Time For A Change *Open Thread*

by

hold-on-a-change-is-comingAs some longtime readers may recall, I began this blog almost 9 years ago (come January), with over 2,500 posts written with break staken for vacations, the death of my mother, and numerous surgeries (at least five knee surgeries and one back surgery). That doesn’t include posts by my partner in crime, KenoshaMarge, and a few other guest posts over the years. Other than that, here I have been, writing away.

And longtime readers may recall that I began this blog because, at the time, I was a Yellow-Dog left-leaning Democrat who was an ardent supporter of Hillary Clinton, seeing her as the most experienced candidate in 2008. I still think she was the most experienced at that time, and we likely would not be where we are today – with a President-Elect Trump – waiting in the wings had the DNC not orchestrated Barack Obama’s getting the nomination.

At the time Clinton conceded to Obama, no doubt strong-armed into it with the promise of the DNC standing behind her down the road and the carrot of the Secretary State position, one I never thought she should take, I might add, I had a feeling that decision would come back to haunt her. So it has. Well, that and all that came down as a result of her time as Secretary of State along with Obama’s policies hanging around her neck like a cinder block. I thought then she should have turned him down for precisely that reason – having to embrace and promote Obama’s policies. Add to that Benghazi, the whole email thing, and the Clinton Foundation, which has now been sullied with tales of quid pro quo dealings from her time at State, and she is a damaged politician. This recent Election highlights just how much that a con-man, charlatan, sexual predator, narcissist, bully, ego-maniac with no clue how to run a country is now the President-Elect. Though hey – she did win the popular vote – just like she did back in 2008.  Heckuva lot of good THAT did her.

So, yeah – back in the day, that was why I began this blog. As of May, 2008, when the Rules and By-Laws Committee literally took away lawfully cast votes from one candidate (Clinton) to give to another (Obama),  I left the DNC, the only Party to which I had ever belonged. I became an Independent, leaving my left-leanings along the way to become more moderate/conservative, especially in terms of fiscal issues. My eyes were opened to all kinds of shenanigans to which I had turned a blind eye, even when red flags went up, recognizing the Democratic Party is nowhere near as great for women and other groups as they CLAIM to be to get votes. Yeah, no, turned out they were just as misogynistic and sexist as they claimed the Republicans were. Just ask Hillary Clinton back in 2008, and Sarah Palin. They can tell you what it is like to have the full force of misogynistic, vulgar Democrats come down on them.

I have written primarily about Politics ever since then, hoping in 2012 that the USA would elect a good, decent man in Mitt Romney. But no. Obama got yet another term, so I kept writing about all the damage he and the DNC did to this country beginning with Obamacare to his numerous Executive Orders, especially on Immigration, to Obama’s thousands and thousands of regulations.

And now one more Election is over with President-Elect Donald Trump of all people in this country waiting in the wings.

Whew.

I still love writing and reading what is on everyone’s minds as this country and world keep turning ’round. At this point, though, I think it is time to take a bit of a step back. Not that I am shutting down the blog altogether, but I know I just cannot write about a President Trump every day and what insane, assholic thing he has said or done now, what promise he has already rescinded, and what liberal policy he has embraced (though he might do some good things here and there – a girl can hope). There will be some of those, for sure – I mean, really – how could there NOT be,  know what I mean? But I just do not want to have to write about Trump every day. After eight years of Obama and the major issues his policies have wrought, even thinking about the next four years with a Trump Presidency gives me a headache.

That is all to say, there will still posts up by either KenoshaMarge or me, but they might not be every day, and they will likely not always be about Politics. They might be about any thing or nothing at all. KenoshaMarge has come up with a good idea for a Wednesday Open Thread, and there will still be Weekend Open Threads, but we might not write something new every day. I am sure you all can deal with that.

DSC_0056

East End

This seems like a good time for making this change not just because of a President-Elect Trump, but because next Wednesday, I am heading down to Grand Cayman for ten days (thank GOD), and then the Holidays will be fully upon us. It is usually a slower time at the ol’ blog then anyway because of the Holidays and everyone being so busy, myself included. Add to that our house being built now and moving into having to pack in earnest in December/early January, and I will be a lot busier than usual.

So that’s the big change – fewer posts beginning next week with two set Open Threads on Wednesdays and the Weekends. Topics will likely range a bit wider afield from Politics just because, dear Lord, we need a break from all the craziness.

I want to thank all of the loyal readers over the years, and the loyal group of folks who share your opinions, thoughts, and links to interesting articles. It would be a mighty lonely place without you and I consider you my friends. I’d like to thank all those good folks who opted to have daily posts show up in your email box. It does a heart good knowing you care about what I, KenoshaMarge, and other guest writers, think about things. Thank you so much, and I hope you stick around.

So yeah, it’s time for a bit of a change, and I hope it does us all good bringing a little more joy and happiness into our day rather than focusing on Politics so much. I feel a bit lighter already!

Your turn now. This is an Open Thread.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

39 Responses to “Time For A Change *Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Great post Amy! Your journey sounds a lot like mine. I too was a staunch Democrat. I too because an Independent and I too have become more moderate and conservative over the years.

    Have we grown wiser or only run out of steam? Looking back on the past couple of years I don’t honestly think it’s a lack of steam – or passion – we just see things more clearly and with less ties to a “tribe”.

    I am honored that you have allowed me to write for your blog. I can’t be you so I do try to keep to your standards. And that’s not easy lady!

    I don’t want to have to write a “do you know what that idiot Trump did” post every day either. Tiresome and tiring and after a while boring. If he wasn’t President-elect I wouldn’t care what he said of did – now we sort of have to. Phooey.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      You are too kind, Marge! Thank you! And truly, it is an honor for me to have you writing here!

      Yeah, I think it is probably a combination of things. I had some red flags flying before 2008 abt the Dems, but I just had to push them away since I bought into the Dem message that Reps were all evil. Well, clearly THAT is not true, and it is the kind of unbelievably divisive rhetoric that seems to have become the norm for Dems these days.

      But yeah – I think it was seeing things more clearly, especially that a Party could call itself “democratic” then with malice and forethought, show that democracy meant NOTHING to them when they took cast votes from one candidate and gave them to another. That was the last straw.

      It has been quite the journey, one I never thought would lead to a Trump Presidency, but it seems I have overestimated my fellow Americans. That, and once again, the Dems screwed us by voting in a man to be the Rep nominee who was such a horrible choice. Their antics backfired, and badly.

      So now we have this man who on Sunday said the Electoral college was terrible and the Presidency should be done through vote totals to yesterday Tweeting that the Electoral College is “brilliant.” Sigh. It is going to be a long, long, LONG four years

      So yeah – we need to be able to take more breaks, and have more fun things, like the upcoming Weekend post featuring out own Piper!

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    Mainstream Journalists Don’t Care About Free Speech Until Donald Trump Attacks It

    “Our First Amendment test is here. We can’t afford to flunk it,” ran the headline of Margaret Sullivan’s column in the Washington Post on Sunday. The test, of course, is Donald Trump’s presidency, which Sullivan worries will threaten the First Amendment.

    The column itself is a fine example of an emerging subgenre of post-election journalism that pretends to care about free speech now that Trump has won the White House. The great irony of these missives is that the outlets publishing them didn’t seem to care all that much during Barack Obama’s tenure in office. They were willing either to turn a blind eye to the administration’s attacks on the First Amendment, or actively cheer these on.

    Politico’s Jack Shafer, clutching his pearls and worrying that, heaven forfend, Trump’s White House might coordinate with Breitbart, “functioning as his ministry of information as it did during the campaign, and going on the attack to keep renegade legislators in line.” This, in a publication whose chief political correspondent, Glenn Thrush, sent stories to Clinton campaign chairman John Podesta for approval, imploring him, “Please don’t share or tell anyone I did this.”

    http://thefederalist.com/2016/11/15/mainstream-journalists-dont-care-free-speech-donald-trump-attacks/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Yeah, the media hasn’t done itself any favors on the whole “free speech” thing for a while – except when THEIR free speech is under fire.

      Thanks for this!

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      ROTFLMAO – that is hilarious!! It literally made me LOL…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        House Democrats Are Going Full SJW With Their Safety Pins

        Disgraced former Democratic National Committee head Debbie Wasserman Schultz sent out the following email on Monday:

        “We invite you and your staff to join us in fastening a safety pin to your clothing, as a demonstration that we stand for safety, healing and unity against bigotry, anti-Semitism, homophobia and misogyny,” Wasserman Schultz wrote. “Let’s go high by sending a message that we are a safe haven and a bulwark against hate.”

        In other words, the House Democrats are trying to create their own safe space.

        http://www.dailywire.com/news/10790/house-democrats-are-going-full-sjw-their-safety-aaron-bandler

        I shouldn’t be surprised at the juvenile acts of elected officials after the whole “freedom Fries” nonsense during the Bush Administration. So I guess Dem Congress critters can have their turn at act like children with their “safety pins.” Because that will do what?

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          We have reared an entire generation of Toddlers. They have no emotional reserves, no balance, nothing but emotion all the time. It is just astonishing. WOW.

          And these TEACHERS who are going along with all of this are not doing their snowflakes any favors. They should be telling them to grow up, this is how the USA has managed to be the greatest country in the world for so long, because we don’t cave to threats of violence from people when we choose our officials. They seem to want a banana republic.

          SMH…

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    The fall of the house of Obama is coming, and it’s his own fault

    The reason Obama’s legacy is so vulnerable today is that the 44th president relied more on executive actions — issuing not only executive orders, but also a record number of rules, regulations and agency directives to legislate around Congress and impose his agenda.

    After he lost control of the Senate in 2014, Obama announced at his first Cabinet meeting: “We’re not just going to be waiting for legislation. . . . I’ve got a pen and I’ve got a phone. And I can use that pen to sign executive orders and take executive actions and administrative actions that move the ball forward.”

    https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/the-fall-of-the-house-of-obama-is-coming-and-its-his-own-fault/2016/11/14/d0151cac-aa7d-11e6-977a-1030f822fc35_story.html

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Yes, it most definitely is Obama’s fault. I saw an article the other day – can’t remember which author it was (Lowry, Goldberg, or Krauthammer), but it pointed out how many Dems lost seats as a result of Obama’s actions – over 1,000. Now 33 states have Rep. governors, all but 5 States are Rep- led, and the Reps have all 3 houses of Fed. Gov’t.

      Yeah, I’d say that is a clear rejection of all the Obama machinations over 8 yrs!

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Many people do not support or understand why they should support the electoral college. They probably do not understand exactly why the electoral college is so important to our freedom.

    I admit that I didn’t like it so much back when it was Bush/Gore. But then I learned about it and came to understand why our founders, in they endless wisdom made us a Republic in stead of a pure Democracy. Because a pure Democracy is nothing less than mob rule.

    Robert Eno: This one state proves why the Electoral College exists

    The Electoral College was created as a check on large population states. If there was a true popular vote, a handful of states, or even just one, could perpetually pick the president. Today, that state would most probably be California.

    Here is where the California popular vote stands six days after the election. Clinton: 5,589,936 Trump: 3,021,095 That is a difference of 2,568,841 votes.

    This means that Donald Trump won the rest of the country by about 1.9 million votes.

    If you look at similar numbers in 2012, Mitt Romney would have lost the popular vote in the 49 states other than California plus the District of Columbia.

    https://www.conservativereview.com/commentary/2016/11/this-one-state-proves-why-the-electoral-college-exists#sthash.O0MczQZ0.dpuf

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Exactly right Without the Electoral College, a couple of states would determine the elections.

      Those Founders of ours were beyond brilliant. Their foresight, as evidenced even today, is just beyond incredible. How fortunate we are to have had them establish our country the way they did…

  6. piper Says:

    Amy and Marge,
    My sincerest thanks for writing threads about the daily assaults and outrages coming from Obama and his minions. I understand the need to step back and have a life outside of politics. Writing about Don the Con and his administration is a step beyond what one can endure on a daily basis. I have a difficult time going to various sites and reading about the consequences (supposedly positive and negative) of the upcoming administration. All I can say is this country has survived both good and bad administrations, and hopefully we can learn from our choices.

    Again want to share this beautiful sight which I observed Sunday night.

    20161113 Cloudy Moon

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      You are too kind, piper, thank you! I have enjoyed your comments throughout the course of this election, and look forward to your thoughts as we make it through this next Administration. And we will make it through – we always do!

      Thank you again for the moon. I got to see it last night – the skies finally cleared but not the wildfire smoke is back, so that was my one chance I am thankful for it, though!

      And thankful for you, too!

      Our dear KenoshaMarge has been a CHAMP keeping the blog going while I was recovering. I am so glad she is continuing to write. What a gift that is!

  7. insanitybytes22 Says:

    I’ve followed you for almost all nine years now, Rev Amy, since back in the day of the By-laws and Rules Committee. You can call me a blogstalker, if you like. I’ve just really enjoyed how your brain works and you’ve kept me from going crazy. Also, I’ve lived vicariously through many of your vacations, Alaska, I think, the Cayman Islands. I really appreciate having known you.

    We don’t always agree on everything, but it’s been fun. Kind of interesting,while I’m pretty jaded about politics and always skeptical, I feel good about this election, hopeful. Actually I feel a bit like a battered woman when she finally breaks free. I didn’t realize how all that abuse that began 9 years ago had really weighed heavy on me. Back in the day when we were watching the sexism Obama was dumping on Hillary voters, and than the accusations of racism, and all the bullying and silencing that has gone on for so long. Eight long years of being called a hater, a racist, a sexist, and told to just shut up, all ended on election day.

    LOL, I’m sure someone will call me a hater and tell me to shut up,this is the internet after all, but the spell has been broken,the darkness that took over the Dem party has come to an end.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      WOW, insanity – that is wild! And thank you so much! It means a lot that you have stuck with me all these years. Dang!! Thank you for the kind words – they truly mean a lot to me!

      And I am glad you have been able to live through my travels, too. I know how incredibly fortunate I am, and never forget to be grateful for that. I admit, we have been on some AMAZING trips, fro the recent South America trip to the Mediterranean trip, and then Alaska (to which I cannot wait to return!), and GC, our home away from home. Glad you enjoyed them all!

      Hey – I don’t agree with ANYONE 100% of the time. I appreciate that you stuck by here even when there was disagreement. I am happy for you that you feel like such a weight has been lifted. It has been one helluva 8 yrs, hasn’t it? Whew.

      Hey – no one is going to call you a hater here! 🙂

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I’ve been called so many names I’ve lost track. I’m ashamed that I’ve got down in the mud a time or two myself.

      But not here. Never here. We may agree to disagree but we don’t call names.

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Speaking of the new Administration, insiders are referring to the competition for key positions as a “knife fight”: http://www.cnn.com/2016/11/14/politics/trump-shortlist-national-security-worldview/index.html

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    And for some good news, check out the puppy George and Laura Bush just adopted: http://www.cnn.com/2016/11/14/politics/george-w-bush-laura-bush-puppy/index.html

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Bless them for adopting a dog that needed rescuing. And then bless them again for advocating that others do the same.

      I was no fan of the Bush Administration or G.W. Bush. I thought Laura Bush was a nice lady although I almost felt obliged to be snotty about her because I was a Dem back then. What a fool I was.

      Being an Independent is great. I feel no need to defend, excuse or praise anyone based on party.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Indeed, bless them for adopting through the SPCA and encouraging others to do likewise.

        Like you, I was snotty abt Laura Bush too until I became an Independent and found out how much both she AND George were doing on behalf of Afghan women and girls. Turns out Laura had been doing all KINDS of great work while First Lady but I was too much of an ass to acknowledge it just because she was a Rep. I hope I have learned my lesson now! 🙂

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

    Hey snowflakes and silly Democrats, here’s the answer to your angst.

  12. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Rep. Ryan will continue on as Speaker of the House: http://thehill.com/blogs/floor-action/house/306115-gop-votes-to-keep-ryan-as-speaker

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I had no doubt he would. Some of the Trumpanzees think that because he wasn’t a full blown fan of Donny Dimwit that he should be punished. I used to like him a lot, then not so much and then liked him better when he refused to be-clown himself for Trump.

      He supported the GOP candidate, and as Speaker I don’t see where he had a choice once Trump was nominated and worked hard here in Wisconsin to turn our state red. Without Ryan’s hard work I am convinced Russ Feingold would be back in the Senate. For that alone I am willing to give him some slack.

      If Ron Johnson wants to stay in the Senate after the next 6 years he had better do more to schmooze with the home folks. It doesn’t appeal to me, and it’s not really his style, but many want and expect it.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        I knew they were organizing against him, but I would have been surprised had he not gotten the Speakership position again.

        And excellent point abt Feingold and Johnson. Yeah, that alone is a good thing!

  13. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    This morning on the news, I saw that the recent FBI stats state that attacks against Muslims have increased by 6.7%. Our daily paper, the Post and Courier, had a big article on it, too.

    Know what neither of these sources, or the many tv shows that highlight crimes against Muslims note? Crimes against JEWS, the religious group that STILL accounts for over 50% of religious hate crimes in this country, went up 9%. Yes, 9% more than Muslims: http://www.jewishjournal.com/nation/article/fbi_criminal_hate_crimes_against_jews_rose_by_9_percent_in_2015

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      There was a time in this country when being called anti-Semitic was considered just as bad as being called a racist. That time is gone.

      I have often been called Islamaphobic. I don’t care. I don’t feel a taint for my reasonable suspicion of a “religion” that has killed so many innocent people – including many Muslims.

      Until the Muslim population, as a whole, condemns the committed in the name of that religion barbarianism I will continue to be what the libs call an Islamaphobe.

      Calling names is what the left does. Oh and I am now called homophobic because I do not stand with transgender people. Honestly, I don’t think there are transgender people, just confused people that need medical help. And since some libs are turning kids into transgender people there will in the next generation be a whole lot more who need mental health help. JMO

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Oh, how well I remember that time, Marge. It does seem to be long gone. Now we have campuses openly endorsing anti-Israel programs, heck even a number of CHRISTIAN denominations have signed off on BDS. It is really astonishing.

        Oh, I mentioned this at Facebook, and my sister, a liberal Dem., immediately claimed the anti-Semitism in this country was the result of White Supremacists. I told her that was only partly true – and mentioned the above. This link highlights just what a problem anti-Semitism is with young people:

        http://freebeacon.com/politics/report-anti-semitism-soaring-on-u-s-college-campuses/

        I am sure this makes me Islamaphobic for highlighting that it is not the MUSLIMS in this country who are so oppressed, in contravention to DNC rhetoric, but JEWS.

        As for being homophobic abt transgendered people, honest to God, I do not know how in the world this group got lumped in with gay people. Unless they transgender and are then gay, why WOULD they be?

        And I agree that there are clearly issues with some of these folks. Just look at “Chelsea” Manning who insisted that WE pay for her/his sex-change operation. Manning just attempted suicide AGAIN. From studies done, going through with the surgery does not diminish the number of suicide attempts.

        That transgendered people are being so glorified now, that our children, and I mean CHILDREN, are being taught that one’s gender is fluid and can be all over the place from day-to-day, is just insane to me.

        So yeah, I guess I am an Islamaphobic transgenderphobe right along with you!

    • piper Says:

      So tired of all the name calling and scapegoating. People need to look at themselves first when they”re experiencing difficulties. Most of the time, a change in their behavior can alleviate their problems.

      Honestly who would people blame if all the Jews were gone. Everyone wants to tell the Israelis how to live and what to do so all the Palestinians will be ‘happy and productive’ without knowing all the facts but don’t let facts get in their way of knowing what’s best for others. I wonder how many people realize that it was Arafat who said no the Clinton and his deal.

      Def. of scapegoating: a person who is blamed for the wrongdoings, mistakes, or faults of others, especially for reasons of expediency.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Well said, piper. That is so true – if more people spent time looking in the mirror instead of looking for someone else to blame, the world might be a better place.

        And yes, this idea that if only the Israelis did what everyone told them they should sacrifice the Palestinians would be happy is just ridiculous. Palestinians will only be happy when Israelis are obliterated from the face of the earth.

        Great comment!

  14. kenoshamarge Says:

    Wouldn’t you love to see this kind of attitude?

  15. piper Says:

    I understand the need to step back and focus on our lives instead of all the political wrangling and ongoings. There’s more to living than hours spent on the internet so I’m limiting myself to 2 newsy sites just for headlines, 2 political sites like yours, several craft sites and Facebook to keep up with family and good friends who live in other states.

    After all the political posturing and nastiness, it seems that Trump is not only up to governing but wants others to take over the actual job that he was elected to do. Now he wants his son-in-law, Jared K. to sit in on daily presidential briefings, which is telling me that old Donald can’t process much of anything. Naturally, trump’s team is denying this after a bit of uproar over security clearances for his children.

    http://thehill.com/blogs/blog-briefing-room/news/306228-trump-wants-kushner-to-sit-in-on-daily-briefings-report

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      We tried, and tried, and TRIED to tell people that Trump was not up to the task, and that he didn’t care abt governing. That is why he wanted a VP he could get to do all the heavy lifting while he just basked in the glory, like his impromptu stop in the steak restaurant while he left his press corps in the dark He wants the praise and adoration, but none of the work.

      That his SON IN LAW – some guy who just happened to marry into the family – is having so much of an impact is telling indeed..

  16. piper Says:

    I beginning to really dislike the media – why wasn’t trump and all his nefarious business dealings disclosed during the primaries.

    Trump Tower Toronto is going bust. It has a Russian financier. This news came out Nov 3. Did you see a word about it on TV? I wonder how many vendors and employees will be screwed this time?

    http://www.politico.com/magazine/story/2016/11/trump-tower-goes-bust-canada-214412

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I am pretty sure it was intentional on their part to withhold as much info as they could abt Trump and his lousy business practices until it was too late to do anything abt him. The media failed us all by playing their stupid partisan games. Now look where we are…

Leave a Reply

