More Trump Convention 2016 *Open Thread*

by

 

I would think that the RNC is hoping desperately that day two of the Convention will end up better than day one. Day one was a bit of a disaster. Not unexpected of a Trump Convention. Can’t you just picture Trump behind the scenes yelling you’re fired at someone? Maybe Melania?

Day one was a total lack of unity, a lot of thuggery, and for dessert there was plagiarism. Not exactly the start they wanted. Many members of the Republican Party are doing a spin worthy of a prima ballerina for the Potted Plant Public that won’t have a clue what has ensued. There’s unity donchaknow!

While everyone was engaged in talking about Melania’s plagiarism there wasn’t much news about the thuggery engaged in by the RNC. Trump may have approved of it, he may have cheered it on but it was the doing of Priebus and the RNC beyond all doubt in my mind. Trump has proved over and over again that he and his campaign haven’t the competence to organize and plan something like this. Ham handed it may have been but it wasn’t his ham hands. Because make no mistake about it – it worked. The RNC made damn sure that all the power stayed in their hands. But  hey, let’s just talk about Melania.

I listened to Glenn Beck spend most of his show talking about her and saying little or nothing about anything else. Did the RNC deliberately sacrifice Melania to see to it that little media was spent on their perfidity? Or am I just being  crazy-coo-coo conspiracy again?

Lisa Benson

Trumpanzees may have a hint of something untoward going on but it’s all Ted Cruz’s fault for not endorsing the great God Donald. Melania’s plagiarism problem is the fault of the media and the misogynists. Or something. Many of the explanations are as incomprehensible as Mr. and Mrs. Trump. Trump may be disdainful of Hillary playing the victim card but probably not so much with Melania. Unless as I suggested he fires her for plagiarism.

I didn’t watch the dang thing, I am not nearly masochistic enough for that, but I watched bits and pieces online.

I heard part of Joni Ernst’s speech and it wasn’t too bad. Especially since by all accounts she was speaking to an nearly empty arena. I used to think I liked her. I certainly respect her service.

Sheriff Clark was great as always – funny the best speech and reception of a speech thus far was from a Democrat. Is that ironic or what?

One thing I haven’t been able to wrap my head around is the Prayer that opened the Convention. I’ve never seen anything like it.

The opening prayer at the convention today was given by a fiery, bombastic, narrow minded man named Mark Burns of South Carolina. https://youtu.be/BSeYfchDezc

I found this “prayer” offensive on so many levels I can’t even express them all. Watch as much as you can stand and see what you think.  I wasn’t alone in my disgust with “Paster” Mark Burns: Why Mark Burns’ RNC Benediction Was Terrible  If this is what Christianity has devolved to in the GOP then I am no Christian.

But that was day one, let’s talk about day two – although you have to admit it will be difficult to beat that.

Jonah Goldberg had an interesting take on this Convention and conventions in general. But then Jonah is always interesting. GOP Convention Has Become a Stomach-Churning Affair    He’s interesting and he has a way of explaining things we see but can’t quite understand or identify. This article was no exception. But I am admittedly an unabashed Jonah Goldberg fan.

Much of day two was a snooze fest. How can that be with luminaries like Scott Baio and former soap opera star Antonio Sabato Jr. you ask.  Better you ask most people who the hell are Scott Baio and former soap opera star Antonio Sabato Jr.  Then ask why do we give a rat’s hind quarter what they have to say about anything?

Didn’t Trump promise a star-studded extravaganza? As Jonah Goldberg pointed out even Boring Mitt had Clint Eastwood.

Rumor has it that Donald Trump Jr. gave a great speech. You’ll have to judge for yourself because quite honestly the thought of there being another Donald Trump sends me to the medicine cabinet for the Pepto Bismol. ( There was a time when I thought Pepto Bismol was only for children young enough to bully into taking it, as I was, and old codgers. Nice to know I was right about something.)

Anyway, about Trump the disgusting DNA continues: A GOP star is born? Donald Trump Jr. rocks the RNC. I would pay no attention except the post is from the Conservative Review and they are usually right up my alley. Oh well…

Most important of all, Republican Party Officially Nominates Trump which pretty much ends my association with the Republican Party. And I wonder how any person with integrity, and I am talking to all the members of the party who have been elected by us to represent us can seriously stay in the party.

The above cartoon is from a liberal cartoonist that I despise. His cartoons are usually as dishonest as any liberal politician or activist. This time – I think he nailed it.

What did you see or hear yesterday that you found of interest of disgust or maybe even a ray of hope? Because we could sure use some of the last item. I could anyway, I seem to be fresh out.

32 Responses to “More Trump Convention 2016 *Open Thread*”

  1. piper Says:

    Thanks Marge for writing about the disaster. I left the Dem. Party and became an independent thinking that somehow having more Republicans in Congress and WH would redress some of the mischief emanating from the dems. Sadly America was shown the door and told to lump it or leave. In all good conscience I refuse to vote for either ‘crazed’ criminal and I’m with you on Paul Ryan who wept tears about drumpf yet caved when the going get rough, and now wants UNITY. So my message to Paul, suck it up buttercup and although you may win your district this year I hope you have to work extremely hard for each vote b/c you lost my vote forever. BTW – why a yuuuuge / tall fence around your home in Janesville?

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Agree with every word you wrote piper. I have to admit I’m hitting the Pepto hard to enable me to write about this crap.

      • piper Says:

        Pepto is good stuff but I’m looking at an evening cocktail. The republicans are another disappointment just like the democrats. Watching the fiasco from Thad Cochran reelection to this debacle has soured me and many other loyal people. In all my biking travels around the state, I have only seen one drumpf sign.

  2. piper Says:

    Today I’m starting my new routine – one hour of internet in AM and another in the evening.

  3. piper Says:

    Meanwhile insanity prevails in our state. Richfield’s neighbors call police on topless neighbor mowing her lawn. Drunk in the AM.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I wear a long sleeve white cotton shirt and a floppy sun hat when mowing the lawn in hot weather. Ain’t enough SPF to keep me from getting sun burned when it’s this hot.

      However just the thought of where drunken mower would get burned makes me cringe.

      I quit drinking when I quit smoking because I knew myself well enough to know that the first would lead to doing the second again.

      But right now a drink sounds very tempting.

  4. piper Says:

    Last one for now

  5. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Excellent article. I am ashamed that the man who gave that horrendous speech is from SC. But it pales in comparison to the prayer to ALLAH that went on last night. Steve Deace &Co. talk abt it extensively: http://stevedeaceshow.crtv.libsynpro.com

    Meanwhile, Tony Schwartz, Trump’s ghostwriter, is NOW coming out revealing what an absolute SOCIOPATH Trump is. WHERE THE HELL WAS HE SIX MONTHS AGO??? From Townhall: http://townhall.com/tipsheet/leahbarkoukis/2016/07/19/trumps-ghostwriter-if-i-were-writing-art-of-the-deal-today-itd-be-called-the-sociopath-n2194365

    Too late now, you jackass.

    I’m with y’all – I left the Dem. Party 8 yrs ago, and hoped the Reps would so what they said they would do. Turns out they are just as corrupt and as big a liars who will sell their soul to the Devil in a heartbeat as Dems. Now where do we go??

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      The sooner the decent people who fled from both corrupt parties start to form a party that generally does care about the party and the people. Can they form something perfect? No because it will be made up of people, who are never perfect, and politicians who are even less so.

      But if no one ever tries it won’t get done. And if they don’t try soon it cannot get done in time. It will take a minimum of 20 years for a viable party to be formed. I won’t live to see it come to fruition – but I would love so much to see the beginning.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        I would too, Marge. Something has to give, and right now it is our nation. We cannot allow that to happen…

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Steve Deace was on fire last night. Evidently he lit up FaceBook and Twitter too.

    Steve Deace on Facebook:

    If you persist in the fallacy of the lesser of two evils for too long you eventually will devolve into the evils of two lessors.

    I hope every last one of you Trump Cultists choked on that prayer to Allah. And stick your nationalist idolatry where the sun don’t shine.

    Yesterday a Muslim prayer. Today a Goldman Sachs exec for treasury secretary.

    Again, you are being conned. It was a con all along. This isn’t a revolution. This is just the same thing you’ve always been against, but with more cowbell.

    The Gollums have their precious. The mob has its Barabbas. I hope it turns out to be everything you hoped it would be.

    No Republican has ever won the White House without Ohio. No Republican has won the White House without Virginia since before Reconstruction. Only once in the last 40 years has anyone won the White House without Colorado. All delegates/state parties the RNC/Trump have dropped a deuce on this week.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      He was AWESOME, wasn”t he? I cannot WAIT to hear if he discusses this latest bombshell: http://www.dailywire.com/news/7638/ha-ha-suckers-trump-offered-kasich-vp-slot-control-hank-berrien

      According to The New York Times, in May, Donald Trump Jr. contacted a senior adviser to Gov. John Kasich of Ohio, who had left the presidential race but not before asserting in March that Trump was “really not prepared to be president of the United States.” Donald Jr. asked the advisor if Kasich would consider being the most powerful vice president in history.

      Asked to explain exactly what he meant by that, Trump Jr. gave an astonishing answer: Kasich as vice-president, would run domestic and foreign policy. Stunned by the answer, the advisor queried what was left for Trump to do as president.

      Trump Jr. offered a profound and meaningful reply: that his father’s job would be “Making America great again.”

      Yep, Trump wanted Kasich to do all of the heavy policy lifting for him. Now I understand why he wanted to trash him the other night, though calling into Fox while at Smith was talking was just further evidence of what an egotist he is.

      As for that prayer – WOW. At the RNC. Yep, there is no longer ANY difference whatsoever between the two parties. You may recall the Dems had an Imam at THEIR convention last time around…

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        I listen to Deace on politics although I cannot agree with him 100% on social issues. But I don’t agree 100% with anyone. I do love listening to him and never miss. Thank goodness for podcasts or I wouldn’t be able to listen.

        I thought that the most profound remark from yesterday was made by his young sidekick/producer Aaron. You could just hear the disgust in this young man’s voice. He said whole GOP behavior reminded him of the Simon and Garfunkel song “The Sounds of Silence” particularly the part where the lyric said “and the people bowed and prayed to the neon God they made.

        That has stuck with me all day. It seemed to come straight from Aaron’s heart and it said about all you can say about the Trumpanzees to me. Because it seems to me more and more people are bowing and praying to some Neon God and not to God.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          Right there with you – I don’t agree with Deace on social issues either, but his personal and direct experience in politics, like the discussion on polling, was interesting.

          That Aaron is something else, isn’t it? And he is so right…

          • kenoshamarge Says:

            I love Aaron! What a fine young man his parents raised. He knows so much at his age, I think he’s 23 so just imagine what he will be like in another 20 years. And especially with Deace as a tutor because Steve’s knowledge and insider knowledge is monumental. And I like how he explains things. I’ve learned a lot in the few months I’ve been listening.

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    Waiting for Some Word From Feminists on This

    A woman and her three daughters have been stabbed in a French resort for being ‘scantily dressed’.

    An eight-year-old girl was left fighting for her life after the attack in the Garde-Colombe in the Hautes-Alpes region of Southern France.

    The man is believed to have attacked the three girls outside the family’s apartment before entering the building and attacking the mother.

    Jean-Marc Duprat, a deputy mayor for the town of Laragne-Monteglin in the Hautes-Alpes region said the suspect, who is not related to them, was upset they were wearing shorts and T-shirts.

    http://moonbattery.com/?p=74527

    Maybe the Muslim Prayer at the end of the Republican Convention on Tuesday night could have included a prayer for all the girls and women injured and murdered in the name of his “peaceful” religion.

    It is beyond disgusting to me that Republicans would have this man “pray” at their convention. I thought only liberals were that deluded and evil.

    I am usually a live and let live kind of person when it comes to people and their religion. When will everyone wake up and realize that Islam by it’s very teaching will not grant us the right to practice ours? They just won’t.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, yeah – I am SO sure that will happen. Ahaha.

      Still cannot believe Reps were bowing their heads to Muhammad last night. Seriously. Deace is right – they are cultists through and through…

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

  9. piper Says:

    Convenient – Melania who claims she wrote her own speech over a 6 to 8 week period – a lie as a speechwriter who ghost wrote one of Trump’s book has fallen on hew sword revealing that she made a mistake copying parts of Michelle O’s speech in 2008.

    http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2016/07/20/melania-trump-speechwriter-admits-mistake-in-lifting-michelle-obama-lines.html

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Is Manafort still claiming it isn’t plagiarism? They could have solved this so easily right from the beginning just by claiming she is a poor little immigrant and didn’t realize she was doing anything wrong. It would have been a one day wonder. They did the same thing with Lewandowski and Michelle Fields. Just apologize and move on.

      It seems the megalomaniac simply cannot admit to any wrong doing of any kind. Then when he has to it’s been in the news for days. Stupid.

  10. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Marge and Patsy, did you see the GOP is hanging your Senator out to dry? Oh, yeah: http://thehill.com/blogs/ballot-box/senate-races/288558-republican-groups-back-away-from-sen-johnson

    • piper Says:

      Yes I did but I think the real reason is lack of money as many donors are refusing to contribute to the GOP because of the Trump debacle. Why donate to losers when they can see the tsunami rushing in destroying the Republican Party for many years. More and more people who have voted Republican for many years are now sharing they’ll sit this out as in good conscience can’t vote for a bombastic criminal with a big mouth – yuuuuuge hype but no real plans.

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Johnson caused his own problems when he said something about supporting whoever was the nominee. Many took that as an endorsement of Trump. Under other circumstances I might have too – but Johnson is running against Russ Feingold. I may not cast another vote in November, although I probably will vote for Gary Johnson but I sure as hell need to vote against Feingold or my conscience won’t let me sleep at night.

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        Piper, that makes a lot of sense. I knew that the RNC was having problems with donors, so yeah – if Johnson looks like he is losing, why pour money into a sinking ship. On the other hand, maybe if they SUPPORTED him, he would stand a chance against Feingold.

        And Marge, I totally hear you. I completely understand voting for Johnson. I mean, really – if nothing else the man who was able to get under Clinton’s skin by asking a reasonable direct question that gave us her infamous quip deserves some support.

        Thanks for y’all’s Inside Wisconsin perspective!

  11. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Seems Trump is a WHOLE lot like Bill Clinton. No wonder they are friends. And yeah, as Barbara Bush said, how any woman could vote for Trump is beyond her – me, too: https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/jul/20/donald-trump-sexual-assault-allegations-jill-harth-interview

  12. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    This is an excellent summation of why people like some of us here will not vote for Trump (via TheRightScoop.com):

  13. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Sen. Cruz did NOT endorse Trump, instead telling people to, “vote your conscience”: http://thehill.com/blogs/ballot-box/presidential-races/288607-no-trump-endorsement-from-cruz-who-tells-gop-vote-your

Leave a comment