✝️ Have A Blessed Good Friday ✝️

by

 

Good Friday is the Friday preceding Easter Sunday and is the day Jesus Christ was crucified on the cross. We can celebrate on Good Friday because Christ’s death was a sacrifice so that we could receive the gift of eternal life.

Jesus bore our sins, shame, and burden on the cross. The results changed the course of humanity and what man meant for evil through killing Jesus, God meant for good!

Image result for good friday images

John 3:16-17

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.
17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

Image result for christian line dividers

To my Jewish friends who are celebrating Passover: I wish you a “kosher and joyous Passover.” In Hebrew it’s chag Pesach kasher vesame’ach” (pronounced: CHAG PEH-sach kah-SHER ve-sah-MAY-ach).

https://i1.wp.com/www.jewishbazaar.com/images_products/hanukkah-menorahs-large-display-large-size-electric-menorah-620-gold-igem-620-g-7600big.jpg

The eight-day festival of Passover is celebrated in the early spring, from the 15th through the 22nd of the Hebrew month of Nissan. It commemorates the emancipation of the Israelites from slavery in ancient Egypt. It is observed by avoiding leaven and highlighted by the Seder meals that include four cups of wine, eating matza and bitter herbs, and retelling the story of the Exodus.

https://i2.wp.com/www.horebinternational.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/Moses-leading-Israelites.jpg

Passover 2017 began in the evening of Monday, April 10 and ends in the evening of Tuesday, April 18.

 

This is, as always,  an open thread.

15 Responses to “✝️ Have A Blessed Good Friday ✝️”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Michael Brown: Why Don’t We Care About the Slaughter of Christians?

    A United Airlines passenger is violently hauled off a plane, and there is national outrage, rightly so. Press Secretary Sean Spicer says that Assad is worse than Hitler, and again, there is national outrage, rightly so. Forty-five Egyptian Christians are slaughtered by ISIS while attending church services on Palm Sunday and scores of others are wounded, and there is barely a national yawn. How can this be?

    https://townhall.com/columnists/michaelbrown/2017/04/13/why-dont-we-care-about-the-slaughter-of-christians-n2313194

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Excellent question. Coptic Christians are being slaughtered left and right in Egypt, almost to the point of annihilation, and there is silence by all these same people who are screaming abt one man.

      Not that what that passenger went through wasn’t bad. But he was not targeted because he was a Christian, and he did not lose his life. (I did hear Shepherd Smith say that with the amt of money United has lost, they could have purchased the man his own plane and pilot.)

      Back to Brown’s question – why the silence? That alone is telling on a big scale…

  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Thanks so much for this Good Friday post, Marge. Beautifully written!

    I am hoping to go see, “The Case for Christ,” early this afternoon. That is how I plan to celebrate this day…

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I am so glad you like it.

      I’m not sure what I’ll do later. Probably watch “The Ten Commandments” which I DVRd a while ago. I’ve been looking for “The Robe” too, that was a very good movie but it seems to have disappeared.

      I usually watch “Ben Hur” on Easter Sunday. I haven’t seen it listed yet but I expect it will be.

    • Cindyindie Says:

      Let us know how you like the movie!

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Cuz, I was coming here just to share some of what I saw in the movie today. I HIGHLY recommend it. Heres a trailer for it:

        There was much abt it that was powerful, particularly when a medical doctor who had written a piece for the Journal for American Medical Assoc., spoke of what Jesus endured at the hands of the Romans. The scourge used to whip him literally flayed his back, down to sinew and muscle, hence why he stumbled and fell with the cross. He literally suffocated on the cross, as evidenced by the blood and water that was released when he was pierced by the sword. It is heartbreaking to imagine anyone going through such agony, but go through it Jesus did. And he did it for us.

        The doctor was Dr. William D. Edwards. Here is a link to his article, co-written with two others. The depiction of what it meant to be scourged in those days literally had me sobbing in the movie. Here’s the link: http://www.godandscience.org/apologetics/deathjesus.pdf

        • Cindyindie Says:

          Oh, how heartbreaking! And the Muslims say it never happened!
          Thankyou for the trailer and the link. I hope I get to see it.
          Your assessment is very moving………thank you.

        • kenoshamarge Says:

          Now I can’t wait to see the movie. But it said something about the movie being from a book so I went to Amazon and bought it. Now I guess I’ll have to wait.

          Thanks for the trailer and the critique. There are lots of people who say it didn’t happen. We know it did. And the proof is in our hearts. I have doubted at times in my life but I always came back to “knowing.”

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    For those interested in watching some great seasonal Movies here are two I found in the television listings and plan to DVR

    They are both on TCM on Easter Sunday

    Ben Hur is on from 1 to 5pm

    The Robe is on from 7 to 9:30pm

    This year I am going to buy the DVD for both movies so I don’t have to look for them and can watch when I want to watch.

    I love both of these movies and both of the starring actors are wonderful in their roles. Charlton Heston is fabulous as Ben Hur and Richard Burton is fantastic, IMO, as Marcellus Gallio in The Robe.

    • Cindyindie Says:

      Thank you Marge. I saw The Robe at the “picture show” when I was 6 years old and it affected me deeply.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I also saw it at “the picture show.” Saw Ben Hur there too. Both are IMHO great Christian movies made before the liberals got their hands on them.

        Now watching Ben Hur, The Robe and The Ten Commandments is an Easter Tradition for Lou and I.

        • Cindyindie Says:

          P.$. When Spectrum bought Time Warner they raised their prices…….we didn’t want HBO etc anymore because it was disappointing. So we opted for the lower tier which still gave us 500 channels or so………what we didn’t realize is that it no longer included TCM!! I really miss it But we have Netflix and my favorite, ACORN which I love. The British productions are excellent….even their documentaries.

          • kenoshamarge Says:

            I kept the same tier even though it was more. The price going up is the only difference I’ve noticed – no better service.

            My cable box has begun “rebooting” itself during the wee small hours every night. I have no idea what’s with that. Most people will probably never even know – but I make trips to the bathroom far too often all night long and I noticed it.

            I watch a lot of programming on Amazon video and I have a 12 inch DVD player when I don’t have something on DVR to watch. So I often watch my huge collection of DVDs. We put it on the coffee table on a big box and Lou and I can both see it just fine. If it’s just me, I set it on the side table. More than one way to skin a cat.

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

Leave a Reply

