🌷 Weekend Open Thread🌷

by

Related image

Suddenly it’s April. No matter how warm it gets in March I never really feel like it’s Spring  until April. The calendar may tell me on March 20th that Spring has sprung but my heart waits for April.

On the first day of April I don’t usually think much about it being “April Fool’s Day”. For me “Fool’s Day” is with us 365 days a year – 366 for leap years. I don’t see anything to celebrate about fools. So I don’t.

Now it is the Stein’s Garden Center flyer in the mail that takes my interest instead of the grocery or department store sales. Actually I sign up for their flying to be delivered in my email and can peruse before the mail even arrives. I do a lot of perusing about gardening.

This week Stein’s Garden & Gifts is featuring Pansies. I love pansies. They’re hardy little flowers with sweet happy faces and they bloom their little hearts out for you all summer long. So many colors, so many kinds, you get a lot of bang for your buck with pansies.

https://i1.wp.com/fineartamerica.com/images/contestlogos/logo1-beautiful-pansies.jpg

 

Once April is here I think about flowers and herbs and gardening. Though age and health now keeps me from the larger garden projects I once tackled I still have my container gardening and that’s enough to get the gardening blood racing through my veins.

Another staple in my flower gardening pantry is the lowly petunia. Petunias like pansies give you so much bang for your buck that they are always a bargain as well as a joy to the eye.

I have a large decorative pot out front with a Shepherd’s Hook in it that is the focus of my front yard decor. The Shepherd’s Hook holds what ever “seasonal” solar lantern I am currently highlighting and the pot holds red and white petunias and purpley-blue petunias, I like to show my “colors” all summer long.

From mid June to mid July I place little American Flags in the pot as well as on Memorial Day, Veterans Day and Labor Day. Those are in addition to the larger flag I fly that is inserted into a holder beside my front door.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/c6/2d/39/c62d393cfacd47e8c31e4fb62d16180f.jpg

I often thank God for gifting me with the gardening gene. I know people who can’t understand my love of gardening and think a pot of flowers, or ever horror of horrors artificial flowers by the front is sufficient.

One friend buys those fake flowers from QVC and is smug through drought and flood and everything in between as her “flowers” bloom.

I have told her I will send a “stem” of phony flowers when she dies instead of beautiful flowers since she doesn’t care about living blooms. She responds that if she doesn’t care now she certainly won’t once she’s no longer living. She does have a point. I hope that’s not for many years to come because the verbal jousting we do is one of my favorite exercises and has been for years.

But back to the month of April.

Old Proverb – April showers bring May flowers

  1. April, traditionally a rainy period, gives way to May, when flowers will bloom because of the water provided to them by the April rains.
  2. (by extension) A period of discomfort can provide the basis for a period of happiness and joy.

I also found this which I liked:

I want to send you lots of happy thoughts
And prayers for God to bless you every day,
With the softest of April showers
To bring you the loveliest flowers in May.

Not a very good poem but a lovely thought. I thought.

Why do we say “April showers bring May flowers”?

The entire saying goes something like this:

“March winds and April showers bring May flowers and June bugs.”

But April isn’t a rainy month across the United States. And flowers begin blooming a lot sooner than May in most of the South.

So where did this saying come from and why is it so prevalent?

It turns out, the saying originates in the United Kingdom where it can be pretty soggy in the spring.

I suspect that the reason we keep saying it is because it’s short, easy to remember and for many of us it was something we heard as children. For others, they just repeat parrot-like anything that is in the common usage.

Another “spring” flower is the sunny daffodil. Daffodils have to be planted the year before if you want flowers in the spring. Then you plant the “bulbs” not the plant and wait. They arrive early but don’t stay long. While they are with us they are a wonderful harbinger of Spring.

https://assets-production-webvanta-com.s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/000000/51/74/slider_detail/uploads/plant/1430592966-48b33fb8f248d6a9f/narcissus%20Dutch%20Master2.jpg

The ones in the picture above are like the ones that bloom along the side of my house. The bright yellow against the dark brown brick of my house makes a pleasing and happy contrast. I wish they stayed longer but I do love them while they are here.

Narcissus /nɑːrˈsɪsəs/ is a genus of predominantly spring perennial plants in the Amaryllidaceae (amaryllis) family. Various common names including daffodil,[notes 1] daffadowndilly,[3] narcissus, and jonquil are used to describe all or some members of the genus. Narcissus has conspicuous flowers with six petal-like tepals surmounted by a cup- or trumpet-shaped corona.

The flowers are generally white or yellow (orange or pink in garden varieties), with either uniform or contrasting colored tepals and corona.

Narcissus were well known in ancient civilization, both medicinally and botanically, but formally described by Linnaeus in his Species Plantarum (1753). The genus is generally considered to have about ten sections with approximately 50 species. The number of species has varied, depending on how they are classified, due to similarity between species and hybridization. The genus arose some time in the Late Oligocene to Early Miocene epochs, in the Iberian peninsula and adjacent areas of southwest Europe. The exact origin of the name Narcissus is unknown, but it is often linked to a Greek word for intoxicated (narcotic) and the myth of the youth of that name who fell in love with his own reflection. The English word ‘daffodil’ appears to be derived from “asphodel”, with which it was commonly compared.Narcissus /nɑːrˈsɪsəs/ is a genus of predominantly spring perennial plants in the Amaryllidaceae (amaryllis) family.

Various common names including daffodil,  daffadowndilly,  narcissus, and jonquil are used to describe all or some members of the genus. Narcissus has conspicuous flowers with six petal-like tepals surmounted by a cup- or trumpet-shaped corona. The flowers are generally white or yellow (orange or pink in garden varieties), with either uniform or contrasting coloured tepals and corona.

https://www.longfield-gardens.com/_ccLib/image/plants/DETA-187.jpg

One final flower and image before I go, the tulip. There are so many kinds and colors and so much history for the tulip I could write a whole post just about them. Maybe another time I’ll do that.

In the meantime every grocery store now has bouquets of tulips to help us welcome spring. I like to buy a bouquet of tulips and one of daffodils and mix them for color. Spring inside is satisfying too.

I hope you have a warm and colorful weekend – I hope Rev Amy and Suzy are safe and comfortable and happy in their new house – I hope we all continue to enjoy the wonders of the flowers we have around us.

Happy Weekend Friends!

10 Responses to “🌷 Weekend Open Thread🌷”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Ben Domenech: Consider The Possibility That We Are Led By Idiots

    One of the things I endeavor to remind people of consistently when I am asked to speak to groups around the country is to consider the possibility that we are led by a pack of idiots. This is not out of any animus toward our leadership class, but borne out of experience.

    I have seen cabinet secretaries who type with two fingers. I have listened as senior staffers with authority over constructing legislation in a particular scientific field engage in debate on whether or not the moon landing was a hoax.

    I have seen a man charged with revolutionizing incredibly complex government information technology systems who did not know how to use a thumb drive. I have seen the bill from a highly paid consultant, an incredibly expensive bill, for a PowerPoint deck that I had seen him present for another client with different logos. And, more personally, I have been told at many varied points in my career by accomplished people why the thing I wished to build was impossible, why it would be a failure, and why I should instead join company X, Y, or Z, none of which are relevant or in some cases even exist today.

    This is why we should never forget the possibility that underneath the facade of government and business, which projects authority and success, there are a host of fools who are just along for the ride and got to where they are by dint of internal politics, a nice resume, and good timing.

    http://thefederalist.com/2017/03/31/consider-possibility-we-are-led-idiots/

    I not only “consider” it, I have believed it for a very long time. While Mr. Domenech’s experience and close proximity would offer final proof, just paying attention is about all you need.

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Michael O’Leary was waiting at the bus stop with his friend, Paddy Maguire, when a lorry went by loaded up with rolls of turf.

    O’Leary opined, ‘I’m gonna do that when I win de lottery, Maguire.’

    ‘What’s that, Michael?’ responds his mate.

    ‘Send me lawn away to be cut,’ says O’Leary.

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    Junk Vegetables

    The elementary school cook prided herself on the healthy meals she provided with lots of vegetables and fruits. When the power failed one day, the cook couldn’t serve a hot meal in the cafeteria, so at the last minute she whipped up great stacks of peanut-butter-and-jelly sandwiches.

    As one little boy filled his plate, he said, “It’s about time. At last — a home-cooked meal!”

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    A farmer purchased an old, run-down, abandoned farm with plans to turn it into a thriving enterprise. The fields were grown over with weeds, the farmhouse was falling apart, and the fences were broken down.

    During his first day of work, the town preacher stops by to bless the man’s work, saying, “May you and God work together to make this the farm of your dreams!”

    Months later, the preacher stops by again to call on the farmer. Lo and behold, it’s a completely different place.

    The farm house is completely rebuilt and in excellent condition, there is plenty of cattle and other livestock happily munching on feed in well-fenced pens, and the fields are filled with crops planted in neat rows.

    “Amazing!” the preacher says. “Look what God and you have accomplished together!”

    “Yes, reverend,” says the farmer, “but remember what the farm was like when God was working it alone!”

Leave a Reply

