👵 Mattie ➖ Open Thread

by

 

Image gallery for : nice old lady cartoon

When I was trying to think of something to write about this morning the image of Mattie suddenly popped into my head.

Mattie was a much beloved friend who passed away a few months ago and whom I miss more than I ever thought I would. Because although I loved her dearly, there were far too many times I wanted to hit her over the head with a two by four.

Mattie in many ways epitomized the silly old lady image that enrages me when people apply it to me. I am not a silly old lady. (Doth I protest too much?)

I am also NOT a sweet old lady. Mattie was both.

 

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/2d/e2/aa/2de2aa933e453c934b7f0facb0871cf6.jpg

Mattie was not a stupid woman. But she was a massively uninformed woman and seemed determined to stay that way. Much like a majority of the American public.

I would try to inform Mattie of things I thought important and she would tell me she Related imagedidn’t have time for that stuff. She always had time for her “stories” though. Stories being her term for the soap operas she loved to the day she died. I often thought that the characters on her “stories” were more real to her than anyone in the headlines.

Mattie was also terminally trustworthy. It took her son, both of her daughters, and many friends to convince her that she really should not send money to some Algerian Prince in hopes of making her fortune. Not that she cared about a fortune for herself but she often fretted that she didn’t have much to leave her children.

Image result for sweet little old lady images

Mattie was one of the kindest, gentlest people I have ever known. She was one of those unsung heroines that reside in every community and hold it together by always being willing to do something.

They give what little money they can and give of their time and energy when you would think people their age had no energy to give. Yet there they are whenever there is a need. Little old ladies with fluffy gray or white hair still doing their bit for their community.

Related image

Mattie considered it her civic duty to vote so vote she did. In her naivete she was the perfect target for the dishonesty that infests politics. She was also a poster child for all the uninformed elderly from both parties. They show up, always, and vote the party line.

Mattie never understood why I became an Independent. She remained a Democrat all her life. This in spite of the fact that she didn’t believe much of what they stood for. She faithfully voted for Hillary in spite of all the reasons not to because she didn’t know all the reasons. She remained uninformed by design. She saw the ugliness that is now so apparent to all of us and she eschewed it.

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/84/53/ee/8453eefdb144c44516897b8852340661.jpgThese days if they are up to date enough to have a computer all your contemporaries, if you are an old lady like me, can email you endless cute cat videos and the latest party talking points.

I like cats. I loathe talking points. I used to shudder when I opened my email in the morning knowing that if Mattie had found either a cute cat video or a talking point in her email I would soon be the next recipient.

There was no hiding until after a few cups of coffee made me less testy since Mattie got up as early as I did. Most of us old bats rise and fall with the sun.

Now I miss the chances to get cranky about the emails. I miss my friend. There is a Mattie sized hole in my life I never realized would be there.

Related image

Mattie was adopting unwanted animals long before it became a fashion. She always had a houseful of pets. There wasn’t a child in the neighborhood that didn’t know where to get a homemade cookie and a hug  for a skinned knee if mom and dad were at work. Or if mom and dad were home but too busy to provide what was needed more than a bandage.

There were times when I was sure that Mattie knew a lot more about what was going on in the world than she seemed to know. A certain wary look. A certain sadness behind the cheery facade.

Mattie did all the things us old ladies are supposed to do. She gardened, she made quilts, she was a world class cookie baker and she never missed church or elections. She was a good woman.

I am now glad that she didn’t listen to me or to her children when we tried to tell her how to vote. I’m glad she did what she wanted and voted her choice not ours. Because we’ve been wrong so many times who were we to tell her what to do?

I remembered, as she remembered, that there had been a time when her children thought they knew everything and she knew nothing. Who can blame her if she saw their incessant nagging about her vote as more of the same as they treated her much like they had when they were young and knew it all. They were older but still seemed to think they knew it all. And just like back then – they didn’t.

I don’t know it all either. I only know that I work to be informed while many others don’t. Does that make me a better person? Hell no. I couldn’t on my best day match Mattie for kindness, decency, a willingness to help or a happy heart.

I am a political animal. Always have been and always will be. And that taints some of the things that made Mattie so wonderful. It taints a certain generosity of spirit that I think people like Mattie hold more dear to their hearts than information. It’s not my style. But who am I to say it’s wrong.

I suspect that Mattie is closer to God’s heart than I am for her sheer goodness. Or maybe God is more concerned about old sinners like me. I know Mattie loved me anyway. I know, because she told me so – far oftener than I told her.

I miss you Mattie. And with the benefit of hindsight if you were still around I would shut my mouth and let you vote your way without comment. Because it was your vote and your right to cast it as you see fit. My approval was never necessary. That’ s a lesson a lot of people need to learn. I’m just glad I’m smart enough to have learned it at long last.

Image result for old lady political cartoon images

And everyone is entitled to reject it!

Image result for happy friday images

21 Responses to “👵 Mattie ➖ Open Thread”

  1. insanitybytes22 Says:

    Ahh, what a sweet tribute to your friend and to old ladies everywhere! Thanks, I really enjoyed reading that.

    I am one of those fiesty, mean old ladies, so take heart. There are quite a few of us in the world too. 🙂

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I am glad you enjoyed it. I had to wait a few months to be able to write about “Mattie”, which isn’t her real name. Distance both allowed me to “see” her better, miss her more, and be able to type without bursting into tears.

      The world needs all of us, sweet, saintly, kind, and feisty. No one was more aware of that than Mattie.

  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    What a wonderful, beautiful tribute to your dear friend, Marge. I wish I could have known Mattie. She sounds like a real gem, generous of heart and spirit.

    And I am thankful for knowing you, dear Marge. You aren’t like Mattie, from what you said, but you are perfectly YOU!

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I’m glad you liked it. I often used to get so angry with her when she wouldn’t get outraged like I did.

      As I said in the post I often thought she was far more aware than we gave her credit for being. Well except for the Algerian Prince thing, and even then I wonder if she wasn’t pulling our collective legs. As I said, she wasn’t a stupid woman.

      But she was unfailingly kind with a hug, and a cookie for whoever needed them.

      BTW, Mattie made a chocolate chip cookie with semi-sweet chocolate chips AND peanut butter chips that was the best cookie ever! I make them too but they aren’t as good as hers were.

      I miss her. And I even miss all the damn cat videos. (Sometimes she would send 3 or 4 a day. Then too, was she pulling my leg? I wonder. Because there was always a twinkle in her eye.

      And lest anyone think she was not a momma lion let anyone mess with a child and they would find out just how quick a sweet little old lady could turn into a protective lioness.

      You would have loved her.

      I am and will always be – me. But that doesn’t mean I can’t strive to be better and kinder and gentler as Mattie was. It would be a tribute to her.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    A cop pulls a car over for going 20 mph on the highway.

    The driver is a little old lady with her dog beside her, and two old ladies in the back seat.

    The cop asks, “Why were you driving just 20 miles per hour?”

    The old lady responds, “I was just going the posted speed limit!” and points to a sign up ahead.

    The cop smiles and says, “That’s not the speed limit sign, that’s the sign for this highway — Route 20!”

    One of the old ladies in the back gasps out, “We tried to tell you, Eugenia!”

    The cop takes another look at the old women in the back and sees that they are wide-eyed and disheveled. One of them is tightly gripping the door handle.

    “What’s the matter?” the cop asks.

    She responds, “We just came off of Interstate 190.”

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

    Ah well, back to politics…

    Trial by media hysterics: The Trump Speculation Olympics

    Mainstream media can fuss all it wants. Conservative media has no obligation to join its hysterics.

    Amid widespread accusations that President Trump has committed serious acts of misconduct, including leaking classified intelligence to the Russians and obstructing an FBI investigation, some members of the press are irate that conservative media is hesitant to join in with the mob and measure the length of rope needed to hang a president.

    https://www.conservativereview.com/articles/trial-by-media-hysterics-the-trump-speculation-olympics

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    Fake News Factory — Another Disastrous Week For ‘The Washington Post’

    If anyone had told me that any news outlet was capable of spewing more Fake News than CNN, I would have laughed in their face. I was wrong. Over the past week, the left-wing Washington Post has published an astonishing amount of Fake News, a torrent of lies, and all of it aimed directly at President Trump.

    1. BOMBSHELL Confession That Was … a Joke

    Beyond pathetic.

    2. BOMBSHELL: Deputy Attorney General Threatened to Quit

    Never happened.

    http://www.dailywire.com/news/16646/fake-news-factory-another-disastrous-week-john-nolte

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

    Kucinich: ‘Deep State’ Trying to ‘Destroy the Trump Presidency’

    Kucinich said the “deep state” within the bureaucracy is trying to “destroy Donald Trump’s presidency.”

    He said there is a “politicization” of intentionally nonpartisan agencies that has resulted in leaks to the press and a “threat to our republic.”

    Kucinich called the damaging leaks against President Trump a “clear and present danger” to the American way of life…

    http://www.libertyheadlines.com/kucinich-deep-state-trying-destroy-trump-presidency/?AID=7236

    I am not a Kucinich fan and never have been. This however surprises me coming from an ultra liberal like him. Especially since I tend to agree with him with out any proof to back up my opinion.

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    William A. Jacobson:Some dare call the anti-Trump feeding frenzy a “coup” attempt

    As we’ve been documenting, there has been a non-stop Democratic Party, mainstream media and #NeverTrump Republican drumbeat, first to keep Trump out of office then to remove him from office. This is nothing short of an attempt to unwind the election based on conspiracy theories, speculation and innuendo, Being anti-anti-Trump is no vice, at least not now:

    The choice now is between Trump and the conspiracy theorists, Antifa street thugs, campus anti-free speech police, Soros-funded front groups, deceptive anti-Trump media, Democrat obstructionists, and illegal leakers in the permanent bureaucracy who consider themselves above the electoral process.

    You don’t need to be pro-Trump to be against those who collectively are a greater threat to our liberty than Trump.

    http://legalinsurrection.com/2017/05/some-dare-call-the-anti-trump-feeding-frenzy-a-coup-attempt/

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

  12. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    This week is National Police Week which includes remembering those who were lost in the line of duty. This is a powerful, moving,
    speech given by Rep. Trey Gowdy on the floor of the House:

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I cannot thank you enough for this video Rev Amy. Trey Gowdy was/is a favorite of mine. Sometimes I love him to death and others times I am disappointed that he doesn’t quite live up to my expectations.

      In this floor speech he shows me once again the man I have so admired. Perhaps he doesn’t need to live up to my expectations – just his own.

      What a marvelous tribute to one, and ultimately all law enforcement officers. Well done Trey, well done.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        My pleasure, Marge. Honestly, I was in tears watching this video, listening to Gowdy talk abt this man, and as you noted, by extension all those who were lost in the line of duty. Powerful indeed.

        And thank you – that is a great way to re-frame abt Gowdy. He is still one of my faves, too. He seems to have a lot of integrity, even if I don’t always agree with where he lands. But hey. as we have noted before, we never agree with anyone 100%…

  13. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Once again, Alan Dershowitz is speaking out about what the Dems are doing, this time in terms of the Special Prosecutor. His concern is that we descend into Stalinism:

    http://www.whitehousedossier.com/2017/05/19/liberal-dershowitz-suggests-special-prosecutor-road-stalinism/

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Ben Shapiro has this piece today on the whole Russia/election thing, as in, there is no thing there: http://www.dailywire.com/news/16662/fact-there-zero-evidence-trump-russia-collusion-ben-shapiro

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I wonder if we’ve reached the point where it no longer matters if there is nothing there.

        The left and their liberal activist media has sought unrelentingly to convince the public that Trump is guilty. Facts mean nothing. Evidence isn’t needed.

        Anonymous sources in the media are believed because of a Trump hate, a Trump derangement syndrome that needs to believe he is guilty of all manner of things to justify their hate.

        The endlessly whining #NeverTrumpers are among the worst. With their self-righteous babble about them being right all along, about how they stuck to their principles, about how no one that was a real Christian, like they are, could have voted for Trump. And now with every problem they thumb their noses at others on the right that did what they thought was the right thing and say, “we told you so.”

        There is a meanness of spirit in them that has nothing to do with principles and Christianity and any other virtue. They didn’t get their way and like angry children they are having a temper tantrum. Just like the foolish Clinton voters who whine and scream impeachment at every opportunity.

        Trial by media and anonymous sources is fine with them. Because they are pi$$ed off.

        I’ve come to the conclusion that the greatest danger to conservatism isn’t a nitwit like Trump, it’s the conservatives I’ve met online, in comment sections of blogs. They convince me, and a lot of others who believe a lot of what they believe that they are no better than the lefty bullies.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Sadly, it seems that way. Even Democrats have already admitted there is NOTHING to this whole Russia thing, but that doesn’t stop them from going on abt it, for the media, like the NY Times and WaPo, to continue to have that on their front page. It truly does seem as i the Dems are trying to carry out a coup against a lawfully elected leader. I have never seen anything like this, and with the media in collusion with the Left, anyone else will be hard pressed to have a voice in the matter.

          There are some, though,thank heavens, like Dershowitz, who just this morning said that the Special Counsel is charged with determining if federal laws have been broken. If they have not, then that is that, and he doesn’t think any have. He also said they should have had a special investigation first where everything was public.

          How the Reps were railroaded into this is beyond me. All the many scandals of the Obama Administration, and this NEVER happened. In just 4 months, though, they already have a Special Prosecutor for an issue that most everyone acknowledges has no meat.

          That there are those Conservatives, like the #NeverTrumpers, who are GLEEFUL at all of this says a lot. At this point, whether we like it or not, Trump is President. Unless he commits a heinous crime, he will be for 4 yrs. If they dislike him so much, they should be working to have someone else run against Trump in 2020.

          So sick of these bullies on BOTH sides of the aisle…

          • kenoshamarge Says:

            Me too with the sick of them all. I am happier than ever with my decision to become an Independent. Now I can happily bash away at both parties and their hypocritical b.s.

Leave a Reply

