A “Perfect Love” Like This, And Out Of The Mouths Of Babes *Weekend Open Thread*

by

We are coming ever closer to the end of the reign of King Obama, and unless something catastrophic happens, we will soon be saying, “Madame President.” Feels a whole lot like jumping from the frying pan to the fire, if you ask me.

Heaven help us. No matter how this thing turns out, we are going to need some divine intervention.

In a way, I think that prayer has been answered, at least for the moment. Not with the election – I think we are past hope for 2016, sad to say. But in terms of seeing the good in people, the devotion to faith, the devotion to each other, and a love that is just perfect.

That would be the story of Jason and Chloe, and how Jason proposed to the love of his life. The Federalist had this story :

When Jason Ivey of Newnan, Georgia, asked his girlfriend, Chloe Bermudez, to marry him, he had a huge surprise for her: a city-wide scavenger hunt in Chloe’s hometown, complete with a rooftop proposal and a helicopter ride.

Chloe and Jason both have special needs, but the young couple doesn’t want that reality to stop either of them from living life to the fullest.

“I love her heart,” Jason said. “She loves people, like me, she loves to help people, loves to serve them, but most of all she loves Jesus. Chloe is a prime example of a godly Christian lady, and I’m so excited to be getting to marry her.” […] (Click here to read the rest.)

Sit back, grab some Kleenex, and prepare to fall in love with these two young people:

The sheer joy, the unabashed love, for each other and for God, the thoughtfulness, the care, the involvement of so many to make this a special day for Chloe, just warms the heart. How wonderful to see young people who are so devoted to their faith, and to each other, who bring over, laughter, and light to those around them.

Seems to me they have what Trisha Yearwood would call a “Perfect Love”:

I wish Jason and Chloe all the best in their marriage and life together. And I tip my hat to Jason for pulling off an AMAZING proposal. Chloe seems to have found a keeper!

In a major departure from the sweetness of this young couple, I am going to return to Politics – kind of, that is.  I know we usually stay away from Politics (more or less) for a bit of a break over the weekend. But the following “Focus Group” conducted by Jimmy Kimmel after the third, and thank you, GOD, final debate of this most horrendous of campaign seasons, is just too cute for words. Why? Because this “focus group” is made up of children. And yes, I know some might say that applies to at least one of the candidates, too – but these children actually have manners and a sense of decorum, so there is that.

Without further ado, the “Out of Focus” Group:

 

How stinkin’ cute are those kids? Totally cracked me up. I hope it gave you a laugh as well. It is a tad – make that a lot – disconcerting that these young children have a better sense of manners and how to treat people than a senior citizen does. But there ya go. Seems to me some folks could take a lesson…

Before I go, a bit of an update for those of you who know that lumbar fusion surgery has sidelined me a bit. since the end of June. As always, I am grateful to KenoshaMarge for doing so much to keep the blog up and running with her insightful, witty commentary  while I continue to convalesce.

That said, I am progressing with my Physical Therapy, which is good. Even though my back is still painful often, I feel certain that the surgery was a success. My back hurts less now than it did before the surgery, so as far as I am concerned, it is a win. I am hopeful that it will continue to improve as I continue my twice-daily PT.

And my back is not the only thing that is coming along. So is the new house. Thank goodness the County delayed the building permit three weeks so that only the hurricane-strapped foundation was up and not the framing when Matthew came calling. But the framing went up this week, and the trusses too. We have spent a fair amount of time this week picking out things like the whirlpool bathtub, faucet, and appliances for the new digs. The current time frame for us getting into the house is January (the hurricane set things back a bit, so no getting in by Christmas). So yeah, this weekend we’ll be taking a drive to the new place, and get the rest of the trees that fell during the hurricane up and to the recycling center. I should be able to get some photos to share while we are there. Stay tuned!

It’s the Weekend, people. Hallelujah. Feel free to discuss whatever is on your minds, from love, to kids, to politics, to the Orionids. This is the Weekend Open Thread.

Tags: , , , ,

31 Responses to “A “Perfect Love” Like This, And Out Of The Mouths Of Babes *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Thank you so much for the video of Jason and Chloe Rev – it’s so nice to see good people thrive and do for each other. Gives me hope for our future.

    And those 3 kids also give hope for the future. How smart they are! They gave better answers than many of the College students do. Pray they are all going to private, charter or are home schooled.

    Great way to start the week end Rev. Thank you.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      So glad you liked the videos, Marge! And you are right – it is nice to see such lovely young people thriving, AND to see really young people get it. It amazes me that they seem so much more knowledgeable than many adults, at least in terms of behavior…

      Glad you liked it!

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

  3. helenk3 Says:

    1st–so glad you are beginning to feel better and making progress

    2nd–stole the kid video

    3rd the engagement story made me smile

    have a great weekend

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Ben Shapiro – NYT Column: Killing My Baby At 22 Weeks Made Me ‘A Better Mother’

    Isaksen deserves nothing but sympathy for the tragedy of carrying a child with a birth defect. She deserves nothing but horror for championing herself as a moral paragon for pre-emptively destroying that life.

    And The New York Times and the political left deserve nothing but scorn for taking advantage of this horror story to make the case for the mass killing of thousands of unborn children.

    http://www.dailywire.com/news/10161/nyt-column-killing-my-baby-22-weeks-made-me-better-ben-Shapiro

    It sounds to me as if this woman wants to find some excuse to forgive herself for killing “her boy”.

    She isn’t a better mother for what she did. She isn’t a better person.

    The woman writing this article seems to me to be a woman with a moral compass without a moral direction. Sad little woman with sad little heart.

    Two people in her life had a defective heart, her and her son. Her heart allowed her to kill him. Now she pats herself on the back for that decision? I would pity her if I didn’t despise her so much.

    • helenk3 Says:

      I know parents who have children with defects. These children show such unconditional love to all that we could learn a lot from them.
      At 22 weeks you have carried a child and created a bond with the child. I know I used to to my kids before they were actually born.
      I lost 3 children and still think about them and it was a lot earlier then 22 weeks.
      She is trying to justify to her self and others what she did. sometimes looking in the mirror hurts

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Oh, Helen, I am so sorry to hear that. Of course you think of them still. Bless your heart – how hard that must have been and is…

        And I think you’re right- the author was may be trying to justify her actions.

        Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I also had several miscarriages. Both before 22 weeks. They were my babies. They were loved and cherished and mourned when they died. The very thought that I would have someone kill them is not possible.

        I confess I remained, as a Democrat, pro-choice in spite of the fact I didn’t believe in abortion. I just didn’t believe I had the right to make a choice for someone else. I knew it was not and never could be a choice for me.

        I was happily ignorant of “late term abortions” at that time. I personally always thought of life beginning at the “quickening” back then. Now? I’m not sure. But one thing I know for sure, it sure as hell isn’t at 22 weeks. 22 days maybe but no more than a week or two at most. Anything after that is infanticide.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Oh my gosh – that just breaks my heart for y’all. No doubt they were your babies – how could they not be? So very sad.

          And yeah – that this woman could abort her son that far along is just mind boggling. I will never forget one day in my college Medical Ethics class (that was my concentration). We were talking abt this very thing in terms of Down Syndrome babies, and all the issues they face. The question was, given ALL the numerous issues that can face a DS child, should a woman abort? Well, us being young and all thought that yes, on paper, that is the best decision.

          Then a young woman spoke up. She said her younger sister was a Downs Syndrome child, and that what she brought to her family, the love she brought to her family, was priceless, so no – absolutely not would she eve abort a DS baby.

          Clearly that stuck with me. It isn’t a black and white decision, no matter how it may look on paper.

          My thinking has really changed on this issue, too. I never believed abortion should be used for birth control with the exceptions of rape and incest. Bottom line, like Hillary USED to say, “safe, legal, and rare. But now, when they are talking abt 20 weeks or even into the third trimester?? No, absolutely not. At this point, yeah, it has to be very, very early on, and even then I have a hard time with it.

          Thanks for raising this issue, Marge, with the Shapiro piece. I appreciate it!

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

  7. mcnorman Says:

    Divine intervention is spot on!

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    Off his message again: Trump vows to sue all female accusers

    Steering his campaign toward controversy yet again, Donald Trump vowed Saturday to sue every woman who has accused him of sexual assault or other inappropriate behavior. He called them “liars” whose allegations he blamed Democrats for orchestrating.

    http://townhall.com/news/politics-elections/2016/10/22/clinton-tv-ad-hits-trump-hard-he-promises-an-allout-effort-n2235810

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Can you believe this guy? This kind of action by Trump no doubt led to these women staying silent for so long. But there is strength in numbers, and I suspect there are far more than just the ones who have come out already…

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    Hemingway: Brazile’s E-mail Is The Tip Of The Media Bias Iceberg

    “Donna Brazile herself is the current head of the DNC because of previous WikiLeaks that showed that corruption in the Democratic Party,” she said. “This is also part of a much bigger story that we’ve learned from WikiLeaks which is just this general compliance among the media with the Clintons and with Democrats.”

    http://thefederalist.com/2016/10/21/hemingway-braziles-e-mail-tip-media-bias-iceberg/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      No kidding. And really, Brazile? Ugh. I never thought much of her, and she certainly is not the brightest bulb in the pack, not by a long shot. Telling that she is the new head of the DNC…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Priebus at the RNC and DWS and now Brazile at the DNC? The major parties don’t go for quality with candidates or the heads of their organizations do they?

  10. helenk3 Says:
  11. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Gee – I am shocked that Trump’s growth projection is a bunch of hogwash – not: http://thehill.com/policy/finance/302271-trumps-growth-projections-leave-economists-in-disbelief

  12. helenk3 Says:

    http://freebeacon.com/blog/metaphysics-throwing-vote-away/

    my vote will count for 3 how about yours

  13. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Well, “The Lord Giveth, And The Lord Taketh Away..” Came back inside this morning from taking care of the birds/feral cats to a message from our dock builders. At LONG last, their surveyor was going out to the property today so they can start the dock.

    On the downside, we found out Friday that there was a miscommunication between the Project manager and the Surveyor, the latter of whom did not shoot the flood elevation, so now our foundation, which has already been inspected numerous times, did not pass inspection with the joists on it because it is 1 1/2 ft too short. It’s right for the flood elevation, but since the 1,000 yr flood last year, the County has added 2 more ft on as a requirement.

    Sigh.

    This is going to be a major pain to fix. We have all kinds of hurricane straps and rods through the blocks into the (concrete) bond beam. And then there is the intricate joist system already done.

    Dangit.

    I am just going to focus on the dock surveyor being there today…

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      So sorry for your problems. From what I’ve observed over the years and from being an HGTV addict, there are more apt to be problems than not. May not make yours any better but may help you feel less alone in your misery.

      Wise decision to focus on the positive. Can’t change the negative but it can change you. I know all about that from being a “worrywart” all my life. And my worrying solved not one dang thing.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Thanks, Marge – we are HGTV addicts, too. And yes, there always seems to be something. We are just shocked that the inspectors did not catch this before because they were flagging all kinds of little things. I guess they missed the forest for the trees…

        And yes – SOOOOO glad that they are finally getting started on our dock! I have been waiting for this and waiting for this. It does take the sting out of the foundation issue.

        Abt the foundation thing: the builder will assume the cost of fixing it, of course. And our project Manager took total responsibility for it. Apparently the company witched surveying companies and where he had a system with the other people, he assumed this new group would act likewise. They did not. Anyway – it will cost us in terms of potentially having to rent longer depending on how long it takes to rectify this issue (and the cost of the extra blocks).

        But hey – “Always look on the bright side of your life…” 🙂

        Oh – good point abt worrying not changing a thing. Good advice!

  14. kenoshamarge Says:

    Dad Creates The Perfect Halloween Costume For His Wheelchair Bound Son

    http://www.dailywire.com/news/10178/dad-creates-perfect-custom-his-wheelchair-bound-chase-stephens

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Love this, Marge – thank you! What a creative, talented dad to be able to make such cool costumes for his son!

Leave a Reply

