🎅 More Cartoons for Christmas and Open Thread 🎅

by

 

   Cartoons For Christmas

Christmas is almost upon us. It’s time to use up some of the Christmas Cartoons I’ve been saving. So many, very many good ones to choose from and time is running out.

I confess some are kind of Grinchy and were collected when I myself was feeling Grinchy. I know that’s hard to believe when you know me as the barrel of sunshine that I am. s/

Some of the cartoons are funny, some snarky, some sweet and some express the spirit of the season. Cartoons, and cartoonists come in all shapes, sizes and attitudes – just like the rest of us.

And away we go…

I filed this one under timely:

OuMly5w.jpg

I should be able to get into the spirit of the season enough not to enjoy the zinger from a brilliant cartoonist like A. F. Branco taking potshots at Obama as much as I do. I’m really going to have to work on that.

Fake-News-NRD-600.jpg

I only send about a dozen Christmas Cards and do my shopping on Amazon so I don’t feel much like the cartoon below. But I remember when I did.

The cartoonist is Joe Heller. I always enjoy his attention to detail. I love the candy cane in her teeth!

Okay, couldn’t resist Lisa Benson’s jab at Obama. I bet Obama is on Santa’s naughty list.

Lisa Benson

Maybe a Christmas joke or two would be fun:

A woman went to the Post Office to buy stamps for her Christmas Cards. “What denomination?” asked the clerk.

“Oh, good heavens! Have we come to this?” said the woman. “Well, give me 30 Catholic, 10 Baptist ones, 20 Lutheran, and 40 Presbyterian.”

After Christmas vacation, an elementary school teacher was asking her students how they celebrated Christmas.

When she got to Sammy, whose father ran a local toy store, she said, “Sammy, since you’re Jewish, I guess your family didn’t celebrate Christmas.”

Sammy replied, “Oh yes, we did. We all held hands and danced around the cash register singing, ‘What A Friend We Have In Jesus.'”

I think I might have posted this one last year. But I think it’s good enough to repeat.

Santa needs good eyesight to be driving all them reindeer.

 

Merry Christmas Around The World

Eskimo – Jutdlime pivdluarit ukiortame pivdluaritlo

Hebrew – Mo’adim Lesimkha / Mo’adim Lesimkha. Shana Tova

Russian – Pozdrevly ayu sprazdnikom Rozhdestva Khristova is Novim Godom

 

Another cartoon filed under signs of the times:

And of course we can’t forget to tickle the funny bone of our Jewish friends:

One more cartoon in honor of Hanukkah.

Special Cartoon in honor of my Aunt Margie and Uncle Harry who both served in the Navy during World War Two.  And of course for all other Navy Vets and for those that are still serving. Santa wouldn’t forget you and neither will I.

And last but far from least here’s one that for all those who serve:

16 Responses to “🎅 More Cartoons for Christmas and Open Thread 🎅”

  1. mcnorman Says:

    Christmas is a time of joy and heartfelt laughter for me. It matters not how it comes as it is a renewal of heart. The kiddies are no longer kiddies in our family, but that never seems to stop them from creating merriment. Hope all of you here have a wonderful Christmas. 🙂

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Joy and heartfelt laugher are always in season.

      Wishing you a joyous Christmas and a New Year filled with love and laughter.

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    All too often a sign of the season in 2016.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    Mormon Tabernacle Choir to perform at Trump inauguration

    The Mormon Tabernacle Choir announced it will perform at President-elect Donald Trump’s inauguration next month.

    The choir has performed at six other presidential inaugurations, including George H. W. Bush, Richard Nixon and Ronald Reagan.

    “We are honored to be able to serve our country by providing music for the inauguration of our next president,” said Ron Jarett, president of the choir.

    http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/mormon-tabernacle-choir-to-perform-at-trump-inauguration/article/2610302

  4. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Marge, your post put a smile on my face, no small feat considering the headache I have post-cervical epidural. Thanks so much for the laughs – cracked me up!

    I saw a very good and informative article at The Federalist today abt the Arctic Ice situation:

    http://thefederalist.com/2016/12/23/nobody-needs-freak-north-poles-higher-temps-right-now/

    Oh, and unlike your post, this most definitely did NOT crack me up, especially since the USA abstained from the UN Vote:

    http://thehill.com/policy/international/311678-un-passes-resolution-calling-for-end-to-israeli-settlements

    Grrr.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      So sorry about the headache. Hope it goes away soon.

      Meanwhile, the USA, Israel’s “good” friend, abstained. Obama’s anti-Semitism continues. Grrr indeed!

      • piper Says:

        obama has had it in for Bibi since day one. He not only showed his ass but his definite love for the other side as in Iran. I’m also sure that he was greatly disappointed that he couldn’t attend Fidel’s funeral, another one of his hero. I’ll never understand how he was elected to a second term.

        Sorry for the rant but I couldn’t stand him in 2008 and 8 years later my thoughts and feelings have stayed the same.

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          Your “rant” expresses my feelings perfectly. Much as I was against Trump I feel that he will be better for Israel than Hillary would have been. The Dems are now anti-Semites IMO. And still the liberal Jews vote for them.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      And on the article from the Federalist – didn’t you love this part?

      Sea-level rise has slowed, polar bear numbers have increased, Antarctica is gaining ice, and crop production continues to set records year over year.

      Each of these points contradicts predictions made in climate models produced by the U.N. Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

      Science by agenda is not science at all.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Yes, though I am sure all the politicos will claim as a way to shame that this is all denial. Science, sadly, has become way too politicized…

  5. piper Says:

    Only 27 more days till obama leaves the building. What a sorry sack of a person.

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    This cartoon isn’t “Christmasy” but it’s too darn funny not to share. Cartoonist Glenn McCoy is the master of the zinger.

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    One of my Senators, Lindsey Graham, who is not a fave, went off on the UN vote. He wants to defund the UN and withhold funds from those countries who voted against Israel. Ted Cruz has joined that call: http://therightscoop.com/ted-cruz-backs-defunding-u-n-scathing-statement-obamas-betrayal-israel/

Leave a Reply

