➗ Culture In A Cartoon ➗ Open Thread

by

 

Cartoon = a drawing intended as satire, caricature, or humor <a political cartoon>

In this time of stupidity and insanity in our country some cartoonists speak louder and with more clarity than any other form of expression. That’s just my opinion. Now I will try to prove it with some very clever cartoons from some very clever, IMO Brilliant, people.

Example 1 comes from the always ingenious Gary Varvel:

Cartoon by Gary Varvel - Cartoonist Gary Varvel: Democrats cry wolf over Gorsuch

Hard to top that in depicting the Democrat Party and the Democrat Media. And the fools in the streets protesting an election. They seem to forget…

QxZXPCW.png

Perhaps they didn’t forget –  given their level of ignorance many never knew. Politians are too busy raising money to get elected to bloviate and raise more money for their next election to know much of anything. That, unfortunately doesn’t shut them up.

Meanwhile media is too busy making things up or reporting rumor or being outraged about something to actually do the job of the media. But as a young friend of my recently said, that’s all she ever knew in her lifetime.

Example 2 comes from the always effective and brilliant A.F. Branco. He never fails to put the idiocy of our fellow men and women in perspective. He is also, a plus in my opinion, brilliant at depicting Democrats for what they are. Sad for Democrats.

Example 3 is the always clever and often brilliant Henry Payne. This is a good example IMO:

Says a whole lot with very little effort. Clever. I like clever.

Example 4 is another gifted conservative cartoonist named Michael Ramirez. The following makes you think. I like that too.

The first thing I think is why do we allow this? The second thing I think is why do they dare? Then I remember the Muslim-loving wuss in the White House for the past 8 years. That explains it.

Example 5 is the deft-handed Steve Kelley. I love his cartoons but am especially fond of the ones where the man and woman are discussing some relevant topic. But this one is right on target too IMO.

Example 6 is Glenn McCoy – another star in my gallery of geniuses. His cartoons are always among my favorites. He says so much by saying so little.

The “Liberal Logic” images don’t count as cartoons but I love them. The following shows why.

aUCMzAy.jpg

Example 7 is skilled cartoonist Scott Stantis. He has recently come to my attention and I like much of what he does quite a lot. The following is particularly to the point IMO.

Example 8 is adroit and able Mike Lester. Another great cartoonist for and from the right.

Example 9 is the often ingenious Lisa Benson who depicts the Berkeley disgrace a little different than Mike Lester but well.

Example 10 is Dana Summers. Prolific as well as brilliant he also writes a cartoon strip and co-writes another besides the many political cartoons he draws. The man must never sleep.

There are some very good writers on the right. Writers that don’t bow down and kiss the Republican Ring just because it’s Republican. Ben Shapiro, Mollie Hemingway and David Harsanyi come immediately to mind. There are many others that I do like and read even when I don’t always agree.

But it is the cartoonists that have the biggest share of my heart when it comes to politics. Maybe because politics are so often depressing and at least the cartoonist provides a chuckle now and then.

7 Responses to “➗ Culture In A Cartoon ➗ Open Thread”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Mary Katherine Ham: Lady Gaga And Tom Brady Made America Great Again By Sidelining Boring Partisans

    Lady Gaga and Tom Brady did exactly what they were there to do, on the biggest stage in the world, and so well it’s hard for anyone to argue with it.

    http://thefederalist.com/2017/02/06/lady-gaga-tom-brady-made-america-great-sidelining-boring-partisans/

    I am NOT a GaGa fan. I think she’s flashy trash. But evidently she had the class to do a great show and not make it overtly political. I salute her for that.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Well, you know I love me my Mary Katharine Ham, and she makes a great point abt them both doing what they were there to do.

      I am not a fan of how she dresses at ALL, and all of the crazy stunts she does, though she does have some good songs.

      What I don’t get with her is this: She actually does have a very nice voice, is an attractive woman, a practicing Catholic, and things like that – WHY, then, does she feel compelled to do and wear the things she does? Go figure.

  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I love this post, Marge! Such a great collection of different cartoonists, too. WHERE would we be without them? As you noted, they cover the issues and make us chuckle, a Herculean feat sometimes depending on what the issue is.

    And “Liberal Logic” is just great, isn’t it?

    Thank you for the post, and for introducing me to some cartoonists of whom I hadn’t heard. Fantastic!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Glad you liked it. I just couldn’t bring myself to write much about the insanity that is infecting our country so I took they easy route, let the cartoonists say what I wanted to say – only better.

      Varvel, Ramirez and McCoy have been my top 3 favorites since Branco went for Trump. Now Trump has been elected and while Varvel, Ramirez and McCoy are still not fans they are fair and love to point out the idiocy coming from the left.

      Branco, to give him credit, doesn’t try to shove Trump down our throats and also spends more time pointing out the insanity.

      And yes, I just love liberal logic! I love this format from them too:

  3. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    This made me tear up. Good for the Falcons and what they did before the Super Bowl. The comments from family members was moving indeed: http://www.faithwire.com/2017/02/05/what-the-atlanta-falcons-did-during-the-nfc-championship-game-may-make-you-a-fan-for-life/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      God Bless them for this. I would have been cheering them on if I’d known.

      Although Brady dedicating his game and win to his ailing mother also tugs at the heartstrings.

      This is what sport should be!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Isn’t that so awesome? I agree with the headline – they are going to get more fans as a result, including me!

      Oh, that is sweet abt Brady and his mom. Sorry to hear she is ailing, though…

      You said it – this IS abt what Sports should be!

Leave a Reply

