🎆 Inauguration 2017 🎆 Open Thread

by

 

The day is finally here. Donald J. Trump will be sworn in as the 45th President of the United States. I confess I never thought to see this day.

Now that I’ve seen how the left has behaved since Trump won I’m sorry I didn’t vote for him. I didn’t think he would be better than Hillary. I was wrong.

Seeing the reactions to Hillary’s loss only makes me wonder how horrible they would have been in victory. We’ve seen before they are very sore winners.

Does that mean I like or respect the man? Hell no. But my liking or respect isn’t necessary for him to take office. After all, that never stopped Obama.

Time to stop mourning the might-have-beens and hope this man, this imperfect and deeply flawed man will somehow do at least some of the things that need to be done to keep our great nation safe. Perhaps he will even undo some of the damage Obama has done. I pray that will happen.

z42wpSH.jpg

I do like some of the people he was chosen for his Cabinet. I like Sessions, DeVos, Pruitt and Mattis very much.  I think Nikki Haley will be great as Ambassador to the United Nations. There isn’t a chance in hell that Hillary would have selected such people. So I admit I was wrong. I now believe that Hillary would have been far worse.

Now we just wait and see if he follows through on any of his campaign promises. You know the media will attack him and drag every word he has ever said into the light of day – every day. Since I don’t care or believe what the media says that won’t affect me. Nor I suspect much of America. Media doesn’t care much if Democrats keep campaign promises so their hypocrisy is only more of the same.

The NYT’s hit piece on Rich Perry, Trump’s choice for Secretary of energy proves how little the liars and mountebanks at that once great newspaper care about news. Get that? Journalists had to apologize for using the bogus NYTs story. That should be deeply embarrassing for the NYT and should send the few readers they still have left to the exit.

 Journalists Apologize For Spreading Bogus New York Times Story About Rick Perry

I did like the celebration last night very much. The singing of the Battle Hymn of the Republic and the fireworks were impressive and fun.

Lee Greenwood singing God Bless the USA always gives me a chill. It’s wonderful. If Hollywood refuses to participate it seems Nashville is more than willing to step into the gap, into Patriotism instead of rap and into participation in a peaceful transition.

Today I thought I would show this day and the Inauguration from the perspective of some cartoonists. Some are not cartoonists I usually read or post but I thought their POV, if valid, was worth posting today. Full disclosure, I don’t like or respect most of the liberal cartoonists.

Then, as the day progresses we can comment on events as they happen.

Dana Summers looks at the whiners, moaners, snowflakes and just plain sore losers. But kindly. Dana is always spot on but not mean-spirited.

YGpSS9T.jpg

Mike Lester’s cartoon invokes the memory of the detestable hypocrisy of that Kaepernick football player jerk.

Obama has done what he can to make trouble for Trump. In effect, he took a knee on his duty as president of the United States. Nothing new in that.

qbK9nKD.gif

Here’s Steve Breen’s take on the Democrats. He’s from the San Diego Tribune, deep in the heart of uber liberal California so this represents a cartoon with courage I would think. It’s also funny. I think.

qpl3caH.jpg

A bit of information that many Americans, I would suggest nearly all Democrats and a large number of Republicans don’t know.

8Xtrakb.jpg

Lisa Benson focused on those who intend to disrupt the Inauguration as much as possible. I am a firm believer in dissent. I am a firm believer that people have a perfect right to protest. What I don’t understand is protesting an inauguration. Is it to protest that the person you wanted didn’t win? Is it just me or isn’t that childish?

Political Cartoons by Lisa Benson

Here’s Bob Gorrell trying to be hopeful about Trump… Gorrell very much NOT a Trump fan.

Henry Payne shows Trump taking the oath of office in typical Trump fashion.  I confess, unpresidential though it may be,  I love it every time Trump calls Schumer a clown. Sorry about that.

A. F. Branco, who has been on the Trump train for some time sees Trump destroying Obama’s pen and phone tyranny. I hope Branco is right. But even when I don’t think he is I confess I love his brilliant and creative cartoons.

Cartoon by A.F.Branco - Inauguration Day 2017

Rob Rogers expresses how liberals, and the diehard #NeverTrumper holdouts see things. I don’t usually like Rob Rogers POV or his cartoons but this one seemed right for today.

Cartoon by Rob Rogers - Swearing In

There are tons of cartoons with Trump taking the oath with tiny hands or with Putin either administering the oath or standing beside Trump. I didn’t bother with them. Not very clever or creative IMO. As you can see by the cartoonists I’ve included – it can be done much better.

You can’t argue with Bruce Plant’s, from the Tulsa World’s perspective.

Cartoon by Bruce Plante - Bruce Plante Cartoon: President Donald J. Trump

Adam Zyglis, of the Buffalo News, loathes all things Conservative so this cartoon from him isn’t at all surprising. It is however both clever and creative so I included it.

Cartoon by Adam Zyglis - Inauguration

Let us all be hopeful at least for this one day.

Trump hasn’t, as of yet, done much other than pick his cabinet and tweet his little heart out.

I am willing to cheer when he does good things and complain when he does bad things. I was perfectly willing to do the same for Obama but I’m still waiting for a good thing.

Watch Live: Inauguration Day Coverage from Legal Insurrection

21 Responses to “🎆 Inauguration 2017 🎆 Open Thread”

  1. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Thank you for this post, Marge. I admit, it is still surreal to me that Donald J. Trump is abt to be our President. I am still in a bit of shock over it al, but it is happening, no matter how much those on the Left scream and cry abt it.

    Like you, all I can do now is hope for the bes, because that is what is best for the Nation. We cannot hope Trump will fail because that means WE fail. And that we cannot do.

    I agree that, for the most part, Trump really has picked some great people to have in his Cabinet. And no doubt Clinton would have picked very different people. No doubt abt it at all.

    Thanks for the beautiful version of “The Battle Hymn Of The Republic.” I saw that last night and was hoping you would be able to use it. The cartoons are, as always, spot on.

    Here’s another great piece from last night, a performance by Sam Moore of “America”:

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      That was beautiful. The old man’s voice may not be what it once was but he sure can still sell a song. Thanks for sharing!

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    And after today, we must do as brilliant cartoonist Gary Varvel suggests:

  3. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Just saw Hillary and Bill making their way to their seats. Regardless of how one feels abt Hillary, this has to be hard on her. But she showed up anyway. That should be a lesson to all of her supporters.

    Of course, she can also blame the DNC for their hatchet job back in 2008, but I guess that is water over the dam now…

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I guess the Clinton’s needed to show up with him being a former POTUS. Maybe. I don’t see the point. I really hope this is the last we see of these two scumbags.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Yes, they needed to be there. It is protocol and all that. Hillary actually smiled and all, so there is that. I have to say, President Carter looked pretty good for a man his ae and having battled cancer.

        I didn’t see it all this morning – can’t listen to Trump the same way I couldn’t to Obama – though i did see his being sworn in and read some of what he said. Watching the pomp and circumstance though, no matter who it is, was moving. It is amazing that no matter what, we still manage to have a transfer of power.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Classy: Anti-Trump Protestors Block Uniformed Air Force Members From Entering Inauguration

    By Katie Pavlich

    Anti-Trump protestors and anarchists have been smashing windows, attacking Trump supporters and lighting things on fire since last night.

    This morning, they sank to another low by blocking uniformed Air Force members from entering the Inauguration ceremony.

    http://townhall.com/tipsheet/katiepavlich/2017/01/20/classy-antitrump-protestors-block-uniformed-air-force-from-entering-inauguration-n2274485

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I was just coming here to put up a Hill article abt Trump’s speech and the violent protests going on, and saw this piece you had up (I don’t know why I stopped getting daily emails from Townhall, but I have. Legal Insurrection, too. Irritating, that.).

      Here’s The Hill link: http://thehill.com/homenews/administration/315275-trump-were-giving-power-back-to-the-people

      This is unacceptable. Absolutely unacceptable. My niece mentioned that rioters were throwing bricks at police. This was my response to that: What is WRONG with these people?? Do they not realize that people were really upset when Romney lost, and McCain before him, but no one rioted, for heaven’s sake! This is what happens when groups are allowed to get away with lawless behavior, like Occupy Wall Street and BLM. They were taught, in no uncertain terms, that they could riot, create mayhem, shut down highways and cities, destroy property, and cause injury, without being held accountable for actions. THIS is what happens when laws aren’t enforced. WOW. This just makes me mad.

      Good. LORD.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        This isn’t “protest”. This is lawlessness and the left has served notice to the average citizens of this nation that lawlessness is just fine with them.

        They cannot seem to understand that while they are fine with this most people are not.

        Trump gave a speech about “unifying” the country. Whether he means it or not remains to be seen – but the thugs terrorizing D.C. are making people like him more and the left less.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Exactly right, Marge – riots do NOT equal “protest.” The lawless behavior of these Lefties is completely unacceptable, but they have been given permission by the Obama Administration and DNC to act however they wish without fear of consequences.

          Those days are hopefully over. You said it – most of us are NOT okay with their behavior. They don’t have to like Trump being President. Hell, I don’t like it. But they gives no one permission to act like heathens. They so need to grow up…

          • justine Says:

            Trouble is, a lot of ‘m are heathens. (Sorry, not PC.) That’s why we’re a nation of laws — no matter the religion or lack of religion, in this country, everyone must follow the laws.
            .

          • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

            That is the theory, justine – it just hasn’t beent he practice under Obama!

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Chuck Schumer Says Trump’s Cabinet Nominees Are His ‘Enemies’

    The new Senate minority leader, Chuck Schumer, wasted no time before calling President-elect Trump’s cabinet nominees his “enemies.” Remember when Trump tweeted about his enemies? Liberals went nuts, saying that our political leaders should be above declaring the other side their “enemies.” So why is it okay for Schumer to use this language?

    https://pjmedia.com/video/chuck-schumer-says-trumps-cabinet-nominees-are-his-enemies/

    WTH? Is Schumer trying to out Reid crazy old fool Harry Reid?

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      WTH?!?!?!?! I am literally shaking my head, Marge. Good grief, these people just make me NUTS.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I know what you mean. After all the posturing from the Dems any time anyone even dared suggest they wouldn’t work together this is what they come down to. It is the “authentic” Democrat in this age.

        Remember that Hillary mentioned Republicans as the enemy too.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Oh, yeah – I definitely remember that, as well as Dems referring to Reps as TERRORISTS. They will call people literally standing across the aisle from them terrorists, but won’t call people like the Orlando nightclub terrorist what he is. Grrr.

          Meanwhile, their followers will join in with them gladly in calling Reps “the enemy.” Because that is really going to help the nation…

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Well, this is a step in the right direction: http://thehill.com/homenews/administration/315419-trump-puts-churchill-bust-back-in-the-oval-office

Leave a Reply

