“Full Measure” And Shaking It Off For The Pink Glove Dance *Weekend Open Thread*

by

Holy frijoles, what a freakin’ week we have just had! Dueling speeches at the United Nations with Obama and Putin; PM Netanyahu calling the UN out, Russian airstrikes in Syria on CIA-rebels pushing the Pentagon to consider action against Russia, and the shooting in Oregon, to name just a few things. Wow. I don’t know about you, but I sure am ready for a bit of a break.

That said, it won’t be a total break from All Things Politics for one major reason. That would be the premier of Sharyl Attkisson’s new show, “Full Measure,” which airs Sunday morning. The Daily Signal has more about Attkisson’s new show:

[…] “Sharyl and I have been friends for 20 years,” says (Producer Batt) Humphreys. “I’ve known and I’ve worked with a lot of people and talent in this business over 30 years and 20 years at networks and believe me, I’ve worked with plenty of monsters. And she is as far from that as you can imagine.”

“She’s one of the smartest people I know, and that’s the level of engagement I like playing in,” he adds. “She’s a great storyteller.”

A Different Kind of Sunday Show

“Full Measure,” Humphreys says, will differentiate itself from the Sunday morning competition by not playing into the Washington media status quo.

“There are at least five networks that are doing specific, political chats on Sunday mornings and it’s never been my intent, nor would it be, to create another show to offer the same four or six legislators on a panel or the same experts every week to just talk about things ad nauseam,” Humphreys says. “We’re developing a broadcast that is new that has a chance to tell stories in a long-format, magazine style.”

The name for Attkisson’s show, “Full Measure,” comes from Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address.

Legal immigration is one of the taxpayer issues that Attkisson and Humphreys plan to tackle in this long-format style. They refer to it as an “untouchable topic.”

Attkisson argues she probably could not have reported on it during the latter half of her 20-year term as a reporter with CBS News’s Washington bureau.

“Many topics in the media today, it’s almost as if the media picks a right and a wrong side, and only shows you one facet,” Attkisson says. “There are plenty of stories about the positive aspects of [legal and illegal immigration]. I also argue we should be covering the costs and some of the problems that come with that as well.”

This was my favorite part of the piece on Attkisson’s new show:

When former CBS News investigative journalist Sharyl Attkisson arrived at Washington’s Newseum on Wednesday night for a party celebrating the launch of her new Sunday show “Full Measure,” the only thing she seemed nervous about was whether or not she needed a ticket for admittance.

Stopping in front of the event’s check-in host before riding the glossy elevator up to the eighth floor, she asked, “Do I need a ticket or something?”

“You are the ticket!” replied an obviously tickled events manager. […] (Click here to read the rest.)

I think that says so much about Attkisson as a person. She is FEARLESS when it comes to following a story wherever it leads, but she is not full of herself. What a refreshing change…

If you would like to know where you can find her show, you can click HERE. The show will also stream live. It should be an interesting half hour.

I also wanted to share with you this great video of the Pink Glove Dance Winner of 2015, Infirmary Health from Mobile, Alabama:

Breast cancer and confidence might not seem to go together—but it is part of our patients’ success at Infirmary Health. Our confidence comes from shaking off breast cancer again and again. We consider our survivors’ celebrities who inspire us every day. Our video represents their journey ― from entering the hospital, receiving a diagnosis, undergoing treatment to ringing the bell and entering remission. As they leave the hospital, they throw back shakers to those that have inspired, danced and cheered our celebrities on along the way. This symbolizes them shaking off every step of their fight against cancer. We are committed along with numerous community partners to investing time and resources to provide the most aggressive and comprehensive treatments to shake off breast cancer. We are proud to partner with the American Cancer Society, Mid-South Division. We can’t stop, won’t stop beating breast cancer.

Infirmary Health celebrated their breast cancer survivors “shaking off” breast cancer with Taylor Swift’s, “Shake It Off” tune:

I don’t know about you, but that sure had me tapping my toes. And it is for a good cause, too. Bonus!

Before I go, I wanted to mention here something I mentioned in a comment. I will be going to Glacier National Park in Montana from October 17 – 24. To say I am excited about it is a tremendous understatement. I have been to many States in the country, but I have not been to many Western states (except the West Coast, Alaska, and Hawaii). So, this will be a first for me. I cannot wait to see the kinds of sights that are featured in the video below:

And there is this one about the “Going-To-The-Sun Road”:

Stunning. Just stunning!! Oh, I just cannot wait!! I will also be able to check off Idaho since we will drive through it on our way from Spokane to a resort near Glacier National Park. Naturally, I will take lots of photos, but I also wanted to remind anyone who is interested that if you have something burning in your heart you must get out on “paper,” as it were, posts are always welcome!

That’s it for me. Now it’s your turn. This is the Weekend Open Thread.

Tags: , , , , , ,

40 Responses to ““Full Measure” And Shaking It Off For The Pink Glove Dance *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Lou lived in Montana for nearly 20 years. If his family wasn’t back here in northern Illinois I think he’d still be there. He loved it.

    According to him there is no more beautiful place on earth. At least the parts of the earth he’s seen. And there’s a reason they call it “Big Sky Country.” You’ll see.

    I was only there once a long time ago but I agree about the beauty. And the sky. Until Montana I never knew there were so many stars in the sky.

    I love my Wisconsin although the winters are beginning to take their toll and can’t imagine shoveling snow and the cold in Montana any more, but I can, and do, still appreciate the beauty. I know you will enjoy. People are very nice there too.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, wow – that is cool that Lou lived there for so long. From everything I have seen abt it, it looks stunningly beautiful. I very much am looking forward to being in “Big Sky” country. SOOOO excited abt it!

      I can imagine it is getting harder and harder to shovel snow there in Wisconsin. I feel for you. That was the biggest reason we moved back down to the Charleston area from Roanoke, VA – the snow. Like you, I cannot even imagine what it must be like in MT. Brrr.

      I was thinking abt you and the winters there when I was outside the other day. I was remembering your story abt getting sunburned and not liking warm weather. If you and Lou ever want a break from shoveling snow, you are welcome for a break here. We never have to shovel snow in the winter! Bring your mother-in-law, too! 🙂

  2. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    We have some real doozies in our government, no doubt abt it, beginning with Obama. And then there is Samantha Power. Power decided to send out a Tweet that she should have thought better of to put it mildly, though the responses are hilarious: http://www.ijreview.com/2015/10/436275-the-only-thing-funnier-than-un-ambassador-samantha-powers-tweet-about-russia-are-the-responses

  3. helenk3 Says:

  4. helenk3 Says:

    Amy

    Wait until you meet the people there. They are terrific. When I was going on my trip, I called to make hotel reservations there. The lady at the first place I called told me they were all booked for the days I needed, She called the hotel across the street to get me a room. Everyone I met there was great.
    Maybe the beauty of nature brings out the best in people there

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh, wow, Helen – that is so cool! What a great story! I bet you loved your time there, too. So glad you got to check it out.

      I can’t wait to see Montana in general, and to meet some of these good people…

  5. helenk3 Says:

    maybe you will see this. I hope so

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      WOW – I hope so, too! I would absolutely love that. When we watch shows filmed in Alaska and they show the Northern Lights, I just don’t understand how people can go to sleep while it is going on. I would end up an insomniac – teehee! 🙂

  6. helenk3 Says:

    checked in with my Jersey girls. all doing ok. they are a little bit inland and not right on the ocean

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      That is good news indeed, Helen. We have lots of rain here and the tide has come back in. A neighbor reported water running in a stream across the road into our neighborhood. There is lots of flooding in Charleston. We had an appointment up there this morning that was canceled as the company decided to close today.

      Our friend and caretaker for Jordan, Beth, said there was at least 6 inches of running water in the barn. I suggested floaties for the pony, Peanut…

  7. piper Says:

    Amy enjoy,
    One of the best trips we took on Amtrak was to Glacier Park. Love Going to the Sun Road.

    BTW – you can find me here during news overload.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I would so, so love to do an Amtrak trip through that area. I think that would be fantastic, piper. How wonderful that you got to do that!

      LOL – I completely understand!

  8. cindyindie Says:

    Cuzin—Y’all have a wonderful trip…It will be incredible for you, I’m sure!

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Thanks so much, Cuz! We have been planning this trip since January. Can’t believe it is now so close. Yay!

  9. lyn Says:

    Have a great trip, Amy!
    I’m a Montana girl, and my family took trips to Glacier every year. My hubby and I left Montana in 1989, but I miss the state. My parents live in Missoula where I was born and raised. A Kalispell friend who is now 97 went on hikes with his daughters every year in Glacier until he turned 95. Here is a sweet, sad story about him and his wife. I met Glenn and Helen in 1982 when I was a reporter in Libby, MT. We’ve kept in touch at Christmas ever since.

    Fading Away

    • lyn Says:

      Also, be on the lookout for huckleberry chocolates or jam.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Lyn, that was an absolutely beautiful, bittersweet story abt Glenn and Helen. Thank you so much for that. (We will be staying very close to Kalispell.)

      How neat that you are from Montana AND that you were a reporter there. That is so cool! I bet you do miss it, though. That you and your family went to Glacier every year too is wonderful.

      I love that some of y’all have been there so you know exactly why I am so looking forward to this trip.

      I also love learning more abt the good people who take the time to come by here. What a fascinating bunch we have here!

      Oh – and you KNOW I’ll be on the lookout for those chocolates and jam. Want me to pick up some to send to you? (Seriously – I’d be happy to do it!)

      • lyn Says:

        Wow–thanks for the offer, Amy. I’ll let you know. I usually buy a jar from a nearby butcher shop each fall. I’ll see if it has any. We went huckleberry picking with Glenn and Helen before we left Libby. They showed us a spot where the huckleberry bushes were at least 8 feet tall and the berries were as big as blueberries. Sweet memory.

        • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

          But of course, lyn – it would be my pleasure. Just let me know for sure once you have a chance to check out the situation at the butcher’s.

          That is so cool that you got to go huckleberry picking with Glenn and Helen. And those berries sound huge. I bet that was a good time. What a sweet memory to have of them!

          If anyone else has a hankering for something you had in MT like jam or chocolate, I’ll do my best to accommodate you! 😀

  10. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Below are a couple of photos of the effects of the storm here. The one of our neighbors’ dock with water touching also shows how fast our yard drains into the marsh. When I got up this morning, it was standing water. We have had rain all day, though there is currently a lull.

    The other one shows the water touching the bottom of the pierhead at our dock. The water is receding some now since the tide is also going out. There is much flooding in Charleston, though, with many roads impassable.

    One of our board members said we are expected to get a total of 16 inches of rain, which is equivalent to 16 feet of snow. WOW. Glad it ISN’T snow! 🙂

    This is our neighbors’ dock:

    DSC_0301

    And this is ours:

    DSC_0303

  11. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    A friend from Texas provided this very interesting article abt Carly Fiorina since she was born in Texas, and has very long-standing roots there.

    Fiorina’s dad was an attorney, law school professor (Stanford and Cornell), Dean of Duke Law School, and much more including serving as a Justice on the 9th US Circuit Court of Appeals in San Francisco, among other things. Anyway, it is a different look at her life than much of what we have seen.

    Cuz’n, if you are still around, you might want to share this with Honest Lawyer. I think he would find it interesting.

    Here is the link http://www.mystatesman.com/news/news/state-regional-govt-politics/austin-born-fiorina-has-deep-texas-roots/nns5m

  12. kenoshamarge Says:

    Liberals Trash Christianity Non-Stop, Then Blame The 2nd Amendment When Someone Murders Christians

    By John Hawkins

    A gunman singled out Christians, telling them they would see God in “one second,” during a rampage at an Oregon college Thursday that left at least nine innocent people dead and several more wounded, survivors and authorities said.

    “[He started] asking people one by one what their religion was. ‘Are you a Christian?’ he would ask them, and if you’re a Christian, stand up. And they would stand up and he said, ‘Good, because you’re a Christian, you are going to see God in just about one second.’ And then he shot and killed them,” Stacy Boylen, whose daughter was wounded at Umpqua Community College in Roseburg, Ore., told CNN. — The New York Post

    Liberals are delighted when there’s a mass shooting because as Rahm Emanuel famously said, “You never let a serious crisis go to waste. And what I mean by that it’s an opportunity to do things you think you could not do before.”

    Of course, they’d deny they feel that way, but before the blood even cools on the floor after a mass shooting, liberals are always working en masse to take advantage of the situation. After the shooting in Oregon, Barack Obama immediately took to the airwaves to declare that, “This is something that should be politicized.“

    http://townhall.com/columnists/johnhawkins/2015/10/03/liberals-trash-christianity-nonstop-then-blame-the-2nd-amendment-when-someone-murders-christians-n2060673

    As if Obama didn’t politicize everything all the time anyway. Pretending this one issue is something to politicize is hypocrisy on steroids. Funny thing about this issue is that every time the Dems politicize the shootings – the sale of guns goes up. Seems people think they have the right to try to protect themselves. If Obama really gave a rat’s ass about protecting the citizens of this country he’s use that “pen and phone” of his to abolish “gun free zones.” You know, those places where shooters can be sure they will meet no resistance until the cops arrive. And in that span of time, no matter how short, people die.

    Every school and college in this country should have trained, armed guards. Just like they do at the exclusive school the Obama daughters attend.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      My sister the Obot, when I put on Facebook how deplorable it was that the President mentioned NOT ONE THING about Christians being targeted by this shooter just kept trying to claim they didn’t know this to be true, and as always, focused on the gun free zone thing since Oregon has concealed carry laws. She refused to admit that Christians were targeted, and of course, said NOTHING abt my referencing the slaughter and dispersal of Christians in the Middle East.

      My sister is a Christian, sings in the choir every Sunday, yet tried to put off that persecution was the reason for what happened. Had those being singled out belonged to any other group, she would have been the FIRST person to jump on the liberal bandwagon abt guns, and whatever ‘ism was targeted. Except for Christians.

      That is all to prove the point of Hawkins’ post.

      It is a bit ironic that gun sales always go up after Obama goes on his uninformed diatribe abt guns, isn’t it?

      You are right – he doesn’t care abt protecting the citizens of this nation. He has completely abdicated from his primary Constitutional duty. Alan West had a post abt this very thing but on a much bigger scale: http://allenwestrepublic.com/2015/10/03/unbelievable-look-what-obamas-threatening-to-do-now-to-our-military/

  13. kenoshamarge Says:

  14. kenoshamarge Says:

    No Coherent Identityitis

    By Clarice Feldman

    There’s an illness sweeping the country and even the White House has succumbed to it: No coherent identityitis.

    In the way that the media highlights and frames mass shootings as a sort of ghoulish entertainment and ignores far more serious events, you might have missed the connection between the shootings in Oregon and Obama’s conduct this week. There’s a great deal of commonality between those murders and the disaster in the Middle East that Obama touched off with his ridiculous Arab Spring and Iran deal, a disaster that certainly has resulted in many more deaths and holds out the terrible prospect of millions more.

    http://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2015/10/no_coherent_identityitis.html

    I loved this article! Feldman draws comparisons between the latest shooter, I will not speak his name, and Obama. I wish I didn’t have to speak his name. Liar, hypocrite and POTUS. So sad.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      That is an excellent article, Marge. She really nails it on the head, doesn’t she? It is just sheer lunacy with this President. And too many Dems continue to buy into his BS, his taking this country down the tubes, and accepting whatever his fact-free claims are. Just amazing.

      And the cartoon is spot on…

  15. helenk3 Says:

    please take the Red Bus Tour it is such fun

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I just saw something abt those buses the other day. I would LOVE to do that! They are so, so cute, aren’t they? And it is such a great way to be able to see so much of the park. Thanks, Helen!

  16. kenoshamarge Says:

  17. kenoshamarge Says:

    I thought “Full Measure” was terrific. Attkisson didn’t attack anyone, she didn’t take sides and she acted like a journalist. The show was informative and interesting. Not a bunch of blah, blah, blah talking over each other. You saw, and heard the whole program and you learned. Her piece on those seeking asylum was very informative and told both sides of the story. All in all I give her program and A+ and will be a regular viewer. It was nice to see a real professional at work. And rare.

    That’s my opinion anyway for what it’s worth.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      I completely agree. She is the consummate professional. All journalism schools should show her program to aspiring journalists and tell them THAT is how they should report events, not to allow their bias to show in any way, shape, or form. “Just the facts, ma’am, just the facts.”

      So glad she is back on the air, and without the biased managing she was getting from CBS News…

  18. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Marge, in case you haven’t seen this yet, I thought you would enjoy this interview with Branco: legalinsurrection.com/2015/10/cartoonist-a-f-branco-interview-i-like-to-focus-on-the-hyprocrisy-of-the-left

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      I haven’t seen the interview – thanks for the link. You know how much I adore his cartoons. And if the title is any indication, “he likes to expose liberal hypocrisy” I would say to him, mission accomplished – over and over again! The cartoon I posted above about Hillary and her “Republican” shovel is a perfect example.

Leave a comment