Healing, Home Of The Brave(s), And A Mickey Mouse Production *Weekend Open Thread*

by

Whew, finally, it is the weekend.This past week has been another week chock full of angst, anger, screaming, and yelling, with a bit of gnashing of teeth thrown in for good measure.

Wow.

As crazy as people can be, even orchestrated as many of these current protests are (thanks, Obama!), and as outrageous as people can be these days, I have a story for you of human kindness that I hope you like that appeared recently in IHeartHorses. It is about a little girl named Lex, a warm-hearted stranger, and the healing power of horses, or in this case, a pony named Snickerdoodle. From IHeartHorses:

This is Lex, a 7 year old girl who suffers from cerebral palsy, Asperger’s syndrome, a seizure disorder, heart problems, and kidney trouble. Knowing all these things, her parents only want to make her life easier and overcome the pain. The least thing they can do is to make her happy in the simplest ways. Since she has always loved horses, her parents called up some friends to help them cheer her up. They created a Facebook page “Horses for Lex” and asked for people to send her drawings of horses, but it turned out to be more than what they expected. See how this suffering little girl reacted when she discovers she’ going home with the horse she’s riding on…

What a lovely, LOVING gift for this little girl. I mean, really – how many little girls don’t dream of getting a pony? And for THIS little girl, Snickerdoodle provides healing on so many levels, it is truly heartwarming.

Always good to be reminded of the kindness of strangers, especially when there are so many people out there acting in the most unkind ways these days.

Still, we are lucky to live in the Home of the Brave, or in my case, the Spring home of the Atlanta Braves. Yes, this Saturday, we are heading down to Orlando for the week to join dear friends from Baton Rouge, the parents of our 6 year old godson. Before we meet up with them, though, we get to go to the Braves’ first game of Spring Training. Taking the mound for the Braves’ is Bartolo Colon, who seems ageless as he continues to pitch at the age of 43. WOW. It should be a good day at the stadium. You know I am so, so happy that BASEBALL is here!  Woohoo!

The main reason for our trip to Orlando, as you might guess since we will be with a 6 year old, is Disney World. Honestly, I never got to go Disney Parks when I was young, so being able to go as an adult (this will be my third time) is pretty cool for me. It’s never too late to fulfill those childhood dreams, know what I mean?

We have quite the itinerary planned for our four days of Park-hopping beginning with the Magic Kingdom, and breakfast at Cinderella’s Royal Castle:

Yep, that is how we will be kicking off four days of a Mickey Mouse production!

We have a day planned at Animal Kingdom where the one ride I am bound and determined to ride (these days, I can’t do many of them, especially the spinning ones), is this one:

Hey, it is supposed to be in the ’80’s there that day, so getting soaked won’t necessarily be a BAD thing!

There will be many more adventures on which we will go, including some train rides, like this one (about my speed now for roller coasters):

These are definitely some big productions, are they not?

Epcot Center will be on the list as well as the Hollywood Park. All of them to which we will be going, Magic Kingdom, Animal Kingdom, Epcot, and Hollywood, have some pretty cool things to see and do.

But of course, the best part of this is experiencing it with our friends for sure, but through the eyes of their 6 year old son. Nothing like watching the joy, wonderment, and excitement on the face of a child. Like Lex with her Snickerdoode above, that delight is beautiful to behold.

Needless to say, I won’t be around much this coming week. I trust you will understand if I don’t weigh in too often. I’ll be back by the end of the week. I should warn you though, that even then, I will be packing up in earnest for our upcoming move into the new house.

In the meantime, when the Spirit moves, our dear Marge will put up some posts for your consideration. That is always a treat.

Since this is the Weekend Open Thread, I want to leave you with the following video, a tune by the O’Connor Band, “Always Do.” This was my first introduction to this group. They are incredibly accomplished musicians. I loved this song, and hope you like it, too:

Aren’t they wonderful? So glad to know about them.

Well, that’s it for me, friends. Time’s a wastin’ and I have many miles to travel before I sleep, so gotta go.

I hope you all have a great weekend. Feel free to discuss whatever is on your minds since this is, after all, the Weekend Open Thread.

Take care!

Tags: ,

14 Responses to “Healing, Home Of The Brave(s), And A Mickey Mouse Production *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    As always Amy you give us a great post with lots of “meat.”

    I had never heard of the O’Connor band and am so glad you found them. It’s a bit bluegrass/country and I like that. And a mandolin – I love mandolins!

    As for the story of Lex and Snickerdoodle it is one of those things that warms the heart and brings tears to the eyes. It is so wonderful to once again see and hear of the kindness of strangers.

    God bless that wonderful woman for a gift that will have a far reaching impact on the little girl, both mentally and physically.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Marge. So glad you like it!

      Isn’t that band something? I love them!

      And Snickersoodle – what a great gift from the heart…

      For those keeping score, the Braves beat the Toronto Blue Jays 7-4! We

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    Female Mayor of Irving, Texas, Criticizes Feminism

    Beth Van Duyne is the mayor of Irving, Texas, a city boasting a population of almost a quarter of a million people, making it one of the 100 largest cities in the United States. And she’s had it with modern feminism:

    “To the women I see marching in D.C. — I am a woman. I am strong. I am not a victim. I am not afraid. Just thought you should know.”

    I posted this message after seeing a woman on her way to the Women’s March wearing a sign across her chest that read “I’m afraid.” My 17-year-old daughter and I were in Washington, D.C., for the inauguration, and those words stopped me in my tracks. When did feminism become about fear instead of strength? What message did this person hope to convey? What significance would this phrase have on millions of young women, including my daughter? I felt compelled to respond, and so I did. The response from the supposedly tolerant, supposedly progressive left was ruthless, attacking my race, looks and religion. Some even implied I should be sexually assaulted.

    I have fought my entire life — through word and deed — to advance women. How, then, did I become a nemesis of the current “women’s movement”? Have our political affiliations become so defining that they now override our ability to compromise or even to communicate? Has the “women’s movement” narrowed to the extent that women who aren’t reflexively liberal are automatically disqualified?

    https://pjmedia.com/trending/2017/02/24/female-mayor-of-irving-texas-criticizes-feminism/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      WOW, good for her! And she is SO right – the whole thing back in the day was that we were STRONG, we were people not just our anatomy, and we were capable. Where did that mindset go?

      Thanks so much!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Evidently that “mindset”, the one of the strong, capable woman has gone down the “whiny woman” drain.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Meet Molly

    Molly is a grey speckled pony who 
was abandoned by her owners when Hurricane
 Katrina hit southern Louisiana . She spent weeks
 on her own before finally being rescued and taken 
to a farm where abandoned animals were stockpiled.

    While there, Molly was attacked by a pit bull terrier
 and almost died. Her gnawed right front leg became 
infected, and her vet went to LSU for help, but 
LSU was overwhelmed, and this pony was a welfare 
case. You know how that goes.



    But after surgeon Rustin Moore met Molly, he 
changed his mind. He saw how the pony was
 careful to lie down on different sides so she didn’t 
seem to get sores, and how she allowed people to 
handle her.

    She protected her injured leg. She 
constantly shifted her weight and didn’t overload 
her good leg. She was a smart pony with a serious 
survival ethic.



    Moore agreed to remove her leg below the knee,
 and a temporary artificial limb was built. Molly
 walked out of the clinic and her story really 
begins there.

    “This was the right horse and the right owner,” Moore insists. Molly happened to be a 
one-in-a-million patient. 
She’s tough as nails, but sweet, and she was willing to cope with pain.
 She made it obvious she understood that she was 
in trouble.

    The other important factor, according 
to Moore , is having a truly committed and compliant 
owner who is dedicated to providing the daily care
 required over the lifetime of the horse.



    Molly’s story turns into a parable for life in
 Post-Katrina Louisiana.

    The little pony gained weight, and her mane finally felt a comb. 
A human prosthesis designer built her a leg.

 “The prosthetic has given Molly a whole new life,
” Allison Barca DVM, Molly’s regular vet, reports.

 “And she asks for it. She will put her little limb out,
 and come to you and let you know that she wants
 you to put it on. Sometimes she wants you to take 
it off too.” And sometimes, Molly gets away from
 Barca. “It can be pretty bad when you can’t catch 
a three-legged horse,” she laughs.



    Most important of all, Molly has a job now. Kay,
 the rescue farm owner, started taking Molly to 
shelters, hospitals, nursing homes, and rehabilitation 
centers… anywhere she thought that people needed 
hope.

    Wherever Molly went, she showed people
her pluck. “It’s obvious to me that Molly had a bigger role to 
play in life,” Moore said. She survived the hurricane,
 she survived a horrible injury, and now she is giving 
hope to others.”

    Barca concluded, “She’s not back to normal, but 
she’s going to be better…
    To me, she could be a 
symbol for New Orleans itself.”

    This is Molly’s most recent prosthesis (photo left).

    The photo below shows the ground surface that she stands on,
 which has a smiley face embossed in it. Wherever
 Molly goes, she leaves a ‘smiley’ hoof print behind.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I LOVE this story!! Thank you so much, Marge!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I loved it too. I had no idea they could put a prosthesis on a pony/horse. Bless those that gave this wonderful animal a second chance at life. A heart like hers certainly deserves it and her “message” should resonate with many that need it.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Isn’t it just amazing what they can do these days? Thank heavens for those who make the lives of these creatures easier…

          Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Here’s a thought for a Sunday morning:

    Romans 8:31 What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?

    It makes me feel stronger, more powerful and better able to cope when I remember, as I don’t do often enough, that when my feet are on the right path, that God is for me. And he loves me even when I am not on the right path and will, if I ask, help me back to where I need to go.

Leave a Reply

