Song, Dance, And Kicking Back *Weekend Open Thread*

by

Here we are, at the Weekend again. I am really hoping that by the time this goes up, North Korea won’t have bombed Guam. And hopefully, we won’t be entering WWIII with a raving lunatic who has nuclear weapons capable of being put in missiles that we know can reach us.

And I’m sorry, but – how is it that the Washington Post found this out before our INTELLIGENCE OFFICERS??? I mean, really, isn’t that what those people are paid with OUR tax dollars to know??? WTH? Sheesh!

Ahem. Sorry. Weekend Open Thread, breathe, breathe, breathe…Better.

Okay, now that my blood pressure is back down, oh, do I have some wonderful things to share with you. I hope you will like them, and that they will help lower your blood pressure, too.

Recently, my sister and I are big fans of Celtic Woman. One of the pieces they perform is “You Lift Me Up.” My sister sent me the following version of it this week. I think you’ll like it:

How wonderful was that for the bride to give this song to her groom? And getting her father in on it, even though it was clearly hard for him, was really sweet. The whole production must have taken a LOT of time to plan, rehearse, and make sure it was perfect. And it was. What a wonderful way to begin a wedding ceremony!

Then there is the dance portion of this Weekend Post. Oh, my, is this something special. You will probably want to watch it more than once. I know I did. Here it is (h/t Facebook friend):

Wasn’t that something? Talk about needing to breathe! I realized I was holding my breath occasionally at some of the moves these two performed. Stunning. Just stunning. The abilities of the human body never cease to amaze me…

Since it is the weekend and time to kick back a bit, I have to share the most ADORABLE video with you from a site I “liked” on Facebook. It is a place in Alaska called Gwin’s Lodge, a retreat for those who like to fish. They are no strangers to bears up in that neck of the woods, and this video they shared was just too too cute. Prepare to oooohhh, ahhh, and laugh a little:

How absolutely PRECIOUS was that? Now, I know that wild bears are EXTREMELY dangerous, and can main or kill in an instant. But still, this little baby bear is so cute, as is the dog cuddling it, that I can’t help but want to pet that little thing! At least that little one is likely a bit tame, so there is that. And who am I kidding – I want to pet them BOTH!

But hey, there is no danger of me running into a bear anytime soon, though. Why? Because as of Saturday, I am down in Grand Cayman for a couple of weeks. What a great way to continue my recovery from my most recent surgery, as well as being ย a last hurrah before my shoulder surgery in September (sigh). I will be around some, and I have no doubt dear Marge will continue with her outstanding posts in my absence when the Spirit moves. While there may be large iguanas, including blue ones, dogs, lots of chickens, and all kinds of amazing sea life, there are no bears here. So no worries there!

I hope you are having a good August weekend too. Hard to believe that Summer is beginning to fade, and kids are already starting back to school (so EARLY – what’s that about, I ask you?!). But Summer it still is, at least for a little bit longer. I hope you are kicking back and enjoying it your own selves…

That’s it for me. This is your Weekend Open Thread. While I breathe in the fresh Caribbean Sea air, I hope you have a song in your heart, and a little dance in your step. Feel free to discuss whatever is on your minds, be it a song, or dance, or whatever else it is. Have at it!

Tags: , ,

30 Responses to “Song, Dance, And Kicking Back *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    By now you are in Grand Cayman and should be resting and healing. No cleaning or working or anything that doesn’t help you heal.

    Try dear friend to heal from this so you’re ready for the next step in September. Another surgery – when it is said that God won’t give us more than we can endure I don’t think it was meant as a challenge.

    I love these weekend threads when we sit back, look around and realize that no matter how hysterical the media and the politicians are, life is, for the most part, good.

    Which is why I start each day, after I wake up and realize I’m still alive and kicking, with this:

    Then I enjoy and take pleasure in song, dance and all the wonderful animals that we share this remarkable planet with.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      ROTFLMAO- you totally cracked me up when I read your comment while sitting in the Miami airport (we were up and at ’em by 4:00 EST this morning for an early flight). I read it to Suzy and it cracked her up, too.

      The plan is definitely to rest, relax, and heal.

      Glad you liked the post. I am more than happy to provide a reminder that even though the MSM and politicians may be crazy, there is lots at which to marvel, laugh, and enjoy in this beautiful world…

      Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      And there ya have it!

      While bears may be afraid of people, I am not sure just HOW afraid bears are of people. Just the other night on “Alaskan Bush People,” one of the sons was scaring off a bear and said they try not to fire off shots to scare them because they figure out you aren’t actually going to use it on them and they will start coming back into your territory.

      Yikes.

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    I found this interesting.

    Reconsidering persistent human illusions

    By Rabbi Hillel Goldberg
    I heard a recent pitch on the radio that urged people to make a real impact on carbon emissions. We could all save the planet, the radio advertisement said, by not taking plane trips, not driving a car, eating a plant-based diet and not having a lot of children.

    In theory, the part of about no car and no plane trips is great, but I don’t think anyone can live that way these days. Even people without cars do not reach zero carbon because they use other forms of public transportation. Plant-based diet? Mostly fine with me. I reserve eating meat for the Sabbath.

    Aye, but here’s the rub: Do not have a lot of children. Needless to say, if we all stopped having children, the carbon crisis would disappear. No people, no carbon. Whoever dies with the most fonts wins.

    Nihilism has moved into center stage in our culture. This is not a factor of Trump or Obama, of Republicans or Democrats. To be sure, the spread of suicide bombings in other cultures has, to a degree, routinzed the negative take on life. But even if suicide bombings had never begun, we would still be just where we are, witnessing the routinized devaluation of human life. Fewer people, fewer carbons.

    http://www.jewishworldreview.com/hillel/goldberg_persistent_human_illusions.php3#Q4gZlzpd4qKYw5Ih.99

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I saw something recently abt the not having children thing and how it would save the planet. People seem to forget that the guy who preached all of that a while back claiming all kinds of disasters would befall the planet if people didn’t stop has been proving, like Al Gore, to be a big huge fraud. I guess that hasn’t stopped anyone from preaching that Nihilism though.

      Thanks for this!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Aha, you mention Al Gore and I have a good cartoon for that… Well actually Glenn McCoy had a good cartoon. I love the way this man draws his cartoons.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          But of course you do! And a good one, to boot!

          I can’t remember which article I was reading – Daily Wire, most likely – and Gore said recently that he WON FL. Um, no, if he HAD, he would have been President…

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    For Suzy

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      ROTFL – that is too funny!

      Btw, we have made it safe and sound to our “home away from home” safe and sound!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Glad to hear all is well. Now rest and relax and have a good time. Ya hear? ๐Ÿ˜‰

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Thank you! The good thing abt not being at my home is that I have far fewer daily chores here than I do there. That alone will increase the rest factor! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    โ€˜Guardian Angelโ€™ Airline Worker Goes WAY Above and Beyond to Deliver Lost Bag

    These days, customers donโ€™t expect much from airlines, especially in the realm of customer service. But one Southwest Airlines worker is being hailed as a guardian angel after she went the extra mile for a passenger in need.

    When cancer patient Stacy Hurt learned that her luggage was missing after a recent flight, she โ€œsort of panicked,โ€ since it contained several items that she needed for a chemotherapy session.

    http://www.faithwire.com/2017/08/11/guardian-angel-airline-worker-goes-way-above-and-beyond-to-deliver-lost-bag/

    It’s so nice to know there are good, kind, decent people among us. And yes, some of them work for the airlines. We hear all the bad stories, but there are many good ones too. โœˆ๏ธ

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Isn’t that wonderful news? Thank heavens for people like that.

      Btw, we were talking for some time to the flight attendant on our Miami to Grand Cayman leg yesterday. She has been a flight attendant for 21 years. They have to buy their own uniforms, constantly do Continuing Ed, and all kinds of stuff. But this is the point I wanted to make. Wanna guess how much an hour this veteran flight attendant, who has to deal with people all the time in a potentially dangerous profession gets paid an hour? $16. Yes, you read that right – SIXTEEN dollars.

      I bet these flight attendants who see unskilled, largely under-educated people screaming for $15 an hour to flip burgers get pretty pissed off abt it considering what they get paid.

      WOW.

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Omigosh! I thought they made waaay more than that. And they should.

        As for those fools who think unskilled work is worth $15…

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          I know, right? Think abt that when you hear of them having to deal with these belligerent, entitled, drunk passengers, or even worse, those who wish to do harm.

          Not only do they constantly have to study for their jobs, and I do mean constantly, as well as buy their uniforms from the company, they have to buy their luggage from the company, too. They have a suitcase JUST for their study materials. It is astonishing.

          I do not know how you do it with these CARTOONS!

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      It was a sad day losing Campbell. What an iconic artist he was…

      And how wonderful that his wife, in her time of grief, is offering such comfort to others? That says a whole lo abt her. What a gift to those who are family, friends, and caretakers of those with Alzheimers,,,

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    A portrait of real manhood

    By Steve Deace

    Our coarsening culture got a rare dose of grace and perspective last weekend, when one of the heroes of American escapism โ€” professional football โ€” set himself apart and gave thanks to a peer who chose friendship over victimhood.

    https://www.conservativereview.com/articles/a-portrait-of-real-manhood

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Kurt Warner is a class act. He always has been. This just goes to show how much that is ingrained in him, along with his deep, deep faith.

      And it says a LOT abt Trent Green and what kind of man, person, he is. He absolutely could have played the “woe is me” card, but instead was the ULTIMATE team player. Wow. Really impressive.

  9. kenoshamarge Says:

  10. kenoshamarge Says:

  11. kenoshamarge Says:

  12. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    What happened in Charlottesville over the weekend was terrible, especially given a life was lost and others injured. But there was only one group who had a permit to be there, and another group that has been ratcheting up its violence for some time without ever being called on it, as this Federalist article highlights: http://thefederalist.com/2017/08/14/white-supremacists-not-thugs-tearing-charlottesville

    William Jacobson at Legal Insurrection also had a great post on this topic: http://legalinsurrection.com/2017/08/charlottesville/

    And one of Marge’s favorite cartoonists had this excellent cartoon today:

Leave a Reply

