’s just one of those things.”

    Not a good debater – lots of interruptions, refusal to abide by time limits, making faces and drinking mucho water to cover up his nervousness.

  12. piper Says:

    That’s enough for tonight – now watching NYPD Blues on H&I

  13. piper Says:

    Poor widdle Donald whining about how he has tried to be nice to Hillary but all she has done is spend hundreds of millions in ads being ‘mean’ to him. He is one extremely thin skinned insecure little man. Can’t believe I’m saying this – he is also more of a narcissist than Obama.

    SMH at our country’s predicament!!!!!

    Okay now I signing off until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

