“Give Me That Old Time Religion, Bread Of Life, And Miracles *Weekend Open Thread

by

This weekend we continue in the Easter season. And really, shouldn’t it ALWAYS be Easter season? Well, except Christmas and Lent – but even then it’s Easter because of the Resurrection!

Anyway, as I was trying to say before I interrupted myself (happens more than you can imagine), I have been listening to a series on the Hallow app about the Early Christians. It’s been a fascinating series as we look back at what it was like for Christians in the first and second centuries.

One story in particular really grabbed me. Talk about “that old school religion,” Justin Martyr described what the church service was like for early Christians:

‘On the day called Sunday, all who live in cities or in the country gather together to one place, and the memoirs of the apostles or the writings of the prophets are read, as long as time permits; then when the reader has ceased, the president verbally instructs, and exhorts to the imitation of these good things. Then we all rise together and pray, and, as we before said, when our prayer is ended, bread and wine and water are brought, and the president in like manner offers prayers and thanksgivings, according to his ability, and the people assent, saying Amen; and there is a distribution to each, and a participation of that over which thanks have been given, and to those who are absent a portion is sent by the deacons. And they who are well to do, and willing, give what each thinks fit; and what is collected is deposited with the president, who succors [give assistance to] the orphans and widows, and those who, through sickness or any other cause are in want, and those who are in bonds, and the strangers sojourning among us, and in a word takes care of all who are in need. But Sunday is the day on which we all hold our common assembly, because it is the first day on which God, having wrought a change in the darkness and matter, made the world; and Jesus Christ our Savior on the same day rose from the dead.’

For those of us who are of the Anglican and Catholic faiths, that sounds like, well, CHURCH! I mean, come on – this is just astonishing, is it not, that our services are very much like church services for the earliest of Christians. I find that just fascinating, and powerful, that we harken back so closely to our brothers and sisters from two thousand years ago. Now, THAT’S some “old time religion”:

Well, I can tell you, I love this toe-tappin’ rendition from the incomparable Dolly Parton. The bass singer was pretty awesome, too!

One of the most important aspects of the early church service from Justin Martyr was the celebration of the Eucharist. I grew up a high church Episcopalian, “smells and bells” (meaning incense and ringing small bells at different parts of the Eucharist), with a perpetual candle symbolizing a consecrated host was present. Episcopalians believe in consubstantiation, meaning the bread and wine is like the body and blood of Jesus. Catholics believe (and correct me if I am wrong) that the bread and wine IS the body and blood of Christ. Some other denominations routinely celebrate the Eucharist, but as this article highlights, it is purely symbolic. It’s important, of course, but is not like or is not the actual body and blood of Christ.

But in all those denominations that celebrate Communion or the Eucharist, it is important to their walk with God.

Given what Jesus said about Himself and what He is, I would say that the Eucharist is mighty important. Like what He said in the Gospel of John, a beautifully written Gospel the wording of which often brings me to tears. Like this from John 6:35-40:

35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. 36 But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe. 37 All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away. 38 For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me. 39 And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all those he has given me, but raise them up at the last day. 40 For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.”

This passage has so much packed into 5 verses, does it not? It is heavy on the One who sent Jesus. Wow, wow, wow. But the verse 40 sums it up: if you believe in the Son, you will have eternal life with Him, the Spirit, and the Father.

Let that sink in.

Of course, there is what is written of the Eucharist itself. Like in Matthew 26: 26-27:

26 While they were eating, Jesus took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take and eat; this is my body.”

27 Then he took a cup, and when he had given thanks, he gave it to them, saying, “Drink from it, all of you. 28 This is my blood of the[a] covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. 29 I tell you, I will not drink from this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father’s kingdom.”

Once again, we are guaranteed life with Jesus and His father in Their kingdom. If we uphold this covenant which forgives our sins. That is, the Eucharist. It is mighty important, to put it mildly.

And it is precisely about the Eucharist, the bread transformed into the Body, and Jesus proclaiming that He is the Bread of Life, that leads to the miracle portion of this weekend post. There have been a NUMBER of miracles related to the consecrated wafer-turned-to-living-flesh. No, seriously. For real. A number of them. But check out this incredible miracle from June of 2000 that happened in Rome, Italy. Yes, this miracle occurred just 24 years ago. This is astonishing:

When tests have been done by scientists on hosts that turn into flesh, they are from the heart muscle. Yeah. let THAT sink in. Oh, and the blood type? The rarest kind: AB Positive.

If you remember your biology class, AB+ is also the universal donor blood type. Only 3% of the population has this type of blood. And it’s the kind Jesus had. Of course.

I must admit, the scientific confirmation of the numerous miracles around the host and/or other consecrated wafers is hard to deny.

And my point? God is real. Jesus is real, and He walked this earth giving up His life to save ours. When we participate in the Eucharist, in the command Jesus gave us to do to remember Him, we are being given a gift that has no equal on this Earth. We serve a living God, and if we believe Him to be the Bread of Life, the Redeemer of the world, we are punching our ticket to Heavens, friends.

I’m on board. How about you?

Feel free to share whatever comments you may have below.

This is the Weekend Open Thread.

Tags: , , , , , ,

28 Responses to ““Give Me That Old Time Religion, Bread Of Life, And Miracles *Weekend Open Thread”

  1. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    The Left has been revealed in yet another stunning way. The Governor of New Mexico is mad – MAD – at the Border Patrol. Why? THEY’RE STOPPING DRUGS FROM COMING INTO THE COUNTRY:

    https://redstate.com/bonchie/2024/04/26/new-secret-recording-shows-what-democrat-governor-really-thinks-of-joe-bidens-border-policies-n2173389

  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Tulsi Gabbard is so courageous:

  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    I love this post, and especially loved Dolly and that great old hymn. A toe-tapper indeed.

    I find it amazing that the CHURCH as we know it has stayed the same for over 2000 years. I happen to think, and this just my opinion, that the further we get from the fundamentals the further we get from God.

    To me all you have to do is look at is the Pharisees among the Jews of Jesus’s time to see what happens when the Elites and Experts get their way. (The same thing happens in our Government.)

    Many parts of the bible speak to me – especially Psalms in the old Testament and Luke in the new. And I believe that God is love. With all the ugliness that seems to surround us it is so comforting to believe in God and his love and that Jesus suffered and died for our sins.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so very much, Marge! I appreciate that.

      Excellent commentary about the times of Jesus and Scriptures. I love the Psalms, too. Just amazing.

      And I am so glad you liked the Dolly Parton version. Isn’t she something?

      We’re at the movies so more later!

  4. kenoshamarge Says:

    Jeremiah 17:9 tells us ,

    “The human heart is the most deceitful of all things, and desperately wicked. Who really knows how bad it is?”

    In a world subscribing more to humanism than Christianity, we hear a lot about how the self is superior to anything spiritual or divine. Humanism chiefly believes that humans are, at the core, good.

    Christians believe that humans are sinful, but God makes us clean. This is through the death and resurrection of Jesus, who defeated death and sin and was punished in our place.

  5. kenoshamarge Says:

  6. kenoshamarge Says:

  7. kenoshamarge Says:

    This was my mother’s favorite hymn. When I took the time to read the lyrics, not just sing them I understood why.

    [Verse]
    When I am down
    And, oh, my soul, so weary
    When troubles come
    And my heart burdened be
    Then, I am still and wait here
    In the silence
    Until you come
    And sit awhile with me

    [Chorus]
    You raise me up
    So I can stand on mountains
    You raise me up
    To walk on stormy seas
    I am strong
    When I am on your shoulders
    You raise me up
    To more than I can be

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I LOVE this version, Marge. He has such a beautiful voice and sings this so well. Thank you!

  8. kenoshamarge Says:

    Have You Ever Heard Any Current Politician Use the Word ‘Virtue’?

    By Mark Lewis

    “The aim of every political constitution is, or ought to be, first to obtain for rulers men who possess most wisdom to discern, and most virtue to pursue the common good of the society, and in the next place, to take the most effectual precautions for keeping them virtuous whilst they continue to hold their public trust.”

    https://townhall.com/columnists/marklewis/2024/04/27/have-you-ever-heard-any-current-politician-use-the-word-virtue-n2638333

  9. kenoshamarge Says:
  10. kenoshamarge Says:

    Is Speaker Mike Johnson REALLY a conservative?

    https://www.theblaze.com/shows/the-glenn-beck-program/is-speaker-mike-johnson-really-a-conservative

  11. kenoshamarge Says:
  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    ‘Pro-Palestine’ campus mobs think Jew-hatred is progressive

    https://jewishworldreview.com/0424/tobin042624.php

  13. kenoshamarge Says:
  14. kenoshamarge Says:
  15. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    This is absolutely unbelievable. Thanks to Judge Cannon releasing some of the materials found at Mar-a-Lago, we now know that THEY SHIPPED DOWN SIX PALLETS of materials, then charged him with having those materials and removing his clearance.

    This is beyond collusion, election interference, and more. They are wasting tax dollars with this crap charge and case. This should be dropped IMMEDIATELY:

    https://twitchy.com/dougp/2024/04/27/well-well-well-julie-kelly-shares-unsealed-detail-from-trump-classified-doc-case-n2395622

  16. kenoshamarge Says:
    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      This is so beautiful, Marge. And the point is well taken. Thank you for this! And Happy Sabbath to you! 😀

      • kenoshamarge Says:

        Thank you.

        Most of us, with very few exceptions, break the 4th Commandment every week.

        “Keep the Sabbath day holy”

        So who are we to cast the first stone?

        I know I am a wicked old sinner but I would bet I could, and mostly do, keep the Sabbath more than most. I didn’t always but do now.

  17. kenoshamarge Says:

    The media is propagating evil lies about the situation in the Mideast

    By Michael Goodwin

    We now have clear proof of the adage that a lie gets halfway around the world before the truth can put its boots on. 

    It comes in the form of an Associated Press report that carried this headline: “Hamas official says group would lay down its arms if an independent Palestinian state is established.” 

    What a scoop!

    It was so sensational that news outlets across America and the world ran with it, including CNN, ABC News and even the Times of Israel. 

    And why not, it was a breakthrough offer that could bring peace at last, right? 

    Wrong. 

    It was a public relations ploy disguised as an olive branch.

    https://nypost.com/2024/04/27/opinion/the-liberal-media-fuels-the-lies-about-the-situation-in-the-middle-east-regarding-the-israel-hamas-war/

  18. kenoshamarge Says:
  19. kenoshamarge Says:

    Was it all that Baby Proofing?

    By Clarice Feldman

    Watching the idiocy on college campuses this week and seeing all the explanations for protests in favor of murderous Hamas, two tweets seem particularly on point.

    There’s the great David Burge (Iowahawk), who calls these outbursts “Hamas slumber parties,” and says, “This is like staging a pro-Nazi lunch counter sit-in and getting mad that people won’t treat you like you’re a modern-day Rosa Parks.” 

    He attributes protests for the Intifada and slogans reading “from the River to the Sea” by numbskulls who have admittedly no idea what they are protesting as the result of baby-proofing houses. “There is,” he says, “no better educational experience for a child than finding out what happens when you stick a butter knife into an electrical outlet.”

    https://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2024/04/was_it_all_that_baby_proofing.html

  20. kenoshamarge Says:
  21. kenoshamarge Says:
  22. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I had tried to put up the cutest little foal. Its mane was all curly – adorable!! This new style of WordPress made it impossible to get. It said the file was too large to put here. Sigh.

Leave a comment