☎ I want to talk to a person! ☎ Open Thread

by

 

See that smiling face in the image above? That’s who I want to answer the phone when I call. I don’t want to talk to a computer – I don’t want to talk to a machine. I want a real live person to talk to. If it isn’t the pretty young woman pictured above that’s okay too. I don’t care if it’s an ugly old hag with 1/2 her teeth missing. I want to talk to a person!

I do not want to press one for English. I live in an English speaking country. Why should I have to press anything to hear my language? If you don’t speak English then that’s your problem and I don’t care. You came here from somewhere else and I don’t see any reason why we have to accommodate you. An emergency? Dial 911.

If I seem a little upset it’s because I have just got off the phone with the Postal Service. Postal Service? That’s a major oxymoron!

I was expecting a package all day yesterday. Since it was an expensive item, a television set, I stayed home. All day. I not only stayed home I stayed where I could see the street.

I didn’t want the television to sit out on the enclosed front porch, where all my deliveries go. I didn’t want the delivery to sit out there for two reasons, 1. I didn’t want it stolen and 2. I didn’t want it sitting where there is no heat which could cause condensation in the television which would not be a good thing.

I waited. And waited. And waited some more. I finally went online to Amazon at about 4:15 to see if there was anything except – out for delivery posted. I was flabbergasted to find that “delivery had been attempted”.

Huh? Attempted? You open the door, put the package inside and ring the doorbell as you leave. It’s not an attempted, it’s a do it and its done. Ask Yoda.

It’s worked for many years for UPS, FedEx and the Postal Service. But not yesterday.

Incensed I quickly got on the phone and dialed the Postal Service. Bad decision. You don’t get to talk to people – you get to talk to a machine – a machine that hates you – a feeling quickly reciprocated.

You are a better person than I am if you can get through the “press this, spell that, name, address, zip code, phone number crap and remain calm. They ask any damn thing they can think to ask you except you bra size and your mother’s maiden name. This is all said slowly, very slowly, and explained as if you had the IQ of a tater tot.

If you are not answering the questions through gritted teeth by the end you have exhibited the iron nerves needed for brain surgery. On yourself.

Patience is not my strong suit. Once I have become annoyed patience is non-existent.

I am only using the Postal Service as an example because I had a problem with them yesterday. There are way too many examples I could mention with the same problem. Because way too many times there is no human being on the other end of a phone call.

If a call comes into my house and I can tell it’s some machine I immediately hang up. I do not want to talk to a machine.

I love technology. I wouldn’t trade my PC for the once beloved Remington Selectric I used back in the dark ages for anything.

I even like cell phones. They are handy and when used as necessary a wonderful invention. But when I see people with them pressed to their ear as if it was an appendage I shudder.

I love microwaves and remote control. I adore Email and reading current events on the computer. On-line I can sample many POV and after investigating find what I believe to be the truth. Technology is great.

But I don’t like my car talking to me. I don’t like it nagging me to buckle up before I’ve even gotten my aged butt settled in my seat. I don’t like bossy machines. It’s just one step closer to the time when they take over the world and eliminate all us imperfect organic folks.I don’t “do” Facebook or Twitter. I’m not that interesting and quite frankly from what I’ve read most of the people that post there aren’t either. They just like to think they are.

I don’t’ want to talk to a machine. I want to use technology but I want to be in charge. Personally I think the takeover began with the Roomba vacuum cleaner. That little bugger was up to something when it spent time out of sight under the couch.

Oh hell, all I wanted was to vent about my unhappy experience trying to contact the Post Office.  I wanted to talk to a human being a figure out what went wrong.

So I gave up, gave in and spent 20 minutes pressing this, spelling that and answering questions from a machine.  I resented every minute of it but I did it. If I don’t I may never get my television.

The $25.00 I saved by buying the television on Amazon instead of going to K-Mart might not be worth the aggravation. But I can’t talk to a human being to express that. And that’s why my head is about to explode.

I feel like a Hillary supporter on January 20th.

25 Responses to “☎ I want to talk to a person! ☎ Open Thread”

  1. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Oh, I SO feel your pain. I have been through that same kind of thing with the Post Office. If our regular person is off, all bets are off as to whether or not something will be delivered.

    Case in point: my great aunt’s caretaker sent me a box with some of Aunt June’s ashes so I could spread some at each port when we went on our big South American cruise. Aunt June LOVED to travel, and didn’t get to do as much as she would have liked in her later years, so we were going to take “her” with us.

    Well, our regular carrier was off, and even though my mail hold was not yet on, that is PRECISELY what the sub did – held the Priority Mail package, so I did not get it until after I got home. Not. Happy. My carrier took that message back to the manager of the (tiny Mayberry) office but dang if there weren’t problems when we went out of town over Thanksgiving, too.

    Ugh.

    Anyway – I so hate you had to go through this, Marge. There is nothing worse than wasting time waiting for a package only to have them act as if they attempted to deliver it when they didn’t.

    I am mad for you!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thanks for the support Rev!

      I had managed to find one damn phone number for a facility from which our package was to be delivered. All the rest were the damn 800 number that frustrated me so much. I tried calling last night but although their website said they were open until 5:30pm no one answered. Funny thing, they still aren’t answering today.

      So there is no way to get in touch with a local post office without going in person. Isn’t that unbelievable? Guess they don’t want to have to deal with people that are not happy or have a question.

      The whole idea of buying the television through Amazon was so that we wouldn’t have to contend with getting a big box home. With Lou’s shoulder issue and my bad knees and hips we prefer to have the box delivered to the front porch.

      I got a very large chaise lounge delivered Monday without a bit of trouble. But that was UPS and if they don’t do their job they lose it.

      I rescheduled delivery for today but who’s to say the same thing won’t happen again. They we will still have to go out to Pleasant Prairie to pick up the box. That is about 8 miles from our house because although the “main” Post Office is about 8 blocks from us packages are shipped from Pleasant Prairie. Only a government agency could screw things up so much.

      So again today – we wait.

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    You Didn’t Vote For TRUMP – Or Did You?

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Abortion Science: Heartbeats Are Imaginary, Unborn Babies Aren’t Alive, And Ultrasounds Are Just Tools Of The Patriarchy

    Forget the war on babies. The abortion industry has a new enemy: ultrasounds. In a bizarre and rambling 2,600-word feature piece published on Tuesday, The Atlantic writer Moira Weigel took a sledgehammer to basic science and then did her best to vacuum its brains out before anyone could figure out what just happened.

    The article’s headline is bad enough—”How the Ultrasound Pushed the Idea That a Fetus Is a Person”—but its subhed is the real work of art: “The technology has been used to create an ‘imaginary’ heartbeat and sped-up videos that falsely depict a response to stimulus.”

    http://thefederalist.com/2017/01/24/abortion-science-heartbeats-imaginary-unborn-babies-arent-alive/

    • mcnorman Says:

      Technology has advanced and with that come the facts that the likes of Gosnell ignore.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        They only believe in “science” when it suits their narrative. They fact is that the left has chosen to embrace infanticide. There should be, I believe there will be, penalties for that.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          I literally was SMH at the “Abortion Science” headline when I saw it. Wow, wow, wow. I guess that is how they can justify what they do…

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

  6. mcnorman Says:

    If you need to know which numbers work and don’t, you can try gethuman.com

    It doesn’t always work, but there are some numbers which can get a human which will transfer you to a human.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Thanks so much for this website mcnorman. One of the first things I found was the customer service number for Amazon and some instructions. I wanted some way to get in touch with them several times – now I have it.

      Found how to get to a human at the US Postal Service. I’ve saved the homepage. There are so many more that will come in handy.

      Thanks so much. You probably have saved me from busting a gusset one of these days.

      • mcnorman Says:

        Remember, my job is to sit on the phone and punch that keypad until the end of the day when I feel like my options are to go to a motel and take up chain smokin’ or drinkin’. If you think they are frustrating, the obamagarbagecare insurance exchange is far more despicable.

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    Oh by the way, our regular mailman, a very nice and competent older man just brought our television. All in pristine boxes that don’t look like they ever left Amazon.

    He not only brought the box he came to the interior door knocked and helped Lou carry it inside. He parked his truck down the street about 1/2 block and carried it to our house.

    I am so happy he did this because it reminded me, as I need reminding every so often that for every pinhead with an IQ that has about the same numerical value as his/her temperature, there is a hard working, decent man or woman who does their job and does it well. They restore my faith in humanity.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, that is good news indeed, Marge! So glad to hear it! And glad that your regular guy was so helpful. Very nice indeed.

      And yes – always good to be reminded that not everyone is a goofball…

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    A Tale of Two Photos at the Women’s March

    The first one is of a boy holding a sign that says “Boys will be Boys” with “Boys” crossed out, replaced with “Boys will be Good Humans.”

    The second is of a girl holding a sign that says “Girl Power.”

    So, let me get this straight. A boy can’t celebrate being a boy, but a girl can? And who’s being the sexist here?

    This just about sums up the hypocrisy and sexism of the Women’s March this weekend. They say it’s about equal rights, but what about equal rights for boys and men? These women dressed in their “pussyhats” say they want equal treatment for all, yet the only shouts we heard were for women, minorities, transgender people, and homosexuals. What about the straight, white guy with his genitalia still intact? Is he not included?

    https://pjmedia.com/trending/2017/01/24/a-tale-of-two-photos-at-the-womens-march/

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    DC Waitress Receives 625 Percent Tip From Trump Supporters

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

    Mary Tyler Moore dies at 80. Rest in peace Mary.

    I always liked her and thought she was always a class act.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Sad news indeed. She was an icon, and she most definitely did light up the room with her smile,” didn’t she? “Class act” for sure, Marge.

  12. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Well, this is also some good news from the new President’s State Dep’t: https://worldisraelnews.com/state-department-freezes-obamas-221m-gift-palestinians/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I too am eating crow. While Trump’s obsession with his “popularity” continues to dismay me he has done some very good things. I hope his ego won’t get in the way.

      On the other hand the media’s obsession with his ego allows much of what he is doing to remain out of the mainstream “news”. They spend so much time on his obsession with crowd size that the good things he is doing is basically unreported in the MSM. But those that voted for him, some 63 million people don’t pay much attention to the MSM and find their news elsewhere.

  13. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Here’s some other good news: http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/trump-frees-border-patrol-agents-to-enforce-the-laws/article/2612954

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      About time. The whole “We are a nation of law” is a joke if you don’t obey or enforce the laws.

      Don’t like the laws? Change them. Otherwise we are a nation of laws we like not a nation of laws.

  14. kenoshamarge Says:

Leave a Reply

