New Lease on Life, Playing In The “Pool,” And Dogging It *Weekend Open Thread*

by

As the vitriol and lunacy continues – and that is just with our media (seriously, CNN – what IS your problem?!), it is time for our weekly weekend break. I don’t know about you, but I can sure use one.

In a recent comment, I mentioned a fact I had recently learned from an article in our local paper (the Post and Courier). It had to do with an ancient whale (30 million years old) found in the area that had BIG teeth, and was capable of both biting/chewing, and filtering its food like many other whales do (baleen).

Anyway, I learned that whales are directly related to the hippopotamus (from the Greek, Hippo – horse, and potamus – river), and while other creatures were leaving the water for dry land, whales did the exact opposite. Who knew?? Shortly after that, Suzy saw the following video posted on a Facebook dive sight. This little one is a prematurely born hippopotamus at the Cincinnati Zoo named Fiona. And is she ever a cutie:

How precious is this little girl? There are a bunch more videos of her at Youtube, like this one:

I am just fascinated watching her learn to navigate her pools. I mean, really – most hippopotami I have seen have been on nature shows when they are out in the wild so you don’t see what they are doing under water. Watching her run, bounce, and swim are mesmerizing!

Speaking of the pool, it is Summer after all, so what better way to spend it than at a pool party? That’s what these hummingbirds seem to think in a follow up to my last Weekend postΒ (h/t pet sitter):

I am amazed by this since hummingbirds are so territorial. I have never seen anything like this, have you? Wow!

Finally, since I seem to be on an Animal theme this weekend (gee – shocking – not!), I have to share with you this hilarious video a friend wanted me to see. It absolutely cracked me up. See for yourselves:

Isn’t that just hilarious? I don’t know how the person with the dogs didn’t just crack up laughing, even if it was a daily event.

Sasha!!I should say, I have a soft spot for both sheep and Border Collies. My grandmother had sheep when I was growing up and I got to bottle feed a lamb. I remember the sweet smell of that little lamb still. And we had a Border Collie mix for 16 years (we lost her a few years ago). Such a smart, sweet, loving dog she was, and quite the herder. I don’t think she could have resisted trying to herd this funny sheep with the identity crisis. Heck, she even herded a Lassie-look-alike Collie who lived next door to us in Louisiana. She was quite the dog. I think she would have had some fun with Pet the Lamb.

Anyway, the whole thing just cracked me up. I hope it brought a smile to you as well.

Before I sign off for the Weekend, I wanted to mention that this coming Thursday will find me back under the knife. I will be undergoing cervical fusion of a couple of vertebrae. While I am not thrilled about having more surgery, I am hopeful that the fusion will alleviate some of the pain with which I have been dealing for some time, including frequent headaches and constant neck aches (my excuse for any posts that are not as cohesive as they should be!). Thankfully, the recovery aspect of this surgery is MUCH easier and shorter than it was for my lumbar fusion last summer, so there is that. (And what is it with all these surgeries in the SUMMER, for heaven’s sake?!) Prayers and good thoughts are much appreciated as always. This isn’t my last post before then, just wanted to mention it now while it is on my mind.

So that’s it for me. I hope you have a good weekend wherever you are and whatever you are doing. Feel free to talk about any and everything. This is the Weekend Open Thread. Have at it, friends!

40 Responses to “New Lease on Life, Playing In The “Pool,” And Dogging It *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    I love your weekend posts Rev. Such a change from what we see and hear every day.

    Great to take a break to watch a baby Hippo named Fiona. Who knew I would ever find a hippopotamus cute?

    Loved the lamb that thinks it’s a dog too. How funny was that?

    And the Hummingbirds are just amazing! Thanks so much for this. As you know Lou and I love watching the ones that come to our backyard feeder. He will freak out when he sees this.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Marge – I am glad you find it to be a nice respite.

      Wasn’t Fiona ADORABLE??? Watching how she swims and would push herself up was just so cute. Love that “little” girl!

      Hummingbirds continue to amaze me. I have never, ever seen anything like that before, or that many hummers in one place at one time. Crazy! I hope Lou likes the video!

      And “Pet the Lamb” was just too funny…

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    It’s the weekend so I change from political cartoons to animal ones. I thought this one was hysterical.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      ROTFLMAO – hilarious!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I often wonder if animals find us as amusing as we find them.

        Cats are particularly good at the “what the hell is your problem” look. Whereas dogs have the “where is my lunch look down pat.” As if they were being starved to death.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          That’s a good question – an old friend often said that cats just see us as big, clumsy monkeys – I can see that being the case. That said, I have to be pretty agile to not go flying through the air some times when the cats trip me. But yeah – I think many of them think like this:

          And you are so right abt dogs…

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      ROTFLMAO – that cracked me up. As someone who lives with 4 cats, often it is d: all of the above!

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

  5. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    And while we are on baby animals, a friend had up this piece on a baby elephant throwing a temper tantrum and his mother’s response to it: http://www.sharetap.it/7504/cute-baby-elephant-throws-a-temper-tantrum-in-the-road/

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Baby throws tantrum – mom is having none of it. If only more human moms were this smart.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Wasn’t that too funny to see that baby elephant throw a tantrum? And yes, his mother’s reaction was priceless. Notice how fast he got up after that. Ahahaha…

    • piper Says:

      Perfect example of loving parenting.

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Love it – I thought of you this morning as I watched hummingbirds come to the feeder!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I always look for something “special” for a Sunday Morning Greeting. Once I saw the Hummingbird and the blessing I knew I had found it.

        And FYI, Lou LOVED the Hummingbird Pool Party. He’s watched it 5 or 6 times and each time sees something different. The little hummer in the bottom right hand corner is having a very good bath and if you watch you can see all kinds of colors in his under feathers I never knew were there.

        He said to thank you and that you made his day.

        By the way, we have two very large solar spotlights in our back yard, one on the bird bath, it looks very pretty and one aimed towards that back fence because of neighborhood problem children.

        Well last night Lou was going to go and get the Hummingbird feeders to wash and refill them when because of the spotlight he was able to see a very large skunk.

        He called me, it was 10pm and I was getting ready for bed and as we watched two more skunks joined the first one. They were much smaller so we think must be mom and kiddies. They were romping around in the yard. It was awesome!

        Lou waited a long time before he dared go get the feeders to wash and refill. But that’s okay he’s one of the lizard night people.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          I’m so glad Lou enjoys it so much! I swear – I have never seen anything like it in person, though I’d sure like to do so.

          OHMYGOSH abt the skunks!!! That is so cool, Marge! How neat to have the skunk mom and her babies romping around the yard!

          LOL abt Lou being one of the “lizard people,” thus able to handle the nighttime events. Ahaha!

          Now I need to go look at that video again!

    • piper Says:

      Birds usually wait to sip standing water on the lawn after I leave my glider swing in the evening. Yesterday a small frog and I ran into each other (actually he ran over my bare foot) – scared we then ran off in different directions.
      Not sure why animals (birds, rabbits, frogs, squirrels) love my back yard.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I think they like peaceful yards without kids and dogs running around.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        LOL abt the reaction both you and the frog had to running into each other! That is too funny.

        Marge – I bet you are right abt them liking peaceful yards…

      • piper Says:

        should be ‘screamed’ instead of scared.

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

  8. piper Says:

    Need to keep reducing my time on the web. Too much cultism or is the correct term borgism which is more of the same repeated over and over on web. Either the sites have gone all Trump is the worst thing since sliced bread and poor Hillary was cheated out of turn, Trump is the bestest hugest Titan with a goddess wife, or the never Trumps residing in the GOP community.

    Thank goodness this site is still open to discussing real events and people with added benefits as in cartoons, animal pics/videos and shared life experiences.

    • piper Says:

      One of my fav. sites is now devolving into ‘pillorying’ the age difference between the French President and his wife yet not a word about the age difference between Trump and wife which is roughly the same – 24 years. SMH

      Thank goodness I have Maxine to guide me.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I am in complete agreement. People seem so determined to either hate Trump or love him that it confuses me.

      Why not say “good” Trump when he does or says something good and bad Trump when he doesn’t? It seems perfectly logical to me.

      Yet those that hate or love refuse to accept that some of us are still sane and like or dislike actions no matter who does them.

      A lot of silly, childish behavior from so-called adults IMO.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thank you so much, piper – that means a lot that you feel that way abt this site.

      And you are right, Marge – there is a lot of silly behavior coming from people who should know better.

      I am all for the Good Trump/Bad Trump demarcation. That is something that can be applied to any President (and should be – no one is perfect, after all!).

      Love the Maxine cartoon, piper!

  9. piper Says:

    Amy,
    As you know I believe in both prayers and cartoons to heal after surgery or any illness. Sending both to you this week and during recovery.

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    When they discover the center of the Universe a lot of people will be surprised that they aren’t it.

  11. piper Says:

    Talking about new leases on life – had cataract surgery in both eyes and found that dime store readers work for me. Although I will still have to wear glasses for driving, my vision has greatly improved in clarity and brightness. Only problem finding another reason for writing errors. LOL

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      That is fantastic news, piper! So happy for you that the cataract surgery has given you such a new lease on seeing! And hey, being able to use the dime store readers instead is a great thing in and of itself.

      LOL abt the writing errors…

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      So glad to hear the surgery helped you so much.

      Some of my writing errors are caused because I am in too big a hurry to “say” something and don’t re-read what I wrote. Why I don’t see them until I post them is a complete mystery to me.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        LOL – I’m the same way. The second I hit “enter,” they become glaringly obvious!

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

  13. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I’ve had a couple of people send this to me, and I have to share it with you:

    Funny, right? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

