Thursday of Holy Week

by

What Is Maundy Thursday?

Good Friday, we know. And Easter (Resurrection Sunday) most certainly. But what is Maundy Thursday?

It is the Thursday before Easter, the day when Jesus celebrated his final Passover with His disciples.

The Last Supper is a mural painting by the Italian High Renaissance artist Leonardo da Vinci, dated to c. 1495–1498, housed in the refectory of the Convent of Santa Maria delle Grazie in Milan, Italy.

Leonardo da Vinci’s Last Supper took 3 years to complete.

Close up of Da Vinci’s masterpiece.

The Duke of Milan commissioned the Last Supper in 1494 to place in their family mausoleum.

The Last Supper has been reproduced many times, but the original size measures 15ft. x 29 ft.

There have been 7 attempts to restore The Last Supper.

There were 12 Apostles in the Last Supper.

The Last Supper portrays Jesus and His apostles at a table. The painting featured his 12 apostles: Bartholomew, James the Lesser, Andrew, Peter, Judas Iscariot, John, Thomas, James the Greater, Philip, Matthew, Jude, and Simon.

What Was the New Commandment Given on Maundy Thursday?

Well, for one thing, it raised the definition of love to a new and higher standard. Jesus sacrificially met His followers’ deepest need—that of new spiritual life and the forgiveness of sins. He even loved His enemies, and He calls us to show love to those who don’t appear to deserve it. Just as Jesus loved sinners “to the end” (or “to the max” John 13:1) when He had nothing to gain from them, so must we.

The Bible says that there was nothing attractive about sinful mankind that drew Him to love us. God loved us while we were yet sinners (Romans 5:8). Salvation is not only a wonderful gift that protects us from the penalty that we deserve Romans 6:23 , the work of Christ also embues new life, grants spiritual strength, and motivates godly action in those who believe.

All information about The Last supper, the mural and other art work of the last supper or anything else you want to talk about. I just have always been fascinated by the mural.

This is an open thread.

16 Responses to “Thursday of Holy Week”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:
    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Very sad for his family to lose him this way. But what an impact this man made during his career and as a pundit after he left the Senate. May he RIP, and may his family be comforted…

      Btw, Dan Bongino’s mother died at the age of 71 after falling down the stairs 2 weeks ago. Terrible…

  2. kenoshamarge Says:

    Hard Times for the Professional Never Trump Losers

    By Kurt Schlichter

    These are hard times for the professional Never Trumpers. Donald Trump is winning this election, they’re not getting the attention they used to, and inflation has made pool boy rates simply outrageous. Those poll numbers showing Trump leading across the country have to be understood as a total repudiation of these jerks, because they are. There are a lot of reasons to want to see Trump win, but in the Top Five is seeing these goofs cry.

    https://townhall.com/columnists/kurtschlichter/2024/03/28/hard-times-for-the-professional-never-trump-losers-n2637011

  3. kenoshamarge Says:
  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Barrington (RI) Veterans Council Resigns In Protest Of Town Flying BLM Flag Over Veterans Memorial

    https://legalinsurrection.com/2024/03/barrington-ri-veterans-council-resigns-in-protest-of-town-flying-blm-flag-over-veterans-memorial/

  5. kenoshamarge Says:
    • kenoshamarge Says:

      We spend billions in other countries and on the illegal aliens that invade our country.

      Meanwhile our roads and bridges rot. And our veterans suffer from lack of care that should be our first concern.

      We are a country at war with itself.

  6. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Godtube’s daily devotional today was about Maundy Thursday and the mandate, the commandment, to be a servant. Here is the prayer at the end of the devotional by Megan Evans:

    Let’s pray:

    Dear Lord, I am not worthy to be washed clean by you. Yet, as my King, you took the role of humble servant when you took my place on the cross. Teach me your love for others. Lead me to serve humbly. On this particular day that we call “Maundy Thursday,” teach me your mandate to love one another as you love me. It doesn’t always come naturally to me. Lord, you know that person I struggle to love today and those areas of service I tend to avoid. You know how stingy I can be with my time, money, and things. Help me to notice and listen to people this week and respond with Christ-like love and generosity. Make me aware of the needs in my church and community and stir my heart to act. With the love you have shown me, teach me to love others with a servant’s heart like yours. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

    Link: https://www.godtube.com/devotionals/your-daily-prayer/a-prayer-to-humbly-serve-this-maundy-thursday.html

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Wonderful prayer.

      I always feel “unworthy” and am amazed at the love and forgiveness that God blesses me with.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        I am glad that you liked it, Marge.

        And I know what you mean! I was so struck yesterday while listening to Dr. Mary C. Neal talk about how God loves, deeply, completely, loves each and every one of us, all the billions on earth, and treats each one as if they’re the only one in the room. Wow. How does one wrap one’s head around THAT one?!

  7. kenoshamarge Says:
    • kenoshamarge Says:

      This Lisa Benson cartoon is, IMO, the best cartoon on this subject I’ve seen. It actually made me LOL.

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    My mother’s favorite hymn. I always think of her more at Easter than any other time. She’s been gone over 50 years and I miss her still.

    Be sure to watch the song after Josh Grobin – it had me in tears.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Just beautiful. It’s a wonderful hymn, and Groban has a gorgeous voice. Thanks for this!

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        It was the little 13 year old boy, Jeffry Li singing the same hymn that had me in tears. I like Groban but Jeffry Li on “America’s Go Talent” blew me away.

Leave a comment