“The Lord Is My Shepherd,” And How *Weekend Open Thread*

by

Earlier this week, I was looking at the lectionary readings for this Sunday (4/21/24), and I was really struck by the selections. “Shepherd” was a resounding theme in the readings, especially the Psalm and the Gospel readings.

I will get to that in a moment, but I just want to share that, personally, last weekend was a beautiful one in many ways laying my sister to rest, a good one seeing all of my family in one place for the first time in years, and an emotionally draining one.

The service at the Episcopal Church my sister attended for decades was lovely, the performances by the choir especially. They sang some pieces the organist told me my sister particularly liked , one of which (in Latin) that moved me to tears. And it was a Eucharistic service, so that was powerful, as it always is. After the wonderful reception the church provided, the family and close friends went outside to the Memorial Garden. My sister had made two requests: one to have her ashes interred at the Memorial Garden, and at the church where our family plot is.

Well, at the Memorial Garde at her church, they made her spot as close to the choir and organ as they could. Their thoughtfulness at picking this spot brought me to tears, then and now. What a wonderful place for her ashes to be.

Her priest was so kind and generous, allowing me to take the pulpit to give the eulogy/homily for my sister (and his kindness extended by telling me I was welcome to preach there any time. I was/am honored, and humbled, by that).

The next day, my sister was interred beside my mother in the family plot (one of them). I opened the service, more informal this time, and invited people to tell of special things they remembered about my sister. It was a time of laughter, tears, and heart as we heard how my sister was with different members of the family, things we didn’t know, or may have forgotten. After the service and time spent walking around the cemetery, we went to the funeral home and had a nice luncheon. It gave us time to just be in the same space, to go from group to group of family members, and to reconnect. It was a gift, a total gift beyond measure. And I am grateful to have been a part of it all. (My sister and her husband are long time members of Star Fleet, the Star Trek club. That’s how they met, actually. This urn seemed the perfect one to honor that decades’ long enjoyment.)

And now to a couple of the readings for this weekend. You will see how very timely the Psalm reading is in relation to a funeral service. This one is routinely used in churches for such a time. I imagine we all know it well. Indeed, it is Psalm 23:

 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

Perhaps it is because I just recently laid my sister to rest (though I know she is Home with God in His Heavens, and reunited with my family gone Home before her), this just brought tears to my eyes. It is such a beautiful, powerful Psalm.

Just like this rendition of this Psalm song:

Oh, my – isn’t that just a gorgeous rendition of this Psalm that has essentially been imprinted on our hearts? Love it.

And then there is the Gospel lesson for this weekend. This is another one I find so powerful and moving. It is from the Gospel of John 10:11-18:

11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. 12 The hired hand is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep. So when he sees the wolf coming, he abandons the sheep and runs away. Then the wolf attacks the flock and scatters it. 13 The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep.

14 “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me— 15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd. 17 The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. 18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

I just love this passage, don’t you? That Jesus is the Good Shepherd and we are His sheep? I don’t know if it’s an imagery that’s easier for those of us who grew up in days where many of us were rural, families farmed in one way or the other than for most people today. You know, either a big farm or what is now called a “hobby farm,” but back then was for families to feed themselves. We had livestock nearby if we didn’t own it ourselves. That was just normal for us back then. But today? I don’t know. I would hope they can, we can, I can…

To prove that point, I grew up close to my grandmother, and she had some sheep. The ram was picked up every Friday afternoon by a bunch of teenage boys with a pickup truck. Nothing nefarious – the ram was the mascot for a local high school and it was football season.

One of my fondest memories of those days was bottle feeding a little lamb. The smell of it, how soft it was, how sweet and precious it was as it took the bottle and let me hold it. Such a great memory of that little lamb.

I wonder if that’s how Jesus sees us? As sweet little lambs who need His protection, His feeding us, holding us, loving us, and delighting in us? I think so. I think that’s exactly how He sees us. When we jump around playing, He smiles. When we get into trouble and He needs to rescue us, He is there. Always the Good Shepherd.

I am reminded of the Christian artist, Vanessa Horabuena. Here is a short reel of her depicting this very thing:

Even in the moments when Jesus is undergoing the Passion, He still holds us. In our sorrow, in our grief, in our pain, He holds us. In our joy, our hope, our delight, and our love for Him, He holds us.  Always.

Our Father, our God, our Jesus, is our Good Shepherd. He knows us and we know Him. We know His voice. We are His flock, and He is “The Good Shepherd”:

Thank God He does…

That’s it for me, my dear friends. Please feel free to discuss whatever you have on your minds in the Comments below.

This is the Weekend Open Thread.

Tags: , , , ,

29 Responses to ““The Lord Is My Shepherd,” And How *Weekend Open Thread*”

  1. kenoshamarge Says:

    Thank you for this heart felt and heart-warming post. So glad for you and your family that your sister was laid to rest with love and grace.

    And while she has gone home to God she will always be here with you so long as you remember her.

    Our memories of those who have gone before us are so very precious.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Marge, I know you know of what you speak. While my sister is gone from this earth, she is definitely in our hearts and memories. And, praise GOD, she is Home with my parents, aunts, uncles, grandparents…

  2. kenoshamarge Says:
  3. kenoshamarge Says:

    You know me and my finding my own particular “nugget” in longer prayers and pieces so you won’t be surprised that I found what seems a right-on mention of politicians in the Gospel of John “The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep.” Doesn’t that fit politicians, or is it just me.

    Perhaps I find “nuggets” because I can no longer remember longer pieces.

    I include the 23rd Psalm in my morning and evening prayers every day. It has always been one of my favorite Psalms.

    How nice and how kind your sister’s priest was to you. Go back and preach Rev Amy – you will be glad you did.

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh my gosh, Marge – that passage describes politicians to a T! Dan Bongino always says that politicians hate us. They sure seem to hate us – and the Constitution. That is nothing more than a scrap of paper in a glass box.

      I know they say we get the people we vote for, but the people we vote for show one thing to us to get our votes, then act the complete opposite when they get in. It’s when we KEEP electing the same people that it’s totally on us…

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        And thank you, Marge. I do enjoy preaching. It’s harder to stand there that long (I was totally white knuckling it), but when God calls one to do something, you do it no matter what…

      • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

        This morning’s devotional with Jeff Cavins at Hallow was all abt this portion in John (Chapter 10). It was powerful, imagining oneself standing there with Jesus as He speaks to the Pharisees, the “hired hands…” Timely comment, Marge!

  4. kenoshamarge Says:
  5. kenoshamarge Says:
  6. kenoshamarge Says:

    Much as I disagree with Bill Maher about many things I applaud his courage for monologues like the following:

  7. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Why in the WORLD would a CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY have Dylan Mulvaney come speak?!?!!? That’s INSANE:

    https://www.bizpacreview.com/2024/04/20/whos-paying-for-this-outrage-follows-announcement-dylan-mulvaney-will-be-speaking-at-catholic-university-1453972/

  8. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    This Administration is truly trying to destroy this country. How abt some of these companies say, “Screw you!” and do the drilling anyway! These insane Gaia (Earth Day) proclamations are damaging to our economy, to Alaskans, to our wallets, and so much more. And then we buy dirtier oil from our enemies. INSANITY:

    https://townhall.com/tipsheet/saraharnold/2024/04/20/biden-admin-to-block-millions-of-acres-in-alaska-from-oil-gas-drilling-n2638058

    Oh, and abt this whole Earth Day thing? I don’t worship Gaia, the Greek Goddess:

    https://ifapray.org/blog/the-spirit-behind-earth-day-revealed/

  9. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    I’m with MTG on this. It is REPULSIVE that our gov’t is giving $60 billion to Ukraine and helping with their borders (one Dem. Rep., Gerry Connelly, yelled out that Ukraine’s borders are our borders, and so we have to give them a ton of money – HUH????) while ours have been thrown WIDE open by the same people. It is infuriating that almost half of the Reps in Congress voted for this crap:

    https://townhall.com/tipsheet/saraharnold/2024/04/20/mtg-ukraine-bill-n2638068

  10. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Again, I think the author meant to say. They sold us out AGAIN. These Congresspeople CLEARLY hate Americans, and America. They are in it solely for themselves and the power they gain. They don’t give a crap about us, which is evident by giving a corrupt country a ton of money so they can protect THEIR borders while they throw ours wide open.

    “‘‘Put those damn flags away!’ Dems wave Ukrainian flags on House floor as ‘uniparty’ sells out America”

    https://www.bizpacreview.com/2024/04/21/put-those-damn-flags-away-dems-wave-ukrainian-flags-on-house-floor-as-uniparty-sells-out-america-1454006/

  11. Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

    Yeah, we are screwed. And our Government is doing it to us in a big way. Just ask out Border Control:

    https://twitchy.com/samj/2024/04/21/bill-melugin-texts-border-agents-ukraine-n2395346

    • kenoshamarge Says:

      Again I say that the Gospel  of John says it perfectly about politicians: “The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep.”

      Sadly we are the “sheep” and all too many of us act like sheep.

  12. kenoshamarge Says:
  13. kenoshamarge Says:

    Joe Biden is running a presidential sham-paign while Donald Trump is on trial

    By Michael Goodwin

    The Manhattan trial of Donald Trump begins in earnest this week, but the verdict is already in: prosecutors and the judge are guilty of election interference.

    I know that’s true because The New York Times said so.

    Well, the Gray Lady didn’t put it exactly that way, but a Friday headline hinted at the injustice by declaring: “Trump on Trial vs. Biden on the Trail: An Unusual 2024 Stretch Begins.”

    https://nypost.com/2024/04/20/opinion/joe-bidens-sham-of-a-campaign-continues-while-donald-trump-is-on-trial/

  14. kenoshamarge Says:
  15. kenoshamarge Says:

    Chicago is the DNC’s Kind of Town

    By Clarice Feldman

    I’m old enough to remember the 1968 DNC convention in Chicago, and smart enough to see that Chicago Mayor Brandon Johnson is no Richard J. Daley. So, as food prices rise with no end in sight, I advise you to stock up on popcorn before the August 19 convention in Chicago this year.

    As for the Democrats, I cannot imagine a scenario where there is anything but downsides for picking this site, this year.

    https://www.americanthinker.com/articles/2024/04/chicago_is_the_dnc_s_kind_of_town.html

    • Rabble Rouser Reverend Amy Says:

      Oh my gosh, Chicago you SO the DNC’s kind of town. The level of corruption is on par.

  16. kenoshamarge Says:

Leave a comment