🌎 January 2, 2017 🌍 Open Thread

by

So here we are. It is January 2, 2017 and the holidays are finally behind us.

I confess that by the time New Year’s Day rolls around I am thoroughly tired of Holidays. I long for a return to “normalcy” or what passes for normalcy in the world anymore.

New Year’s Resolutions are  made and will likely be broken in the next week or two. We all have such good intentions – and you know what they say about good intentions:

The top 3 resolutions, from what I read are:

1) Lose weight

2) Exercise more

3) drink more water

I expected the first 2 resolutions, they are a given every year, but confess I was surprised by number 3.

With millions of bottles of water sold, and the hysteria about those evil plastic bottles I thought everyone was drinking lots of water. Constantly. I know I do.

 I did use a filter pitcher for a long time but found that when I had a case of water bottles handy I drank more water. So the pitcher is in the back of the cupboard and I empty my bottles of water into a big red container I keep on a stand between the kitchen and dining room and I am drinking a lot more water. I recycle the plastic bottles, always, so I don’t see the harm.

I’m sure that some rabid environmentalists do see harm but I don’t care what rabid anything thinks. To my way of thinking the very act of being rabid leaves the ability to think  rationally far behind.

With the election finally over I wish I could think that politics wouldn’t be an all consuming topic in 2017. I wish it but I don’t believe it. Because the left will complain about the right and the right will complain about the left and the fighting, name-calling and dishonesty will continue.

And God help us all there are some pinheads already talking about 2020 before Trump is even sworn in.

From the Democrats:

And on the right there is the die-hard #NeverTrump people, some of whom are members of the Cruz Cult who cannot let go of the primary let alone the general election. Their hate is a sad thing to see. They don’t see it in themselves although they are quick to point out the irrationality from the left. No to them no everyone else is a hater and a liar and only they and Ted Cruz are pure. So they are cheering themselves on with cries of Cruz 2020.

Don’t get me wrong, I like Ted Cruz. I voted for him. It’s just some of his crazy supporters I don’t like. Did I mention I don’t like rabid?

Meanwhile on the left they continue to mourn their loss of the election and their chance to put another Clinton into the Oval Office. According to them all would have been well if the evil Russians hadn’t hacked the voting machines and given Trump all of Hillary’s votes. Such insanity and ignorance has become a part of their DNA.

They also mourn the exit of Obama from the White House. Both he, and they seem to believe that he could have easily won a third term if he would have been allowed to run.AOORpoV.gif

Because with the world in flames and our economy stalled so many voters would have voted for more of the same. I suspect that even Obama couldn’t have turned out a massive black votes. Too many of the black population is busily burning down their own neighborhoods.

We could hope that in 2017 the MSM would see the error of their ways and seek to recapture some of the credibility they’ve lost during the past 20 years and more.

From what I’ve seen so far that isn’t going to happen. They are doubling down, spouting lies and distortions, attacking the American voters that don’t agree with the liberal agenda and absolutely making themselves less relevant to a significant portion of the country.

One thing we can be sure of, Donald Trump’s “Honeymoon” with the media is all ready over and he hasn’t been sworn in yet.

We will finally get Pontius Obama out of the Oval Office – only time will tell if the people have elected something better. It seems like there couldn’t be much worse but that’s a sad bet to make.

194309_image.jpg

Along with  the crazy MSM we will have to contend with the Hollywood Dimbeciles who simply cannot keep their big mouths and ignorant opinions to themselves. So many promised that they would leave the country if Trump won and yet here still are. Like politicians you cannot depend on them to keep their word. They are pathetic.

I expect that we will see the United Nations continue to be a bastion of incompetence, corruption and evil. It was a nice dream that has turned into a nightmare. I expect the GOP to make a big noise about doing something about the problems with and caused by the United Nations. I expect the noise to be all they accomplish.

Lelsp9L.jpg

It is amazing to me how one tiny little country can be the cause of so much hate. One people who ask only to be left in peace in the tiny little slice of the world that belongs to them – mandated by God by the way.

GgwIqq4.jpg

I am glad that the Holidays are over so that my favorite television programs will return to normal.

I never did make it all the way through one performance of A Christmas Carol with Patrick Stewart as Ebenezer Scrooge. I will always prefer Alistair Sims in that role.

I can listen to Christmas music all day long and never tire of it since there are so many wondrous songs to hear. But one more Frosty or Rudolph is more than I can bear.   I watch the Grinch on a DVD and watch it, not the atrocious movie starring Jim Carey, when I prefer.

I always watch It’s A Wonderful Life at least once each season. But once is enough. I don’t find Elf funny, or watchable and the whole subject is turning me into a Grinch.  A surfeit is enough.

17 Responses to “🌎 January 2, 2017 🌍 Open Thread”

  1. helenk3 Says:

    on the subject of bottled water, I have an electric tea pot. when I use bottled “drinking water” it leaves sediment at the bottom. If I used “purified” it does not. So now I only buy purified water

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I also only use purified. I think it just taste better. The water I used to filter through my pitcher, and I had several brands over the years, always still had a slight “hint” of Lake Michigan. Not pleasant.

      • justine00 Says:

        I’m awfully lucky: I drink tap water, and love it. Icy cold. 🙂
        .

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          I used to drink tap water all the time when we lived in the county. We had well water and it was great. I miss that.

          Now I live a few blocks from Lake Michigan and the water smells and tastes like it. Ugh.

  2. helenk3 Says:

    I am glad the Christmas movies that started in the middle of October are over. I stopped watching some channels because they were the only things on

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I stopped watching the Hallmark channel over the fifth or sixth movie in a row that was all about some single working mom or single woman find the one decent man in all the world over
      Christmas. You could pretty much predict the whole movie 30 seconds after the opening credits. Tiresome.

      I like “wholesome” but it doesn’t have to be boring.

      And if you think about it two of the best of the Christmas movies, A Christmas Carol and It’s A Wonderful Life are both very dark emotionally for much of the movie.

      Even the Grinch was a real bad guy to begin with.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Good-Bye

    The year 2016 was horrible in many ways, but one thing it did (or seems to have done — with these vampires, you never know) is finally rid America of the Clintons, who have been feasting off our body politic since 1992, when Bubba emerged from gangland-ridden Hot Springs, Ark., to snatch the Democrat presidential nomination away from Jerry Brown, Paul Tsongas and others, and thus begin a prolonged crime wave that finally ended on Nov. 8, when his talentless and uncharming hausfrau went down to a well-deserved defeat in a presidential election she never should have been involved in.

    Hillary’s defeat broke the hearts and minds of the Baby Boomers of the media, who had devoted their careers to extolling the Clintons and aiding and abetting them at every opportunity until — in a break with protocol that no doubt will rankle Bill and Hill for the rest of their lives — they abandoned Ms. Rodham to throw themselves at the feet of Barack Hussein Obama.

    In so doing, the media made a fatal mistake, as the plan all along had been for Hillary to win in 2008 and 2012, leaving the field open for the much younger Barry Soetoro to complete the progressive revolution in ’16 and ’20, after which Amerikkka would be unrecognizable.

    https://pjmedia.com/election/2017/01/01/so-long-farewell-auf-wiedersehen-good-bye/

    I really like the idea that they outsmarted themselves.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      They did outsmart themselves. That is what I tell my friends who are still whining abt Trump winning – they have NO ONE TO BLAME BUT THEMSELVES. And not just because they selected Trump to be the nominee being SO sure Clinton would beat him, but because they did not show up to VOTE. So yeah – they did this to themselves (and us).

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

  5. helenk3 Says:

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      He is doing everything he can to make sure it isn’t a “seamless” transition. As is his classless wife with her nonsense about hope being gone now.

      I may not have much use for Trump but I can “hope” he will do some things right. With Hillary I had no hope. She was never what I thought she was.

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Kurt Schlichter: For Democrats, 2017 Will Be The Year of Living Stupidly

    Now, the old meme was that us stupid Neanderthals who don’t shop at Whole Foods (OK, I shop at Whole Foods but my heart is totally at Kroger’s) are too stupid to know what’s good for us and that we vote for Republicans because of guns and Jesus. Of course, liberals don’t realize that normals think guns and Jesus are two pretty damn good voting criteria.

    Anyway, their new theory – as I understand it, because it seems coherence-challenged – is that the Russians somehow forced us to vote for Trump by releasing authentic emails that revealed the depths of Democrat perfidy and the media’s Clinton collaboration. Basically, the Russians unfairly told us the truth that Democrats and their media minions wanted to deny us, and that “hacked” the election.

    Oh, and Trump is insufficiently mad about Hillary and Company not being able to effectively hide their web of corruption and lies thanks to John Podesta not understanding that you don’t click the link in the email from the Oil Minister of Nigeria, Crown Prince Goodfellow Scamoscammer.

    http://townhall.com/columnists/kurtschlichter/2017/01/02/for-democrats-2017-will-be-the-year-of-living-stupidly-n2265749

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Nowhere is that more evident than in the man who is getting a LOT of support to be the new DNC Chair – the anti-American Rep. Ellison: http://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/312270-democrats-take-sides-in-race-for-dnc-chair

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Alan Dershowitz has threatened to leave the Democratic Party if Keith Ellison becomes chair. A lot of the Dems are saying “so what?”.

        He could be a voice from the Jews that finally gives notice that they will not continue to support those that would destroy them. Maybe.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Wow. Can’t believe it has taken this long for him to come to that point, but yeah – I can see Dershowitz being mighty upset abt the possibility of Ellison as the head of the DNC.

          One can hope that the Jewish community will finally start taking note of what is happening with the Dems…

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    I am certainly NOT a fan of old KGB thug Putin but watching him make a fool out of Obama does make me laugh. Obama thinks he is so smart – against all evidence to the contrary.

    ‘An incredible chess move’: Putin checkmates Obama after symbolic sanctions manoeuvre

    Obama ordered expulsion of diplomats, Putin invited U.S. children to New Year’s party

    It was one of the most brilliant geopolitical chess moves in over a decade, and it involved doing nothing, according to Eurasia senior analyst Lauren Goodrich.

    An expert on Russian politics at the intelligence firm Stratfor, Goodrich was referring to Russian President Vladimir Putin’s response, or lack thereof, to the recent sanctions imposed on his country by U.S. President Barack Obama,

    Instead of retaliating for Obama’s order Thursday to expel 35 Russian diplomats and close down two Russian compounds, Putin insisted he would not reciprocate.

    And, for good measure, he invited the children of U.S. diplomats accredited in Russia to the New Year’s and Christmas parties in the Kremlin.

    “Putin deciding not to retaliate and say I’m going to wait for the Trump administration, delegitimizes Obama’s decision on one side and then also puts extra pressure on Trump to act more conciliatory when he comes in,” said Goodrich.

    “It’s an incredible chess move.”

    http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/obama-russia-putin-trump-sanctions-1.3917022

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

Leave a Reply

